This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kwihala Camp
Kwihala Camp
Kwihala Camp
Kwihala Camp
Kwihala Camp

Reviews of Kwihala Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

107 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kwihala Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kwihala Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Hippo

50% success

Roan antelope

50% success

Striped Hyena

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 101-107 of 107
Duration
Arrival date
A&M
London

"Perfect small camp"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2010
"This is a fantastic small intimate and friendly camp in a wild location (we heard lions roaring every night...very near to the tent!). Pietro and Festo are excellent guides, exceptionally skilled and willing to share their experiences with you. All the staff is extremely efficient and helpful. The food was great, 3 course lunch and dinner were always tasty and light. They catered for vegetarian really well. It was also really fun and friendly as they had their meals with us.

The camp itself is very simple but you have all the conforts that you need.

We were very lucky as we were the only guests during our stay (beginning of the season) and they spoiled us without limits!!
I cannot describe everything as this would become too long, so I am just going to mention that our stay at Kwihala was perfect and we came back with memories that will be remember forever. My personal favourite was sitting in the car watching a herd of elephant foraging and gradually moving closer to us until they were so close I could see the eyelashes of a young female eating a couple of metres from us. We could see the youngster interacting with older ones. Meanwhile Pietro was explaining us the fascinating anatomy, physiology and social behaviour of these wonderful animals. I do not know how long we stayed there but it was mesmerising!! and of course we had to wait for the elephant to decide to leave first!

Another "secret" is that we saw 4 different prides of lions, including one of the most beautiful creatures I have ever seen: a black mane male. I lost count of how many they were. but over 40!! I was not supposed to mention all these figures as now all the guest will arrive with hight expectations....and Pietro told us we were just lucky. I am not sure we were "just" lucky, but I am sure we had excellent guides!

Asante Sana Marafiki!!" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Dr B
UK

"Kwihala - Inimate & close to nature!!!"

5 nights Arrived 29 Dec 2009
"This camp is an intimate camp, small, really close to nature and all about the guiding. We stayed for 5 nights and the last 3 we were the ONLY guests. The camp does seem to be moving away from semi-mobile to fixed and seemed to be struggling to identify it's unique selling point.

Entry into the park stated well as we made a stop at another airstrip flying low over a massive group of Hippo's only to find Elephants lining the runway at out airstrip. Now that's a welcome.

Within the Camp we saw birds, Impala, Jackal and 6 Lions calmly walking through whilst we were have dinner - Now I never knew a Lion could sneeze before!?!?! Nominally the guiding is from 06:00 to 11:00 and then 16:00 to 19:00. However, on one days we were out (our choice) at 06:15 and got back to camp at 15:15 and could have gone out again. In fact in over our 5 nights we clocked up about 50hrs of game viewing (not including that in camp!)

We had 2 different guides and always had our own vehicle which allowed us to dictate what we went to see and how long to stay etc. I think it was good swaping guides halfway through as this allowed a different perspective. Both guides were excellent in their own way. On many a day it was several hours before we saw another vehicle and often we ony saw several if we dashed off to a confirmed Lion sighting by another camp. I think an excellent location with good access to all part of the park, both popular and more remote.

Tents were fine and had everything we needed, inc UK 3pin plug (24hr electricity). Bucket showers worked well and a full buckets to yourself seem like luxury. Sleeping with Lions growling on the edge of camp could sometimes be a challenge.

The reason for only giving 4 stars was that for us the food was over the top, being very rich and trying too hard. An example was that the followed specific recipes and adjusted to what was around. So Beef and Ale, became Chicken and Ale, which did not work. Or mixed fruit with custard, but no advance warning to have it without custard. Perhaps a menu written down in the morning would help and reduce waste. Also whilst it was a tented kitchen the Chef would come out in his White Uniform and state the menu. A bit excessive for a tented camp when we were the only guests. Personaly we would have preferred simpler wholesome food.

Service was excellent as you would expect with only 2 guests and one night we had our dinner a short distance from out tent with a guard watching out for Lions!?!

As stated earlier this is an intimate and relax camp, for New Years eve we had a bottle of champagne and in bed early for a 06:00 departure the following day - For us this was perfect. With hindsight, I still believe we chose the best camp for what we were look for.

Go for Location, Guiding, flexibility and risking being a little scard (being so close to wild animals), Ruaha park.
Not good for partying, having a rest or true luxury." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Manchester

"Fantastic safari at Kwihala"

3 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2009
"We choose Kwihala as we were aware it had only 6 tents and excelled at providing rustic luxury! We were looking for a unique safari and certainly found it here. Sean, our fantastic South African guide met us from the plane and provided quite exceptional guiding for the next 4 days. Having had a brief taster of the Safari experience on our journey to the camp we were pleasantly surprised to find ourselves the only couple in camp.

The camp whilst not on top of a hill with sweeping panoramas had more than enough to make it outstanding, the luxury tents were fabulous and you felt much closer to your surroundings as a result. The food was plentiful and varied and we were waited on hand and foot by our very attentive camp staff, George, Rashidi and Mustapha.

We visited in mid November 2009 prior to our arrival there were 4 days of perpetual rain, the first of the short rains. This meant Sean had a job on to find any of the bigger residents of Ruaha but this was made up by a guide who clearly had a great understanding of the ecosytem who could impart that enthusiasm onto his guests.The large mammals were in abundance and watching the pride feed at sunset was apersonal highlight.

The Birdlife was quite incredible and we quickly appreciated the less lime-light hogging species of the park. Perhaps the most profound incident was the second night when the termites came out in abundance (raining quite literally down onto the tent) with a host of scorpions /goliath spiders ready to feast. An entomologist's dream, and though my wife would never claim to be the world's biggest fan of insects she became quite a fan after Sean explained all about their role and individual characteristics.

It was absolutely what we wished for: a luxury safari with the sense of isolation and yet with top guiding. We have both been on safari before and this would convince us to go again." See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Miss H & Mr B
UK

"Wonderful safari experience at Kwihala Camp"

4 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2009
"The camp is located very close to excellent game viewing areas, so we didn't have to travel far to see plenty of animals.
There are only 6 tents at Kwihala which are well spaced out and are beautifully furnished. There was only us and another couple staying at the camp during our stay so it felt very exclusive!!!

The food was excellent - tasty and well cooked, although we did find a couple of the dinners disappointing. We are both vegetarian and found that for 2 out of the 4 dinners we were given the potatos and vegetables that the other guests were having with their meat or fish and nothing else.

Overall we had a very enjoyable stay at Kwihala." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K
Channel Islands

"New born"

3 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2009
"A true bush camp in a great location, your are not really sure if you are ever going to arrive but when you do it is worth the wait.

There is not waterfront or vast open plains to soak in but the location is fantastic for its isolation among the low scrubland and you are close to all the key viewing areas. This is possibly not a place for your first ever safari, but I was joined by a honeymooning couple who found the expereince engrossing and the camp welcoming. Marios was a great host, we spent hours talking about photography and became firm friends in a matter of days.

A great birding location, but the highlight was the first 17 minutes on an impala lambs life from the point of joining the world to standing and running 17 minutes later - stunning (and all within 300-400m of a dozing male lion).

Highly reccomend this camp it has everything a good bush camp should have." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H & Ms H
Toronto

"Kwihala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2009
"This was our favorite probably because of Marius our guide. He was outstanding particularly his knowledge about all things in the bush.

More rustic then Impala in Selous but the accomodation, people and food were all great and there is a real sense of being in the bush. There is little shade so it gets hot during the day time.

The only possible improvement might be in getting to and from the tents at night. Given the number of predetors we spotted it was a bit nerve racking leaving the main tent for our tent. They did provide an escort but there were no Masai petrolling the camp. Still overall this was an amazing few days." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr H & Ms T
UK

"Kwihala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2009
"Absolutely fantastic - way exceed our expectations! We were the only guests, so the description 'exclusive' was ceartainly true for us!

Although described as a 'temporary' camp, the tents and central mess were beautifully appointed. The location had a real in the bush feel and lying in bed hearing the lions roar in the valley and leopard calling too was magical. We had a minor problem with water to our tent on one evening because of hyena digging out the water pipe and biting through it! Note - this isn't a negative comment but a reflection to give an impression on the proximity of the wildlife and the connection of the camp and the bush.

Ruaha was a magical area - so quiet. We had day drives and saw only a handful of other vehicles.

The guiding was superb - Steve was fantasticly knowledgable and we really felt that we had time to watch and experience the animals. The animals were less skittish than at Selous and it was possible to get much closer to buffalo, wildebeast, zebra etc tthan hat other places we have been. Coasting the vehicle into the middle of a herd of several hundred buffalo was a great experience - we were then able to sit and watch the herd slowly move past, with indidual buffalo taking turns to keep an eye on us as they herd move on through.

The service in the camp was great - friendly and attentive." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 101-107 of 107
99%
107 reviews of Kwihala Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
100
6
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ruaha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp was designed with simplicity in mind – don't come for creature comforts – but offers a great wilderness experience.


92% (126 reviews)
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi is a long-established, permanent, tented safari camp, on an attractive bend of the seasonal Mwagusi River.


96% (117 reviews)
Jongomero Camp

Jongomero Camp

A stylish and luxurious camp in a remote part of Ruaha, Jongomero offers excellent guiding and service in a remote, wilderness area.


97% (46 reviews)
Ikuka

Ikuka Safari Camp

Ikuka is a stylish lodge-style safari camp set high on an escarpment with spectacular panoramic views over Ruaha National Park.


97% (39 reviews)
Kigelia Camp

Kigelia Camp

Kigelia is a stylish tented camp, set amid a grove of sausage trees, and combining a simple set-up with comforts and luxury.


97% (29 reviews)
Kichaka Expeditions

Kichaka Expeditions

In a remote corner of Ruaha, Kichaka is a private mobile camp focusing on superbly guided walking safaris.


98% (23 reviews)
Ruaha River Lodge

Ruaha River Lodge

In a lovely location beside a rocky river, the unpretentious Ruaha River Lodge is the largest and most economical camp in Ruaha National Park.


92% (12 reviews)
Jongomero Walking Safaris

Jongomero Walking

Fly-camping and walking safaris from Jongomero Camp give you the chance to explore remote safari areas in Ruaha National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Jabali Ridge

Jabali Ridge

One of Ruaha's most luxurious camps, Jabali Ridge nestles among kopjes and baobabs, with beautiful views of the surrounding area.


100% (1 review)
Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House in Ruaha National Park provides luxurious accommodation for private groups booked on an exclusive basis.


100% (1 review)
Asanja Ruaha Ndembo

Asanja Ruaha

Asanja Ruaha Ndembo is a smart new safari lodge in a picturesque setting overlooking the Great Ruaha River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa