This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Oliver's Camp
Oliver's Camp
Oliver's Camp
Oliver's Camp
Oliver's Camp
Oliver's Camp
Oliver's Camp

Reviews of Oliver's Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

48 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Oliver's Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2018, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Oliver's Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

50% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

50% success

Hippo

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 41-48 of 48
Duration
Arrival date
Mr K & Ms C
Germany

"Oliver's Camp review"

1 night Arrived 14 Oct 2010
"Camp was a bit too groomed for my taste - too many other guests with the usual "where do you come from, what is your profession..." conversations. The prior experiences were a bit more private" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Otley

"Oliver's Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2010
"This was a very good camp with magnificent accommodation and superb staff. It is a pity that the first and last half-hour of each drive were a bit thin of interest (other than tsetse flies!) - if only the camp could be moved to overlook the Silale swamp.

The manager Salim looked after us very well, including a champagne supper which made a memorable experience." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
W family
Pennsylvania

"a true bush safari experience"

3 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2009
"Remote bush area of Tarangire Park. A long winding exciting ride to camp with loads of animals sited along the way. An elephant lovers heaven. Perfect introduction for a first time safari.

We were greated warmly by the staff and treated like we belonged!

We 3 shared a very large tent with an attached bathroom that was quite comfortable for 3 with room to spare. The beds were comfortable with nice linens and pillows. The view from the tent and even the shower was fantastic. We could watch the parade of elephants morning and night. Plenty of hot water for showers. The wait staff were very eager to please and hot coffee and clean laundry delivered every morning! The staff could not have been better!

This camp was probably the most remote for access to civilization. How they were able to deliver such service under these conditions left all 3 of us in awe and appreciation. We 3 have camped in the US many times and appreciate all it takes to provide for guests.

This camp is not fussy fancy but rather ruggedly beautiful. A true bush camp!

Breakfast and lunch served buffet style. More than adequate in taste and quantity. 2 lunches packed for us while on long day drives. Best chicken curry hands down. Wish I had the recipe. Dinner was served gathered around a large table for all guests to join in on the days conversations. We had a great mix of guests from around the world which made for great variety and fun. The food was very good.

Highlight was the 2 walking safaris. Alex our expert guide was beyond description in knowledge and had an eagle eye for spotting. He took great care in assuring our safety at all times. A park ranger also accompanied us and both carried large guns which we felt quite safe! We would reccommend this walk to everyone!!!

We take away a fantastic experience from this camp." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Wimbledon

"Oliver's Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2009
"An overall good experiance. Good guide and game viewing and excellent room service from Robert.

However, although the food was good, the quantities were minute. When helping yourself at the buffet, you had to look around to see how many guests were to follow as there was a distinct shortage of food." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs N
Surrey

"Great start to our safari"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2009
"We both loved Oliver's Camp, it was so remote that we really felt that we were away from it all. The amount of game in Tarangire makes it an excellent first safari experience, on the day we arrived I counted 110 elephants walking along beside the river while we drove to the camp. We also saw wild dogs which we were told are a rare sight, our guide having only seen them once before in 8 years of guiding.

Our guide Stanford was fantastic. He went out of his way to meet our expectations and was personable, knowledgeable and friendly. We appreciated the opportunity to invite him to join us for dinner on some evenings. On the way from the airport he took us to have lunch at the Shanga River House, a really worthwhile stop which was included in our package, where the food was delicious and we were pleased to support the workshop by buying jewellery made there.

The camp was great, we loved the way the tents were set completely apart from each other and that we could watch elephants and giraffes pass while we sat at the front of ours. We had everything we needed and the bed was the most comfortable on our trip (and quite possibly in the whole of Africa!)

The food was of a very good standard, particularly the breakfasts with eggs cooked to request in front of you and home-made bread. The early morning coffee was the best we tasted in Tanzania. The staff couldn't do enough to make our stay comfortable and hot water for showers always appeared quickly when requested.

The only thing that we would change about the camp are the shower heads as we discovered at our next camp that a bucket shower can have a good flow of water but the one we had at Oliver's produced rather a trickle." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Surrey

"Oliver's Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2008
"Slightly disappointed at the lack of small intimate camp. We had the most wonderful guide (Armi) for a few days who did everything he could to make our stay enjoyable" See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Eagle owls
Yorkshire

"Oliver's Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2008
"The welcome given to us by Helen and Rudolf was wonderful. We were weary after a long and tiring journey and they did everything possible to help us relax. Again the staff were brilliant, being helpful and very friendly.

We continued to be pleasantly surprised at the continuing high standard of all the meals that we enjoyed there.

We went to Olivers for the walking safaris and enjoyed these under the leadership of Alex, another star. He was quiet and extemely informative, in the absence of animals he was a mine of information about their droppings. we were very confident in his leadership." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Serval
UK

"A real wilderness experience"

2 nights Arrived 24 Feb 2008
"We really loved Olivers camp. What makes it special is that it is spread out so that once you are in your tent you can't see another tent - it feels like it's just you and the bush. As we got to our tent when we arrived there was a dikdik outside!

As with Olakira we really loved the drinks round the campfire. The food was absolutely fantastic - really excellent! The egg chef did the very best scrambled egg that I have ever tasted. As at Olakira hot water arrived on time as did the drinks we asked to be brought to our tent in the late afternoon.

The only negative comments we have are that they didn't do the 'cool flannels' when we got back from game drives as was done at Olakira and that when we arrived no-one warned us to book our 'pick up' time for dinner so we ended up using the emergency whistle - to evryone's consternation!

We were warned that the game viewing wouldn't be so good in Tarangire at that time of year (Febuary). We didn't see much in the way of predators, but the elephant viewing was terrific. We saw one enormous herd and had an exciting experience with the. A bull was in must and was very irritable and was winding the rest of the herd up. The herd split in two and started to try to surround us - the driver said 'this is serious' and we got out of there pretty quickly!

We also surpised a bull elephant by the side of the road and really jumped when we heard his trumpeting." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 41-48 of 48
95%
48 reviews of Oliver's Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
38
9
0
0
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Tarangire National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Little Oliver's Camp

Little Oliver's

For a more private version of its sister property, Oliver’s Camp, Little Oliver’s offers high-quality guiding and tented rooms.


98% (17 reviews)
Kuro Tarangire

Kuro Tarangire

Kuro Tarangire is a stylish tented camp, located in a quiet and remote area deep in Tarangire National Park.


97% (14 reviews)
Tarangire Safari Lodge

Tarangire Safari

Functional Tarangire Safari Lodge is one of Tarangire National Park's larger lodges, on a prime central site overlooking the river.


94% (10 reviews)
Tarangire Sopa Lodge

Tarangire Sopa Lodge

Tarangire Sopa Lodge is a large, comfortable, family-friendly hotel in Tarangire National Park, suitable for travellers on a budget.


88% (5 reviews)
Oliver's Fly-Camp

Oliver's Fly-Camp

Get back to basics at Oliver's Fly-Camp, exploring Tarangire National Park on foot and sleeping out in the wilderness.


95% (4 reviews)
Lemala Mpingo Ridge

Lemala Mpingo Ridge

Lemala Mpingo Ridge is a stylish camp in Tarangire National Park, with a beautiful location and elevated views over the park.


100% (3 reviews)
Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge

Kirurumu Tarangire

Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge is a simple, small, tented camp positioned just outside the northern boundary of Tarangire National Park.


90% (2 reviews)
Tarangire Treetops

Tarangire Treetops

Tarangire Treetops is a lovely, high-quality lodge on the outskirts of Tarangire National Park, offering game drives, night drives and safari walks.


90% (2 reviews)
Swala Camp

Swala Camp

Swala Camp is a stylish camp for exploring the southern Tarangire, either with a private driver-guide, or using the camp's vehicles and guides.


100% (2 reviews)
Nimali Tarangire

Nimali Tarangire

Nimali is a small camp built in contemporary style on the outskirts of Tarangire National Park in northern Tanzania.


100% (1 review)
Maramboi Tented Camp

Maramboi Tented Camp

Maramboi Tented Camp is a family-friendly tented lodge located between Lake Manyara and Tarangire National Park.


100% (1 review)
Chem Chem

Chem Chem

Chem Chem is a luxury tented lodge on a private concession between Lake Manyara and Tarangire national parks.


100% (1 review)
Maweninga Tented Camp

Maweninga Camp

On an isolated kopje on the western side of Tarangire National Park, Mawe Ninga is an inexpensive, basic safari camp.


No reviews yet
Forest Chem Chem

Forest Chem Chem

Located in the Chem Chem Concession and close to Tarangire National Park, Forest Chem Chem is a high-quality tented camp which is booked on an exclusive basis.


No reviews yet
Little Chem Chem

Little Chem Chem

Little Chem Chem is a stylish option near Tarangire National Park, offering real relaxation combined with a variety of safari activities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa