This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge


21°27’41.0"S 15°52’30.0"E

Reviews of Erongo Wilderness

Wildlife sightings and reviews

411 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Erongo Wilderness and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 25 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Erongo Wilderness.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

21% success

Zebra

17% success

Eland

4% success

Giraffe

4% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 141-150 of 411
Duration
Arrival date
Mr S & Mrs M
UK

"Perfect end to our adventure"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2015
"It was so kind of you to arrange for us to have the honeymoon suite - thank you. We appreciated the complimentary sparkling wine in the fridge too. The setting of this lodge was fabulous and we loved it.

We went on the early morning guided walk and were the only guests so had the undivided attention of our very knowledgeable guide. We again learned such a lot. We chose to have a lazy day once we got back and just enjoyed watching the birds from the sitting room and also from our verandah. It was a very relaxing last day - perfect in every way.

The evening meals and breakfasts were excellent and the new manager (who only arrived 6 days previously) was very friendly and welcoming." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms M & Mr N
Hagley

"Stunning setting - wished we'd had more time"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2015
"Beautiful setting and sunset walk was stunning - know we would have enjoyed doing more walks there if we'd had the time" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mrs & Mr H
Dundas

"Great hiking at Erongo Wilderness Lodge"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2015
"We loved the location of Erongo Wilderness Lodge, and the tented rooms built along the side of a rocky hill.

There were some lovely walks in the area.

We only had one night at this lodge on our way to Windhoek, and would have been happy to have stayed for a second night!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mrs D
Esher

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2015
"What an amazing place. Pity we only had one night but perfectly ended our trip.

We under estimated the time to drive to the airport. 3 hours not 2 but no problem." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs V
UK

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2015
"The bestfood of any lodge we stayed at and you can choose your own time to eat - a big plus.

Guides excellent. Manager very helpful" See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
M & M
Flanders

"Stunning lodge"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2015
"Sadly we only had time for one night in this stunning location amongst the boulders where three different geological regions clash.

Still, time for a great afternoon walk and scramble on the rocks, a beautiful sunset, cocktails and a delicious dinner under the stars (watching the animals coming to the floodlit waterhole) and a hearty breakfast enjoyed whilst attempting to identify all the early-morning birdlife.

Should have stayed 2 nights!" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs J & Mr B
Surrey

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2015
"Fantastic 'tent'.

Excellent food it's a shame other guest spoil the ambience of the water hole at night. But this is not the lodges fault.

The morning visit of love birds was amazing." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr P M & family
UK

"Fantastic place - don't miss it"

1 night Arrived 7 Sep 2015
"We booked Erongo as a convenient breaking point for our journey from Windhoek to Etosha and only stayed one night. It was one of the highlights of our trip and we wished we had stayed two nights.

Rooms are excellent and the location superb. We enjoyed one of the marked walks (the Eagle Trail) and also did the Sundowner walk and the shorter 2 hour morning walk, both of which were excellent. Guides were very knowledgeable and interesting and staff very friendly.

Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The H family
Sweden

"Excellent"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2015
"Very nice setting. Enjoyed the sundowner walk.

Stayed only for one night. Excellent service." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr P & Dr S
Italy

"Spectracular place -- we were sad to leave!"

2 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2015
"All absolutely perfect" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 141-150 of 411
96%
411 reviews of Erongo Wilderness by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
340
65
6
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

The rustic Mundulea Bushcamp offers superb and varied walking in the company of a top-class guide on a reserve that features many endangered or endemic species.


99% (71 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


91% (38 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


77% (24 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (9 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, mountain biking trials and some spectacular San rock art.


89% (9 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa