This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ndhovu Safari Lodge
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Reviews of Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

126 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ndhovu Safari Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jan-2019, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ndhovu Safari Lodge.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Giraffe

50% success

Roan antelope

50% success

Sable antelope

50% success

Zebra

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 126
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs S
Maldon

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2014
"A lovely setting - we loved watching the hippos. However on our first night we had an invasion of mice who actually moved the laundry bag across the floor. Quite un nerving - just as well we had a 'mousequito' net!

On the following evening we packed everything into the car apart from one small bag with our clothes and toiletries for the next morning. Again we were woken up and the following morning found that they had eaten their way through the bag, shredded so paper inside it and destroyed a sewing kit. we did mention it to the owners whose response was 'Its never happened before'. We know that we will come across wildlife of all sizes on such a holiday but were surprised to be sharing our tent.

The sunset cruise was lovely and Michael, the guide, knew a lot, especially about the birds. The following day he took us to his village to meet his family. This was wonderful - although very humbling - and he also arranged for us to meet one of the teachers (we are teachers ourselves) and we spent more than 30 minutes with him learning about the Namibian education system. I will never again complain about a lack of board markers!!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Family G
Oxordshire

"Ndhovu is in a good location"

1 night Arrived 26 Jul 2014
"This was probably my least favourite camp, mainly because the tents need upgrading and it all felt a bit run down - locks were broken and so our daughter had to sleep with me rather than sleeping in a tent that she couldn't lock.

Torches weren't provided even though the tents were a couple of metres from the river (nor hot water bottles and it was freezing cold at night!). The staff were good and the river cruise at sunset was really good." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Family S
Leeds

"Great hippo experience at Ndovu"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2014
"We really enjoyed it here......although the accommodation was tired, the things we really liked were the people (managers and owner and staff), the eating together (and the food!), the honesty bar (showed they trusted us and made us feel welcome), able to help ourselves to tea and coffee (small detail, but we liked that!), the decking (so relaxing looking out on the hippos) and the boat trips.

(although I have put average, other family members would probably have put poor for the rooms and facilities!)" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Ms A
Australia

"Ndhovu -a last minute lodge"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2014
"Due to a bookings glitch this lodge was a substitute and an excellent one at that.The hosts were terrific and the staff again friendly and extremely charming.
Johan and Monica were very generous with their time and sharing of information.

We did a sunset cruise and a game drive with Johan which were both extremely enjoyable.

Again, the safari tents are comfortable and right the river clean and well kept. As with our other lodges the food was excellent well prepared and good choice." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Sydney

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2014
"overall this was a fun place to stay, great location with excellent wildlife, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. the tents were well set up with bathroom off the back, clean and tidy the hot water supply was very average due to the distance from the donkey fire heater which at times supplied very dirty water!

Management was excellent, homely atmosphere and great knowledge of the area. would definitely recommend this camp . Tourists need to drink bottled water here. River is amazing wonderful hippo and National park a great place to visit." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
Ealing

"Excellent overnight stay"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jan 2014
"We used Ndhovu as a convenient place to stay when heading westwards from Caprivi but it proved well worth visiting in its own right. Unlike most of the other places we stayed at this is managed by its owner, Horst Koch (who also owns a farm near Windhoek from which he sources a lot of his supplies). Horst and his staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent too. We even found someone (we never found out who) had kindly washed our 4x4 which was looking quite muddy when we arrived.

The Lodge is along quite a rough track in a relatively populated and farmed area but about 15 minutes drive down the road towards Botswana is the small Mahengo National Park which can easily be explored without a guide. We also enjoyed an excellent river trip on the Kavango for a sundowner followed by a convivial dinner sitting at a long table with other guests.

The accommodation is mostly in individual sophisticated rigid framed tent (internally divided into a bedroom and ensuite) but we rated it good rather than excellent as it is not quite as lavishly equipped as accommodation in other places we had stayed, but it really was "good"!." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr F & party
Portugal

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge : a taste of the Okavango"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2013
"We reached Ndhovu late afternoon (16:45 hrs), after leaving The Waterberg in the morning (08:00 AM). The drive was long but easily driven on tar. On the way up, early in the morning, between the Waterberg and Otavi, hundreds of warthogs could be observed grazing on the small shoots of grass that just thrive on the road margins. After Grootfontein, the landscape just starts to change becoming more arboreal. Namibia just changes gradually. Approaching Rundu, small villages surge around the main B8 and we start to see a more populated country. A slower and attentive drive is imperative.

After a long drive, Ndhovu becomes an oasis where you can relax and unwind. Monica and Johan were unobtrusive hostesses with a warm welcome. The Okavango just in front of our tented rooms makes its presence heard, with the hippo calls. The rooms are clean and spacious. The wooden deck overlooking the river is magnificent spot to watch the occasional African Otter (early morning) and to witness a spectacular african sunset.

On the following day we drove to the Mahango National Park, which can be easily and fairly explored with a sedan car." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
M & M Oxford
UK

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2013
"We arrived very early for check-in but nevertheless were made very welcome by the hosts Monika and Johan.

We were advised against taking the inland route In the Mahango Game Park (which requires a 4WD vehicle) as the river side of the park (which can be taken in a conventional car) has more wildlife and good sightings of birds, elephants and other wildlife were observed.

Travellers should recognise that if you go to places where wildlife is abundant you may encounter additional wildlife in your room. In the early hours of the morning we listened to the padding feet of a small mammal scurrying across the inner tent. You have to be realistic.

The communal dining experience may not be everyone's cup of tea." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs H
Dorking

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2013
"Hippos ouside your bedroom in the morning. The approach road is very sandy and pretty long - 2 wheel drive can make it but if the weather conditions were different it may have been problematic." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Miss M & Mr M
Ireland

"Loved it!"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2013
"We were a bit worried on drive there but we neednt have been. what a beautiful place to stay.One of our favourites on this trip. Right beside river with plenty of hippo and crocs. the resident hippo was amazing and we got to see him twice.

Dogs at lodge were adorable and staff were amazing. Johan and Monica were lovely. Nice honesty bar and very relaxed atmosphere among guests and staff. Food was great.

Activities were reasonable and water cruise was great. Not so much to see in Game Reserve on our trip but saw loads of birds." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 1n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Showing 41-50 of 126
88%
126 reviews of Ndhovu Safari Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
63
52
7
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Caprivi Strip

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge is a substantial lodge with a superb location on the Kavango River.


86% (85 reviews)
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

Beside the Kwando River, within Mudumu National Park, Lianshulu is a small safari lodge offering 4WD safaris and river trips – with particularly good birdlife.


91% (59 reviews)
Nkwazi Lodge

Nkwazi Lodge

Standards have slipped at Nkwazi Lodge in recent years which somewhat detract from its scenic location on the banks of the Kavango River.


79% (32 reviews)
Nunda River Lodge

Nunda River Lodge

NNunda River Lodge overlooks a pretty part of the Kavango River near Popa Falls and the productive Mahango National Park.


82% (26 reviews)
Camp Kwando

Camp Kwando

Near to Mudumu National Park, Camp Kwando is a comfortable and unfussy option with opportunities for game drives, boat safaris and fishing.


74% (25 reviews)
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Nkasa Lupala

Peaceful Nkasa Lupala is a comfortable lodge in a remote and little-explored area close to Nkasa Rupara National Park.


91% (24 reviews)
Ichingo Chobe River Lodge

Ichingo Chobe Lodge

Safari holiday in Namibia's Caprivi Strip, staying at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge on Impalila Island.


97% (23 reviews)
Nambwa Tented Lodge

Nambwa Tented Lodge

A beautiful safari lodge In the remote Bwabwata National Park, Nambwa Tented Lodge brings serious comfort to a relaxing safari.


92% (13 reviews)
River Dance Lodge

River Dance

Build on stilts on the banks of the Kavango River, River Dance Lodge has great views, a relaxed ambience and excellent birdlife.


96% (9 reviews)
Taranga Safari Lodge

Taranga Lodge

Situated on the banks of the Kavango, Taranga Safari Lodge works as a convenient stopover before going onto explore the Caprivi.


75% (8 reviews)
Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa

Divava Lodge & Spa

The substantial Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa offers plenty of pampering opportunities in an unspoilt riverside setting


91% (7 reviews)
Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge is situated on the great Zambezi River; come for relaxation, great birding and boat trips along the Chobe Riverfront.


100% (5 reviews)
Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge, near Kasane in the Caprivi Strip is a very luxurious, high end option for those seeking peace and privacy on the Zambezi River.


85% (4 reviews)
Namushasha Lodge

Namushasha Lodge

One of the larger lodges in the Bwabwata National Park, Namushasha is an economic option with an attractive river-side location.


80% (3 reviews)
Serondela Lodge

Serondela

Accessible only by river, Serondela combines the remoteness of Namibia’s Caprivi Strip with access to Botswana’s flagship Chobe National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Shametu River Lodge

Shametu Lodge

Shametu River Lodge has the best views of the Popa Rapids of any private lodge in the Divundu area.


70% (2 reviews)
Jackalberry Tented Camp

Jackalberry Camp

Jackalberry Camp is uniquely situated in the Nkasa Rupara National Park affording unrivalled access to this little-visited corner of Namibia.


100% (1 review)
Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge stands opposite Chobe National Park, Botswana. Click here to learn more about the area and your options for a safari there.


100% (1 review)
Kazile Island Lodge

Kazile Island Lodge

On an island in the Kwando River within Bwabwata National Park, the remote Kazile lsland Lodge offers games drives, bush walks and boat cruises.


60% (1 review)
Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp is a small, tented satellite camp near the Kwando River offering boat trips, birding and game drives.


No reviews yet
Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas is a beautiful and thoughtfully designed lodge, in a great location on the Namibian banks of the Chobe River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa