This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge


21°27’41.0"S 15°52’30.0"E

Reviews of Erongo Wilderness

Wildlife sightings and reviews

411 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Erongo Wilderness and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 25 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Erongo Wilderness.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

21% success

Zebra

17% success

Eland

4% success

Giraffe

4% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 111-120 of 411
Duration
Arrival date
Ms R
Rotherhithe

"Brilliant stay"

2 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2016
"Erongo is truly relaxation in the wilderness. It has a really nice feel to it - with independent travellers who can explore the barren landscape and then come back to a luxury tent with great evening food served to your table.

Erongo's staff were superb too - particularly the guide Emmanuel who had a real passion for the local landscape and wildlife, and the safari drive and sundowner in a nearby cave is recommended. Birdlife and mammals were great too - don't miss the early morning feeding at the restaurant of hundreds of Rosy-faced Lovebirds." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The K family
Bath

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2016
"Fantastic. Outstanding in every way." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Cambs.

"Should have stayed longer"

1 night Arrived 4 Aug 2016
"This was just meant to be a stopover on the way back to Windhoek so we weren't able to take part in the evening and morning walks.

The rooms were spacious and well equipped and it's a very peaceful location

We saw more birds here than anywhere else and the dassies were a continual entertainment. Wished we'd stayed longer." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms C
London

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 1 Aug 2016
"A stunning situation in the kopjes!

We did not really have long enough to appreciate the camp and in hindsight we should probably have broken our drive to Windhoek from Etosha elsewhere. We enjoyed the amazing views, the lovely setting of the communal area and dining room and the friendliness of the staff.

The room seemed tired in comparison with all we had been in prior to this and we wondered if the camp itself had seen better days and needed a bit of investment." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
M family
Hampshire

"Return visit, still excellent"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jul 2016
"Lovely location, fantastic scenery with walks with friendly and knowledgeable guides.

We stayed in new "tents" which were a bit further away from the lodge and are being built for self-catering. The facilities look like they will be very good, but not yet complete. Have not yet got water temperature high enough with solar heating for the winter! (We were there in July). Balconies (and outdoor bathrooms) have beautiful views." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B
Enniskillen

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2016
"We were a little sad to driving further south away from Etosha and having had too brief an experience of Okonjima.

The distances in the Bradt Guide to Okonjima and Erongo and incorrect as are some of the figures for Okonjima, I will contact them separately. We arrived in hot conditions at Erongo for three nights and were looking forward to not having to move on quickly. As we had the minibus we could not drive up but were met by very friendly staff who organized everything and drove us up the rock. There was an excellent reception with refreshments and a very knowledgeable and friendly assistant manager.

The tent houses were wonderful. The conditions were quite blustery so at times they were a little noisy at night but this was not a problem. We loved the Flintstone's bathroom! We were a little concerned about all of the steps for my mother who has problems with her knees. As it turned out she managed fine, taking her time to get to the restaurant/pool area and reading books, enjoying the views and wildlife.

The Lodge was excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful, nothing was a bother, the food was superb, we could sit in during the day when it was hot and watch wildlife out the window frames and many birds and a small snake came inside. The crocodile pool was very cold but bracing and refreshing!! We walked some of the signpost trails and out into the surrounding countryside but did not use the guides of the site though we talked a lot to the nature guide about what was around and what we found ourselves.

The site was beautiful, very comfortable, luxurious, great food, great staff - excellent!" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R
Somerset

"Dramatic location."

2 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2016
"This was our last night, sufficiently close to Windhoek to get to the airport in time. Part of the drama here is the 4WD approach to the camp (those without 4WD can park at the bottom car park and get a lift to reception.

The environment is very dramatic rocky terrain with tented rooms set on a hillside connected with the restaurant by raised wooden walkways. We took an evening guided trip to view some prehistoric cave paintings with sunset cocktails included. Not many large animals here but we did see dik-dik. Nevertheless guards patrol the camp through the night so there must be some cats about.

The following morning a two hour walk around the camp and to the top of one of the very high surrounding points starting at dawn and back in time for breakfast. A welcome change from being driven everywhere. Bathroom is effectively outside (perfectly private) so pretty chilly early in the morning and shower best used in the late afternoon." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C & Mrs J
Scotland

"We loved Erongo!"

3 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2016
"Our favourite place. It was very well designed, with a relaxed friendly atmosphere and a stunning view from our very comfortable 'tent'.

The lovely walking trails are well marked with no possibility of getting lost. We preferred to go self-guided and there was no pressure to take a guide (though there seemed to be some surprise that we had gone on the longest trail, said to be 9 k. but we thought it was probably nearer 12k).

Very good food and friendly, unobtrusive service. Worth staying more than 1 night." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J & Mrs V
UK

"Stunning location and facilities."

1 night Arrived 1 Jun 2016
"Amazing lodge setting amongst granite rocks. Super 'room' with every facility.

Lovely staff, excellent dinner and breakfast on raised deck overlooking water-hole.

A very relaxed, comfortable place to stay." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr F
BC

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 20 May 2016
"Erongo is situated up the hill well away from any road so it is very peaceful and quiet. The tent cabins at Erongo are nicely situated among large boulders. We had the highest cabin which was quite a climb up a trail but worth it for the beautiful view and it was very private. The tented cabins are lovely with sitting out space where you can watch rock hyrax which were everywhere. We went on a guided morning walk the first day, which I highly recommend. We then walked on our own on very well marked trails The scenery is beautiful.

The lodge is run by a pleasant couple who are very helpful. The staff are friendly although a bit inexperienced. Our food and drink orders got lost a few times but this was cheerfully remedied so it was not a problem.

Food was a bit hit or miss. so I did not rate it as highly as at the other places we stayed. We had an excellent pork chop one night but overcooked rather tired fish the next night. You do get a choice between two items for dinner so I'd suggest avoiding the fish. Each meal starts with a lovely fresh salad which was very enjoyable but the vegetables with the main meal were often overcooked.

But these are not major criticisms and we'd gladly stay here again as we enjoyed the walking and the quiet beauty." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 111-120 of 411
96%
411 reviews of Erongo Wilderness by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
340
65
6
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

The rustic Mundulea Bushcamp offers superb and varied walking in the company of a top-class guide on a reserve that features many endangered or endemic species.


99% (71 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


91% (38 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


77% (24 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (9 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, mountain biking trials and some spectacular San rock art.


89% (9 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa