This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge


21°27’41.0"S 15°52’30.0"E

Reviews of Erongo Wilderness

Wildlife sightings and reviews

411 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Erongo Wilderness and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 25 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Erongo Wilderness.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

21% success

Zebra

17% success

Eland

4% success

Giraffe

4% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 361-370 of 411
Duration
Arrival date
Mr I & Mrs J
UK

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2008
"A fine way to conclude our holiday" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Chipstead

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2008
"In its brochure, EWL states that it is situated 2.5 hours' drive from Windhoek! Impossible, in my view.

" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Oxon

"Wonderful location"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2008
"Erongo was a very relaxing, informal and welcoming place. It was really enjoyable and could have stayed longer.

We had a very knowledgable guide for the morning walk." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Little bee-eater
UK

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2008
"A very different situation - mountains, rocks and huge boulders. We would have preferred one of the other tents with a better view.

It was very hot and there was a lot of irritating insects.

Not enough to do. Bird walk disappointing and very few animals.
" See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 4n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr M & Mrs S
Cambs

"A wonderful experience"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2008
"This came at the end of a superb two week holiday but was still the highlight. We would have loved to stayed here for many days.

Genuine welcome from staff at the outset and Brian and Adele appeared so at peace with what they are doing. Fantastic location and some of the best food we had eaten. One of the highlights after dinner was Brian showing us the African wild cat, genet, resident porcupines and geckos.

Accommodation great, feels a bit more like proper camping, only a little draughty and cool at night but that was only because we didn't put the flaps down because we were too tired! Useful mni bar. Enjoyed the Sundowner and the long, long walk the next day. Our guide was excellent. This is a must stay location." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
N London

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2008
"We liked Erongo very much. Perhaps not quite as spectacular as some of the other locations, but it was pleasant and attractive, and we enjoyed our guided walk." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Group of 4
Oxford

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 3 Sep 2008
"What a great location very friendly staff excellent food, would have liked an extra night here." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B & Mrs C
Fleet

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 3 Sep 2008
"What a beautiful place to spend our last night in Namibia. Recommended." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Red Bishops
Pevensey

"A good place to reflect"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2008
"Our last port of call, a lovely place to get over the frantic, all hours of day & night, animal watching of Etosha and just relax.

The scenery changing with the light through the day was quite enough to stay and watch from around the lodge. We enjoyed the trip to Paula's Cave it was a beautiful setting for our last sundowner in Namibia." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Meerkats party x 7
UK

"A unique mountain hideaway"

1 night Arrived 27 Aug 2008
"This was an excellent final night's stay in Namibia. The location within the rocks and the walk up the kopje for sundowners, accompanied in the distance by the baboons more than compensated for our feelings of regret at our imminent departure.

The dining was first class and the most restaurant-like of all the places we stayed in. There was a superb ambience and, even though the big game was now behind us, there were unexpected treats in the wildlife (porcupine, rock hyrax, amazingly coloured birds etc) which were enhanced by the manager's personal enthusiasm and attention to all of his guests.

Indeed, special mention should be made of the manager and his wife who were very attentive to everybody's needs and we spent a brilliant time relaxing after dinner, listening to his experiences.

Noises of animals were heard at night, which could be unnerving for some!" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 361-370 of 411
96%
411 reviews of Erongo Wilderness by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
340
65
6
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

The rustic Mundulea Bushcamp offers superb and varied walking in the company of a top-class guide on a reserve that features many endangered or endemic species.


99% (71 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


91% (38 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


77% (24 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (9 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, mountain biking trials and some spectacular San rock art.


89% (9 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa