This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Galton House
Galton House
Galton House
Galton House
Galton House
Galton House
Galton House
Galton House

Reviews of Galton House

Wildlife sightings and reviews

165 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Galton House and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 31-40 of 165
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs R
Northum

"Good dropping off point"

1 night Arrived 14 Oct 2018
"We stayed at this guest house on two occasions. One night on arrival in Namibia and one night before we left. All the staff were friendly and helpful and they booked Joe’s Beerhouse for us and arrange a taxi to take and bring us back. The first room we stayed in was near the parking area and the second near the pool. The rooms we stayed in were quiet, clean, light and spacious. Galton House is in a very quiet residential area and it felt very safe, especially with the locked gate. We were however told not to walk around after dark, hence the taxi to Joe’s.

Breakfast was good with a choice of ordered cooked or continental buffet. We didn’t eat at Galton in the evening so we cannot comment on that but the breakfast was good. There are a couple of supermarkets and liquor stores about 5 minutes away, where you can pick up everything you might need for your trip. However you can always find places to stop off for a drink and something to eat, wherever you are going. I would still advise getting some water to keep in the car, more in case of breakdown than anything else. I used the pool, be warned it is unheated, like most pools in Namibia but nice and refreshing if it is a hot day. We also used the honesty bar, which was good value for money. The wifi is good, although you need to keep reactivating it with a new code every 2 hours.

We went into the centre of Windhoek by taxi on the Sunday when we got back to Galton. I don’t think there would be any benefit staying in the centre as the area where Galton is much quieter and is easily accessible to the main roads, whether you are travelling north or south. I would recommend Galton House as a stopping off place." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Norwich

"clean well ordered guest house"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2018
"Decent place to overnight every facility worked .Service v good" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs E
Hereford

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 5 Oct 2018
"as before [Ed: see below]" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr and Mrs RB
Bristol

"Comfortable GH"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2018
"A comfortable place to stay for a night in Windhoek.

No view though." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mrs E.
Exeter

"Beautifully designed guesthouse"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2018
"While the fabric of this guest house is lovely, we did not enjoy the stay as much as the other guesthouse we stayed at in Windhoek.

We felt that the service was pleasant enough but a bit indifferent, and slightly chaotic compared with other places. The lock on our door was “faulty” and when we comments that we had difficulty getting in, locking it, and getting out in the morning, we just had the advice to wiggle the key a bit.

The breakfast was very average.

While it was a lovely house, if I was ever to travel that way again, I’d stay elsewhere." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs R
Northum

"Good dropping off point"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2018
"We stayed at this guest house on two occasions. One night on arrival in Namibia and one night before we left. All the staff were friendly and helpful and they booked Joe’s Beerhouse for us and arrange for a taxi to take and bring us back. The first room we stayed in was near the parking area and the second near the pool. The rooms we stayed in were quiet, clean, light and spacious. Galton House is located in very quiet residential area and it felt very safe, especially with the locked gate. We were however told not to walk around after dark, hence the taxi to Joe’s.

Breakfast was good with a choice of cooked to order or continental buffet. We didn’t eat at the Galton in the evening so we cannot comment on that. There are a couple of supermarkets and liquor stores about 5 minutes away, where you can pick up everything you might need for your trip. However you can always find places to stop off for a drink and something to eat, wherever you are going. I would still advise getting some water to keep in the car, more in case of breakdown than anything else.

I used the pool, be warned it is unheated, like most pools in Namibia but nice and refreshing if it is a hot day. We also used the honesty bar, which was good value for money. The wifi is good, although you need to keep reactivating it with a code.

We did go into the centre of Windhoek by taxi on the Sunday when we got back to Galton. I don’t think there would be any befit staying in the centre as the area where Galton is much quieter and is easily accessible to the main roads, whether you are travelling north or south. I would recommend Galton House as a stopping off place." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs E
Hereford

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 19 Sep 2018
"Perfect place to overnight on the start and finish of the trip. Lovely staff.

After the trip David said it was like an oasis in the desert!" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr A & Mrs E
Berks

"A lovely welcome to Namibia"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2018
"A lovely welcome.

Although not near the centre of town it was convenient for both airports. The room was very good, with the pool outside, although the air-conditioning unit over the bed dripped and at one point dropped ice on us!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr S.
Northampton

"ideal stop over - intro to shower buckets"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2018
"brief stay. A little far from the airport" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
California

"Nice"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2018
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 165
90%
165 reviews of Galton House by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
94
63
8
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

In a quiet Windhoek suburb, Olive Grove is one of our favourite guesthouses: stylish, with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and excellent food.


89% (382 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


87% (132 reviews)
River Crossing

River Crossing

Secluded on a private game reserve between Windhoek and the international airport, River Crossing is a tranquil place to start or end a trip.


81% (126 reviews)
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

Villa Violet is a friendly, owner-run guesthouse in a residential area of Windhoek, just a few minutes' drive from the city centre and numerous restaurants.


90% (122 reviews)
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck was one of Windhoek's best pensions just a few minutes' drive away from the city centre, however it has now closed.


86% (103 reviews)
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

A long-standing favourite, the small, owner-run Hilltop Guesthouse is comfortable, smart and good value.


91% (55 reviews)
Weinberg Hotel

Weinberg Hotel

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


93% (42 reviews)
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

For somewhere to really pamper yourself, Gocheganas Lodge & Spa offers wildlife combined with extensive wellness treatments.


93% (40 reviews)
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

One of the oldest hotels in Windhoek, the Heinitzberg occupies a great hill-top location but can feel like a relic of a bygone era.


85% (41 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


93% (39 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


85% (24 reviews)
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wilderness

Within easy reach of Windhoek, Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is a good overnight option for those who don't wish to stay in the city.


81% (18 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (16 reviews)
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Situated within the Daan Viljoen Nature reserve Sun Karros is a simple lodge with gentle game viewing and bird watching opportunities.


77% (15 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


90% (10 reviews)
Omaanda

Omaanda

Omaanda offers luxury accommodation and wildlife viewing within easy reach of the international airport and Windhoek City.


94% (10 reviews)
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

Stay at the Pension Palmquell in Windhoek, whilst on holiday in Namibia.


89% (9 reviews)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa