This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Central Lodge
Central Lodge
Central Lodge

Reviews of Central Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

60 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Central Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 60
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
Cambs.

"Good for Namibian town life"

1 night Arrived 20 Jul 2016
"Small hotel in the middle of town. The accommodation is not luxurious but it's quiet and more than adequate. Really enjoyed the beer in the courtyard when we arrived!

We liked this place as it gave us a feel for Namibian life as the restaurant was used by locals as well as tourists.

Walking round Keetmanshoop watching Namibians going about their daily lives was also informative." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Worsley

"Central Lodge"

1 night Arrived 30 May 2016
"The room was clean, the staff were helpful however there was no hot water in our room either in the evening or the following morning. On complaining to the management we were advised that it was a problem with the town mains and that she could not wash either, which as you can imagine was a great comfort to us after our drive from Windhoek. There was no offer to provide hot water from the kitchen.

That said the beer was cold the soup and pizza were great." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Poor
Mr & Mrs P
Staffs

"Central Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 9 May 2016
"Central Lodge provided a welcome stop over.

The hotel rooms are a little `tired` but the overall impression of the place with its court yard, restaurant ,and staff was very good." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
J & R
UK

"Keetmanshoop"

1 night Arrived 8 Apr 2016
"Basic room, no toiletries! ok supper.

lovely staff" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Poor
The Ys
London

"OK"

1 night Arrived 8 Feb 2016
"Description of our room as "luxury" was presumably because there was a jacuzzi in the "suite" (which we didn't use). The hotel is centrally situated in Keetmanshoop, which doesn't have much to recommend it as a town.

There was a bit of a frantic air in the hotel, with presumed members of the management marching up and down through the restaurant area and barking a few instructions to staff. We wished we had eaten more calmly and comfortably in the garden, which is a very pleasant area.

We visited the Quiver Tree Forest on our way to the town - well worth the short diversion." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Nick and Jane
Woolpit

"Central Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 2 Feb 2016
"rooms very public - big sitting area outside each of the rooms.

Pool cloudy/unattractive.

Helpful people.

Keetmanskop not of much interest and dead after 7.00 p.m." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Mr F & Ms E
USA

"Good place to stop over on the way south"

1 night Arrived 4 Jul 2015
"Definitely the simplest accommodation of our trip in all regards, but perfectly adequate for what it is, as Keetmanshoop seems to be a stopover town.

The highlight is definitely the sunny central courtyard. Rooms are very basic, but clean and tidy. Easy drive to the Quivertree forest." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
UK

"Good stopover point"

1 night Arrived 7 Jun 2015
"Location very good in centre of the town. Quiet and secure although very busy.

Food and restaurant excellent. Rooms a bit cramped but well equipped. Service and staff generally good although we had a bit of delay getting our bill on departure but management quickly stepped in.

We would recommend this as a stop over or for a longer stay." See all these reviews: 28n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Lisvane

"Central Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 3 Sep 2014
"This lodge requires a make over but we suspect offers the best option for a one night stop over." See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa; 4n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Taylor family
UK

"Central Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2014
"Delightful, cozy, guesthouse in Swakopmund.

We were fortunate enought to be allocated the garden rooms and they were lovely. So very clean and tidy with every comfort. Clean, crisp bed linen and nice toiletries to revive us after the long trip down the Skeleton coast. The staff were very pleasant and helped us arrange our activities and also resolve a problem with our hire car. They made the phone calls at no extra cost and offered sound advice. Very helpful.

The breakfast was lovely, freshly cooked to order and a nice selection...... and a jar or two of home cooked biscuits for munching on throughout the day! Central by name and Central by nature it was nice to leave the car parked securely and be able to wander the short distance to town. Central guest house also had the most reliable wi-fi we encountered in Namibia!

I can't think of anything they could improve upon. We had a lovely stay in Swakopmund and I would highly recommend the Central Guest House." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 60
71%
60 reviews of Central Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
6
25
25
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Southern Namibia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Game Ranch

Bagatelle is a welcoming guest farm in the Kalahari. Visit as a stopover heading south or to enjoy the photogenic red dunes and varied wildlife.


90% (198 reviews)
Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

Scarcely an hour from Windhoek airport, Eningu is an artistic place to unwind amid the vast silence of the Kalahari.


90% (69 reviews)
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes

A good stop between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon, Kalahari Red Dunes is set around a dry lake on a private reserve, with excellent walking opportunities.


91% (52 reviews)
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge is a comfortable stop between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon. Expect stunning Kalahari scenery, two swimming pools and lots of space.


90% (48 reviews)
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

For good farm hospitality, wholesome cooking and an interesting farm drive, Dabis makes a great stop en-route from Lüderitz to the Sesriem area.


94% (25 reviews)
Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks, situated on the edge of the Kalahari Desert, is a perfect stop-over whilst driving between Namibia and Botswana.


85% (19 reviews)
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen is a unique hotel in the heart of southern Namibia's farming district and makes a good stopover option.


72% (17 reviews)
Namtib Desert Lodge

Namtib Desert Lodge

A charming owner run lodge, located off the scenic D707, Namtib Desert Lodge is a convenient stop en route from the south to Sossusvlei.


89% (14 reviews)
Kanaan Desert Retreat

Kanaan Desert Retreat

The tented Kanaan Desert Retreat offers a range of activities against the beautiful backdrop of the Namib Desert.


86% (10 reviews)
Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse, located in Stampriet has comfortable chalets in the gardens of an old farmhouse.


88% (5 reviews)
Otjimbondona Kalahari

Otjimbondona

Otjimbondona Kalahari is a luxurious, peaceful and relaxing lodge conveniently located close to Windhoek's International Airport.


100% (4 reviews)
Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp

Suricate Tented Camp

Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp is a relaxing spot with its own waterhole and a range of activities for exploring the area.


100% (3 reviews)
Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge

Camelthorn Kalahari

Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge offers a peaceful night's sleep in the Kalahari, breaking the journey between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon.


No reviews yet
Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge is located in the Intu Africa Kalahari Private Game Reserve; surrounded by red sands, it is a relaxing place for a night or two.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa