This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
The Emakoko

Reviews of The Emakoko

Wildlife sightings and reviews

74 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited The Emakoko and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 19 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at The Emakoko.
Lion

82% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

7% success

Zebra

100% success

Black Rhino

89% success

Giraffe

89% success

Buffalo

76% success

Eland

71% success

White Rhino

71% success

Spotted Hyena

67% success

Wildebeest

47% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 61-70 of 74
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs AS
Herts

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 23 Jul 2014
"Excellent service - wonderful location and good food" See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs J
Surrey

"The very best spot in Nairobi"

1 night Arrived 23 Jul 2014
"Our experience at The Emakoko was truly amazing. We were warmly greeted on our arrival, which was very late at night, and served a superb cold supper and drinks before being escorted to our rooms. The accommodation is first class and everything we needed was on hand. Our wake up call was prompt and friendly and the curtains of our room were opened to reveal a magnificent view across the valley into the Nairobi Game Park . Breakfast was served with courteous efficiency and bags collected for a prompt departure for Wilson airport. Anthony and Emma were on hand and very visible at all times and took pains to make sure we had everything we needed. All the staff came to see us off even though we had been there for only a few hours.

On returning to Emakoko after the safari, the same warm welcome was afforded us - excellent greeting with flannels and a refreshing drink followed by yet another delicious lunch. Even though we were only booked in for day rooms, the attention to detail and concern for our well being was exceptional, even to the extent of Yvonne, in the office, booking us in on line and printing boarding passes for our return flight. We had time to relax by the pool, enjoy tea and cakes, have a leisurely bath or shower and yet another superb 3 course meal before our departure to the airport.

The ambience of the hotel is incredible and all the staff are committed to providing the best service at all times. Emma and Anthony are to be congratulated on running such a wonderful hotel - I would love to return one day.

My only concern is that because of the location of some of the rooms - ours was number 9 - a steep climb of 144 steps, any elderly or physically challenged guests should be sure to ask for rooms close to the main reception area. However for us the view from the top was well worth the effort!" See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Dorset

"Made very welcome"

1 night Arrived 22 Jul 2014
"Our accommodation was first class. We were made very welcome and wish we could have spent a little more time there. The staff were very efficient and helpful.

The setting was lovely and our rooms had everything we needed with very attractive décor." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Colchester

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 22 Jul 2014
"We much enjoyed this Lodge.

Well run, a good welcome, and again many chats invariably in Swahili, withe engaging and delightful staff.

The otherwise good bathroom had some awkward fittings for example if one dropped the soap/shampoo on one side of the bath it became almost impossible to retrieve." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Belfast

"Good base for Nairobi"

0 night Arrived 20 Jul 2014
"We only spent about 8 hours in the Emakoko while waiting for our flight home to London. It's reasonably close to the International Airport, approx 40 mins drive and access to it is via the Nairobi National Park. It's a realy lovely hotel with individual bungalow type rooms. It's hard to believe that the major city of Nairobi is only a mile of so away.

Anton the manager greeted us on our arrival and was most attentive despite our short stay. His efforts at keeping us in touch with the final moments of the British Open Golf were much appreciated.

Standard of accommodation were excellent, it was great to have unlimited hot water for a change and it's an ideal place with which to start or end a safari in Kenya." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr P & Ms F
London

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 16 Jul 2014
"comfortable and efficient for overnight stay.
friendly welcome." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs Lysiuk
UK

"Exploring with Rhinos"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jul 2014
"Great introduction to first time on Safari and to Africa. Wonderful hosts filling in for the owners but we wouldn't have known!

Wonderful food, very fresh and varied. The service was great from all the staff we met. Our game driver was fun and friendly and we learnt so much about the country and wildlife! We spotted lots of animals - giraffe, lion, rhino and hippos!" See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The B family
Leics.

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 15 Feb 2014
"All aspects excellent" See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Cambridge

"Very good base for Nairobi"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jan 2014
"Anton and staff were very welcoming, and our room was spacious and comfortable. Given our age, the unavoidable drives through the National Park were rather taxing and a slight disadvantage, which would in no way put us off recommending the Emakoko. Looking out from our window at the acacia trees and the bush, it was impossible to think that we were so near a major city.

It was good to have time to visit the KarenBlixenMuseum, which was a personal request to James, our guide. We also took in the David Sheldrick Trust - disappointing because it felt more like a circus or zoo and there was not much to it. The late afternoon sessions may be better but are costly.

The food was good, better at light lunches than in the evening, when meat was rather chewy." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr B & Mr S
London

"Emakoko - A Beautiful 'Welcome to Kenya'"

2 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2013
"We landed in Nairobi early in the morning and were surprised how congested the roads were already. But short after we turned off the main roads into the National Park we soon started to see the animals roaming the fields - and we even spotted a pride of lions on this first drive through the park. It made us feel like this is how it will be on all game drives, but it turned out to be the only time we saw a big cat.

The lodge was beautiful and we received a warm welcome and attentive service. There was a tame(-ish) Impala on the grounds which liked to come close. Having an animal to touch was a beautiful experience for our 2.5-year-old daughter. Buffaloes grazed under our balcony and we were made aware that they were the most dangerous animals around. I enjoyed this respectful co-habitation with the animals who live there. Even a hippo came up to the swimming pool at night.

Our daughter was able to go and play with the owner's daughter of the same age while we went on a game drive by ourselves, which was a very welcome luxury. And every evening someone came to babysit her while we went for dinner.

Only one other party of two was staying at The Emakoko when we were there and we usually had dinner all together at one table with Anton the owner of the Lodge. The food was very good.

This was our first experience of a safari lodge so we didn't have much to compare it to. Two little details that we found uncomfortable were:
- the mosquito nets had holes in them. Given that this is a higher end lodge, we didn't expect such a detail to be overlooked. Coming from the UK, our main fear of Kenya was of the malaria mosquitoes. In retrospect, we know that the number of insects was nothing compared to the coastal mosquitoes, but fixing the holes should still be possible and a priority. (I mentioned it to Anton as we left)
- the shower was leaking hot water a bit at the tap. We're used to that kind of wobbly plumbing in the UK, but in Switzerland, where I grew up, showers work smoothly. (I didn't mention that to Anton)

My personal highlight was a walk with Sylvester, our driver, and Sunde, a local Maasai, over the ridge behind the lodge and into the ancestral lands of the local communities. It was a short walk, but I learned a lot about Kenyan life and customs and got to see some very modest homesteads.

Our daughter's highlight was probably feeding the giraffes at the Giraffe Centre. And splashing around in the swimming pool with the impala stalking around us." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 61-70 of 74
96%
74 reviews of The Emakoko by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
62
10
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Nairobi

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

The Eka is an affordably priced business-class hotel in a relatively convenient location between Nairobi International Airport and Wilson Airport.


86% (61 reviews)
Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

The Ole-Sereni is a modern, stylish hotel neighbouring Nairobi National Park and located 6km from Wilson domestic airport.


79% (56 reviews)
Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nbi Apt

The Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport (formerly known as the Lazizi Premiere and now part of the InterContinental Hotels Group) is the oldest hotel at Nairobi International Airport.


88% (52 reviews)
Macushla House

Macushla House

Macushla House is a very pleasant, small, owner-managed bed and breakfast hotel in a leafy part of southwest Nairobi, very convenient for visiting the Giraffe Centre and Sheldrick's Elephant Orphanage.


90% (48 reviews)
Aero Club of East Africa

Aero Club of East Africa

The Aero Club of East Africa is a private members' club in the grounds of Wilson Airport, Nairobi, offering offering comfortable rooms and a good restaurant, bar and swimming pool to non-members.


79% (27 reviews)
Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points Nairobi Apt

The Four Points by Sheraton (part of the Marriot group) is one of the newest additions to the hotels within Kenya International Airport’s security perimeter.


92% (25 reviews)
Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor is a unique, perennially popular lodge on the outskirts of Nairobi, offering up-close-and-personal encounters with the rare Rothschild giraffes that roam its extensive grounds.


97% (23 reviews)
Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp is the only tented camp located inside Nairobi National Park, making it a great option for a true safari stay close to the city and airports.


90% (6 reviews)
The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Nairobi and has a reputation for its colourful history dating back to 1904.


100% (4 reviews)
Palacina

Palacina

The Palacina is a complex of accommodation options in a quieter part of central Nairobi.


80% (4 reviews)
Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi is a luxury country-house style hotel, with a spa and gym, in the wealthy suburb of Karen.


100% (3 reviews)
Hogmead

Hogmead

Hogmead is a stylish, luxury boutique hotel/homestay in a secluded part of Langata in south-west Nairobi, very close to Nairobi National Park and the elephant orphanage.


80% (2 reviews)
Sankara

Sankara

Sankara is a strikingly built hotel in the bustling central Nairobi suburb of Westlands, primarily used as a business stay, with very good dining and leisure facilities.


90% (2 reviews)
One Forty Eight

One Forty Eight

One Forty Eight is a very stylish boutique hotel in one of the leafiest corners of the southwest Nairobi suburb of Karen-Langata. The Giraffe Centre at Giraffe Manor is just a 10-minute walk away.


100% (1 review)
The Stanley

The Stanley

The Stanley is a large, traditional hotel – the oldest in Nairobi – offering a range of facilities.


No reviews yet
Tribe

Tribe

Design-led, contemporary hotel in the Village Market area of Gigiri, a largely diplomatic and luxury residential suburb 10km north of Nairobi’s central business district.


No reviews yet
Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp is a rustic and affordable safari camp in a wildlife sanctuary a 30-minute drive towards Mombasa from Nairobi’s international airport.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa