This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Zebra River Lodge
Zebra River Lodge

Reviews of Zebra River Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

94 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Zebra River Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Nov-2018, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Zebra River Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 94
Duration
Arrival date
Mr C & Ms B
Macclesfi

"Comfortable Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2018
"Comfortable spacious lodge in nice grounds with a lovely swimming pool.

We used it as a base to go to Sossusvlei one day (we had been there before), but in truth it is a little far away on bad roads." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mrs J
Exeter

"Memorable walk at Zebra River Lodge"

1 night Arrived 13 May 2017
"The last bit of road is very rough & needs care but not dangerous.

We enjoyed an evening walk to Gail's Cave but the highlight was the Quiver Tree Trail up to the plateau with amazing views.

We were very well looked after. The only disappointment was that the swimming pool had been drained due to a combination of leakages and drought. It may be a while before the pool is replaced." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Miss S
UK

"Poor"

2 nights Arrived 16 Apr 2017
"I suggest you do not recommend this lodge. The local staff were very good but the 'manager' was useless with zero qualities as a host. She never even introduced herself or said good morning at breakfast when we were the only guests present. The staff indicated that the previous managers left at Xmas. It seemed this new person had no idea how to run anything. She was rude and dismissive to the staff in front of us, did not show us anything or tell us anything and left us to find our chalet ourselves. We only found out from another guest that a guide appeared each afternoon to discuss activities - these were in fact very limited - a short accompanied walk or a sundowner drive. Almost no information about anything was provided by the manager and none existed in the room.

We were given one of the new rooms - slightly further away from the lodge. It was so new that there was no furniture in a large room - nothing so all our bags, clothes etc could only be left on the floor . The mosquito nets were still to be delivered which was not good given there were quite a few insects about. We complained three times that there was zero hot water - nothing was done about it but no one gave us any update either.

This is really not a good lodge - by far the worse place on our trip.

[Ed: As part of a brief email exchange about this with these travellers, they commented further:

Zebra River Lodge – we liked the place – its just that the management of it seemed inept to be honest. The local staff were lovely and helpful but the place is not at all well run at the top in my view. Easily overcome I’d imagine." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Prof B & Mr K
Delhi

"Zebra River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 27 Jan 2017
"The Lodge has a beautiful location but I wish our spacious room had better ventilation (it was very warm; we couldn't draw the curtains to keep put the sun enough; no fan or air-conditioning).

We went for a walk with Jobi, who was enthusiastic but couldn't answer many of our questions about geology and plant life. The lodge didn't have guide books to aid us either." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr M & Ms H
UK

"Zebra River Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2016
"Nice stone built chalet room, it was comfortable. Good view. Food was good.

Shadow the dog made us very welcome, and Shadows younger playmate the cat made very good entertainment. We stayed two nights and could have stayed for longer!

Stunning scenery and we did a self guided walk, plus an afternoon drive, including the impressive stromatalite fossils, with the lodge's guide 'Jobi' who was very informative and a valuable asset to the Lodge. All the staff were exceptional, including Shadow and the two cats. There is building work going on increasing the number of rooms, as there has recently been a change in ownership. So it would be interesting to see what happens here. Great singing from the staff after dinner.

A very enjoyable stay." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Barcelona

"Zebra River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2016
"A very nice farm-type lodge. Comfortable rooms.

The owners were very helpful and the excursion to the winery was well worth it." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
P&K
UK

"Zebra River Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 3 Apr 2016
"This place was a treat. We had it all to ourselves which was a bonus! Friendly staff, good food, interesting, quirky and huge room. The setting is magnificent. We walked up into the gorges and the hills beyond early in the morning on the trail of the skittish zebra, watched by curious klipspringers. Peaceful, beautiful and fascinating.

Back at base the pool was good - if cold! Jobe took good care of us and Jeanette, sitting in for the owner was great too.

Headed up for sunset looking over the valley - amazing light, the odd zebra in the distance and hard to beat." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr S & Mrs M
UK

"An absolute gem"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2015
"Our favourite!

Very welcoming staff, beautiful room and verandah, fabulous evening meals, knowledgeable guide who took us for a nature walk and spotted zebra which we would otherwise never have seen. The sky at night was amazing. After dinner some zebra came to the waterhole which was a real treat.

In addition a member of staff washed the car during our stay so that, at least to start with, we were not covered in dust every time we opened and closed the boot!

We understand that this lodge is shortly to be sold at auction and hope that the new owner will continue to provide the same high level of service." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs A
Shropshire

"Quirky lodge in a remote and beautiful place"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2015
"A long drive on gravel roads, but it as worth it to arrive and be greeted by the lovely Salome. We stayed in room 9 and thought it must be one of their best, later discovering it was the honeymoon suite! It was large and comfortable with stunning views from the terrace, though better lighting and handrails would make it easier for more mature travellers (or even honeymooners) to climb back up there safely after dinner. A torch was essential, but not provided.

Activities on offer weren't well explained and we could probably have done a bit more with our time there. We did the shorter walk, as the '5 hour' one sounded daunting, but were told afterwards that it would have been no more strenuous and given us more time up on the plateau.

The lodge was up for sale while we were there and it seems likely whoever buys it would make some changes - hopefully for the better. Guests were a strange mixture: from a group of 'overlanders' doing their own catering, to a couple flying in on a private plane." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 5n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs S
Hungary

"Zebra River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Mar 2015
"Highlight was the food. The cook was really good and we enjoyed the meals. The swimming pools was unclean and full with algae." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Poor
Showing 1-10 of 94
91%
94 reviews of Zebra River Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
63
23
6
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (153 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a very convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa