This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Nunda River Lodge
Nunda River Lodge
Nunda River Lodge
Nunda River Lodge
Nunda River Lodge

Reviews of Nunda River Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

25 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nunda River Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Nunda River Lodge.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Roan antelope

100% success

Sable antelope

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 25
Duration
Arrival date
The M & N party
UK

"A beautiful position overlooking the river"

1 night Arrived 5 Jun 2014
"The lodge is in a great position overlooking the river and its bar and restaurant have fantastic views.

We were upgraded from tented rooms to bungalows right by the river bank and next to the hippo! The rooms were large and comfortable if a little tired, but we had everything we needed. Staff were helpful when asked but not particularly proactive and food adequate without being inspiring.

As the rooms are literally by the water, we felt that safety advice on the proximity of hippos and crocs might have been offered to foreign tourists before they went back to their rooms at night, without us having to ask.....

This is a suitable place for a night stopover in Caprivi but wouldn't particularly want to stay longer." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs C
Wokingham

"Nunda River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 31 Mar 2014
"See previous review - we stayed here twice." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Mr & Mrs C
Wokingham

"Nunda River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 28 Mar 2014
"We stayed here twice - once on the way into Botswana and once on the way out. The location was excellent for our itinerary.

At last, when visiting Mahango National Park, we saw the first Elephants of our journey - 14 in all - and the only ones we saw in Namibia!! We liked ythis little reserve so much we visited it twice.

The lodge was comfortable and seemed well run with friendly and helpful staff and management." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Kent

"High quality lodge"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2013
"This was one of a number of quality lodges situated on the banks of the Okavango river. Because of the proximity of the other lodges and nearby villages, this did not feel as much like a wilderness experience as some of the other lodges we stayed at.

Our game tent was very comfortable, light and airy and the restaurant was very good. We took a cultural visit to the local village, accompanied by a lodge guide who lives in the village and this was absolutely fascinating." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 7n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
M & M Oxford
UK

"Nunda Safari Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 30 Sep 2013
"Very helpful reception. We were booked here as we couldn't get three nights at the Ndhovu Lodge and in hindsight we could have spent the full time at either lodge.

Service in the restaurant was rather relaxed and the large parties monopolised the attention of the serving staff. As we were on holiday this was of little concern.

If anyone intends to visit the Popa falls please check with the local contact prior to planning as the resort is undergoing renovation and was closed at our time of visit and it is not possible to visit by boat." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs A x 5
Oxon

"A beautiful spot on the river"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2013
"Nunda lodge was a lovely spot, with lots of activity on the water.

The staff did everything very correctly and efficiently, but with no joy, which was unlike anywhere else we had been. A couple of times we did feel we were inconveniencing them.

Food was excellent.

Rooms were lovely, quite a long walk to the restaurant, past camping sites.

Gardens were beautiful, very well cared for." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr M & Ms H
UK

"Nunda Safari Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 7 Oct 2012
"Another pleasant lodge, with good food and hospitality.

We didn't do any activities supplied by this lodge, as this was just an overnight stopover." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr D & Mrs V
UK

"Nunda Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2011
"Wildlife safari to Mahango excellent." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr G x 4
Norway

"Nunda Safari Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 14 Oct 2011
"Very beautiful lodge with a more formal approach. We enjoyed our stay here, new facilities wth high standard." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms H & B &Mr B
Norway

"Nunda Safari Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2011
"The place was dark and gloomy, the chalets were full of bugs and the moskito nets were full of holes.We complained about the situation and no action was taken. The fising activity were a lot more expensive than the other lodges, but the chef gave good service by cooking our catch. It was not possible to lock the chalet in order to keep bugs out, so stay in the tents if you choose this place" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Terrible
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Showing 11-20 of 25
82%
25 reviews of Nunda River Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
11
8
4
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Caprivi Strip

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu is a simple riverside lodge, with tents that are reminiscent of safaris a decade or two ago.


88% (126 reviews)
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge is a substantial lodge with a superb location on the Kavango River.


86% (85 reviews)
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

Beside the Kwando River, within Mudumu National Park, Lianshulu is a small safari lodge offering 4WD safaris and river trips – with particularly good birdlife.


91% (59 reviews)
Nkwazi Lodge

Nkwazi Lodge

Standards have slipped at Nkwazi Lodge in recent years which somewhat detract from its scenic location on the banks of the Kavango River.


79% (32 reviews)
Camp Kwando

Camp Kwando

Near to Mudumu National Park, Camp Kwando is a comfortable and unfussy option with opportunities for game drives, boat safaris and fishing.


74% (25 reviews)
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Nkasa Lupala

Peaceful Nkasa Lupala is a comfortable lodge in a remote and little-explored area close to Nkasa Rupara National Park.


91% (24 reviews)
Ichingo Chobe River Lodge

Ichingo Chobe Lodge

Safari holiday in Namibia's Caprivi Strip, staying at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge on Impalila Island.


97% (23 reviews)
Nambwa Tented Lodge

Nambwa Tented Lodge

A beautiful safari lodge In the remote Bwabwata National Park, Nambwa Tented Lodge brings serious comfort to a relaxing safari.


92% (13 reviews)
River Dance Lodge

River Dance

Build on stilts on the banks of the Kavango River, River Dance Lodge has great views, a relaxed ambience and excellent birdlife.


96% (9 reviews)
Taranga Safari Lodge

Taranga Lodge

Situated on the banks of the Kavango, Taranga Safari Lodge works as a convenient stopover before going onto explore the Caprivi.


75% (8 reviews)
Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa

Divava Lodge & Spa

The substantial Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa offers plenty of pampering opportunities in an unspoilt riverside setting


91% (7 reviews)
Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge is situated on the great Zambezi River; come for relaxation, great birding and boat trips along the Chobe Riverfront.


100% (5 reviews)
Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge, near Kasane in the Caprivi Strip is a very luxurious, high end option for those seeking peace and privacy on the Zambezi River.


85% (4 reviews)
Namushasha Lodge

Namushasha Lodge

One of the larger lodges in the Bwabwata National Park, Namushasha is an economic option with an attractive river-side location.


80% (3 reviews)
Shametu River Lodge

Shametu Lodge

Shametu River Lodge has the best views of the Popa Rapids of any private lodge in the Divundu area.


70% (2 reviews)
Serondela Lodge

Serondela

Accessible only by river, Serondela combines the remoteness of Namibia’s Caprivi Strip with access to Botswana’s flagship Chobe National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Jackalberry Tented Camp

Jackalberry Camp

Jackalberry Camp is uniquely situated in the Nkasa Rupara National Park affording unrivalled access to this little-visited corner of Namibia.


100% (1 review)
Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge stands opposite Chobe National Park, Botswana. Click here to learn more about the area and your options for a safari there.


100% (1 review)
Kazile Island Lodge

Kazile Island Lodge

On an island in the Kwando River within Bwabwata National Park, the remote Kazile lsland Lodge offers games drives, bush walks and boat cruises.


60% (1 review)
Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp is a small, tented satellite camp near the Kwando River offering boat trips, birding and game drives.


No reviews yet
Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas is a beautiful and thoughtfully designed lodge, in a great location on the Namibian banks of the Chobe River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa