This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp

Reviews of Sand Rivers Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

80 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sand Rivers Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 23 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Sand Rivers Camp.
Lion

91% success

Leopard

35% success

Wild dog

30% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Eland

83% success

Spotted Hyena

82% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 61-70 of 80
Duration
Arrival date
Dr B & Dr M
Canada

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

6 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2010
"Overall we were disappointed in Sand Rivers. The food and service were both very good; however, the rooms were not as well maintained as they should have been. For example, the mosquito nets had holes in them, the pillows were old, lumpy, and flat, and our toilet seat was very loose and shifted every time we sat on it. The "door" to our bathroom was broken and seat and throw cushions were stained with monkey feces. The rooms are designed to be very open concept so it is virtually impossible to prevent monkeys from accessing the rooms; however, simply wiping down the cushions after a monkey invasion is insufficient and unsanitary.

Most disappointing was the guide. Although our guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic, his guiding philosophy was diametrically opposed to ours. We prefer to observe wildlife, without interfering or stressing out the animals. Our guide seemed to feel his role was to get us the best photo, even if that meant driving off road and literally chasing down animals. In one instance, his enthusiasm for a close-up resulted in a very unsafe encounter with an angry mother elephant. As I said, our guide was very knowledgeable but he lacked adequate respect for the environment, the animals, and the safety of guests." See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs S
Barnstable

"Paradise"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jan 2010
"Way, way beyond our wildest expectations.......

We had the top Guide, Masaa, which made the whole experiance a sensation.

Lynn and Steve, being the perfect hosts, made he whole experience run like clockwork" See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms O
London

"Nature and luxury at Sand Rivers Camp"

3 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2009
"What a wonderful balance of laid-back luxury and game viewing. We had a superb guide who kept conjuring up lions and elephants - amongst much other game.

Highlights included a walking safari where we came (reasonably) close to a herd of elephants; a beautiful boat trip amongst crocodiles and hippos; and a stunning game drive amidst giraffes and a host of storks and weaver birds.

Menatime the hospitality and food here was second to none." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr JC
SE London

"Great Sand Rivers experience"

3 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2009
"Wonderful location, the staff were excellent as was the food! Plenty of safari options during our 4 days there and we would really recommend the fly camping experience. We saw plenty of wildlife and it was always just us watching, there were not loads of other Land Rovers suddenly appearing.

The knowledge of our guide Edson was superb and he went out of his way to make sure we were happy and comfortable. The rooms were very comfortable and had fabulous views overlooking the river where we could listen to and watch plenty of hippos. The management and staff at Sand Rivers were also very friendly and made us feel very welcome.

Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 12n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs ME
W London

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2009
"The team at camp (Lynne, Steve and Sarah) and our guide (Anafi) were all excellent and very relaxed. The situation of the camp is stunning.

The food was delicious and there was a great mix of being able to spend time both by ourselves and join other guests." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K
Channel Islands

"Messing about in boats"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2009
"After the heat and dryness of Ruaha it was nice to be next to the water and what a fantastic location. This is a special place and should be on anyones list of camps to visit in Tanzania. There is a relaxed atmosphere and the staff really make you feel wanted. The advantage of being here are the water activities, the fishing is good the boat trips enjoyable (even being hit by a hippo did not take the shine off the trip).

Are there any negatives, well yes just one, the roads are unbelievably rough, over rocky outcrops most of the time, but this is a minor inconvienance for the beauty of the place and the variety of the wildlife, esp the birds.

Put it on your list of places to visit." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Andover

"What a lot of lions!"

5 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2009
"Our flight to Sands River was diverted to Beho Beho because of problems with the air strip, but it turned out to be a bonus because Edson our guide had located a pride of lions devouring a zebra which he took us to see on the way to the lodge - it was a great introduction to the Sands River Area. T

he different environments, lakes, river, bush and marsh ensure a great variety of birds and animals and Sands River provide a great variety of ways to see and enjoy them which are really well organised. Won't say too much it will spoil the surprise!. Edson was a great guide, excellent driver, boatman and spotter who greatly added to our enjoyment of the holiday and kept us safe.

Drifting through the Stigler gorge was lovely - so peaceful - it would be a great shame if this part of the river trip was stopped - hopefully Sands River can come to some arrangement with their neighbours.

Early morning tea and coffee was a nice touch, especially if you were having a late breakfast.

If you go into the hot springs make sure you drink as soon as you come out otherwise you may feel a bit queer.

In summary Sands River is a great place difficult to sum up in words - much more effective than wrinkle cream!!!" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Petersfiel

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2009
"thank you lynn and steve and staff fora great experience. you thought of everything." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Norfolk

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 6 Feb 2009
"Excellent guide. A big plus to have your own guide. Great swimming pool." See all these reviews: 21n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Middlesex

"Amazing Sand Rivers Camp"

3 nights Arrived 16 Dec 2008
"This was a fabulous experience with very friendly staff and interesting guests.

We are pleased we went to a different part of the Selous as the terrain was quite different. Unfortunately, the trip between the Impala Camp and Sand Rivers was very long taking about five hours, as a bridge had collapsed and we had to go the long way round.

Again, we had the same guide, Edson, throughout our stay and his vast knowledge was amazing, although we did have a little difficulty in understanding him sometimes. It took us a while to realise what a "lilac breasted lola" was!

As there were only a few other guests, there was never any feeling of over crowding and we both liked the fact in both camps the lay out of our bedroom facilities meant we were never aware of any one else.

The food was excellent and beautifully presented but it would have been nice to have a flannel, or something simlar, to wipe our hands with when we had a bush breakfast.

Our hosts, Lynne and Steve were delightful and as previously mentioned, it was nicer dining with other guests. Our final dinner was a surprise beach barbeque." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 7n in Zambia; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 61-70 of 80
96%
80 reviews of Sand Rivers Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
67
12
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Nyerere National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Impala Camp

Impala Camp

Impala Camp is a comfortable, excellent-value camp with colourful tented rooms raised on platforms, good guiding and tasty food.


96% (278 reviews)
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Camp

Lake Manze Camp is a rustic, lakeside bushcamp in Nyerere National Park that offers a great wilderness experience and doesn’t cost the earth.


94% (222 reviews)
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

Beho Beho is one of the best camps we work with in Africa, with gracious hosts, fantastic food and most importantly, excellent guiding.


100% (170 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms and superb service offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (82 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


98% (33 reviews)
Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in Nyerere National Park, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (31 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


88% (13 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Nyerere National Park operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


99% (14 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (10 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in Nyerere National Park which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (5 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Nyerere National Park


90% (2 reviews)
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa