This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Oliver's Camp
Oliver's Camp
Oliver's Camp
Oliver's Camp
Oliver's Camp
Oliver's Camp
Oliver's Camp

Reviews of Oliver's Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

48 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Oliver's Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2018, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Oliver's Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

50% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

50% success

Hippo

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 48
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs G
Georgia

"Oliver's Camp review"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2011
"A wonderful permanent camp with excellent service and location. Would recommend to anyone visiting Taranguire.

A night in the fly camp is a must as is a hike into the park." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Newcastle

"High quality camp and excellent guiding"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2011
"Very high quality accommodation - we gathered that the 'tents' had been upgraded earlier in the year. Now each one is a very elegant thatched structure with the canvas tent underneath it - but with wooden floors and doors it felt quite solid. En-suite loo but outdoor shower which looked like a bucket but was actually piped water and easy to use. Also had a very nice deck area at front of tent with two loungers. Animals were around - we had a hyena outside our tent the first evening and I mistakenly left some socks hanging outside the first night - they were appropriated and half buried in the ground by the morning but luckily not damaged and easily washed!

We were fortunate to have Mesenga as our guide - he spoke really good English and had eagle eyes - he could spot things miles away! We saw more elephants and zebras than we had ever seen before, but also leopard, a big pride of lions, and small things like bat-eared fox, fish eagles, genet and porcupine (on a night drive). We also did a short 2 hour walk with Alex which was excellent - it was really good to get up close to plants and see signs of the animals such as dik-dik scent marks on the grasses.

The food was very good - barbecue on the first night was excellent.

One thing to note - if you want to do the night drive you have to pay extra for it ($60 per person). We decided to do it because there was an opportunity to use night vision binoculars which we haven't done before. However, in the event we found them hard to use and reverted to the standard spotlight method, so that was a bit disappointing although we did enjoy the drive. Actually, in the event, we didn't pay for the drive as there was a slight problem the next morning and we didn't get a wake up tea tray or proper breakfast so Barbara the manager waived the fee.

As others have said, the only slight disadvantage of the location is that you have to drive for about 20 mins before you actually see much in the way of animals...and if you go there do be aware of the tsetse flies - take Expert Africa's advice and take something that will repel them - we only had mosquito repellent with us which wasn't very effective against them and I wished I'd taken my Avon Skin So Soft!" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms J & Ms B
Canada

"Oliver's Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2011
"Accommodation was very clean and comfortable. Managers helpful and friendly.

Great birdwatching at the main camp area." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs M
Bristol

"Wonderful safari at Tarangire"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2011
"We had an wonderful visit to Tarangire staying in Oliver's camp.

Our personal guide, Hari was very good, always polite and cheerful. He provided very good game viewing including 3 cheetahs, 3 leopards, a lion family on a kill, bat eared foxes and a gerenuk family, apart from the herds of elephant, buffaloe, zebra and wildebeest. We felt that Hari did his utmost to make our experience the best possible. We felt it was a shame he could not have dropped us off at Manyara airstrip on his way back to Arusha, which might have saved us some transfer time.

Olivers camp was very good, in a quiet section of the park which made us feel we were really in the African bush.The position of the camp being well down the park, meant that early morning viewings were undisturbed by crowds of other vehicles. We loved the tent which was spacious and comfortable, and Ken and Michelle were good hosts. The food was tasty and there was always a good campfire to help us enjoy pre-dinner drinks. We would certainly stay here again." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr N & Ms S
Zambia

"More elephants than impalas"

4 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2011
"Thanks to the Silale Swamp just north of Oliver's Camp, it is quite literally the case that we saw more elephants (hundreds at a time dotted across the swamp) than impalas in Tarangire - and there was no shortage of the latter. Oliver's is a well run camp generally and we were particularly impressed with the food - something with which camp managers Michele and Ken have clearly made a considerable effort.

During our 4 night stay we saw plenty of mammals - over 20 different species with buffalo, zebra and lion (in addition to elephant) in abundance - and the bird life is even more impressive (we identified nearly 100 different species). The southerly location of Oliver's in the park also means that there are few other vehicles despite the richness of the wildlife and the splendid scenery. Our guide, Jackson, looked after us extremely well from start to finish.

Oliver's also has the advantage of doing walks (Marcus is an excellent walking guide) and - unlike many camps in Tanzania - night drives, though neither is included in the basic cost (possibly because the majority of the guides do not work for the camp)." See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
N London

"Oliver's Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2011
"Great location near the swamp in the southern part of Tarangire. Very friendly and relaxed atmosphere, pleasant and helpful staff, good guides.

Really appreciated being able to do a walk as well as the game drives." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Herts

"Oliver's Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2011
"Over-all an excellent camp and experience.

The rooms were spectacular, food excellent and the location perfect.

The camp has an excellent selection of activities which aren't available in Ngorongoro and Serengeti including night drives and walking." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Westerham

"Really friendly welcoming camp"

2 nights Arrived 13 Feb 2011
"Well situated camp away from the main tourist trail . The northern part of the park was much busier with more day safaris from Arusha and lodges.

Due to the rains a lot of the game apparently had moved away from the Silale Swamp area and a lot of the tracks were badly rutted making driving difficult , but the viewing was still good . During the day stacks of elephants, lesser Kudu, leopard and fringe eared oryx were seen and on the night drive serval, genet , porcupine, and a pride of 23 lions. Rooms ( shower outstanding) and food were good and the staff excellent. In certain areas there were certainly a lot of tsetse , especially around the swamp area." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The C family
NJ

"Oliver's Camp review"

1 night Arrived 17 Oct 2010
"Lovely place to stay. Great food and people." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr K & Ms C
Germany

"Oliver's Camp review"

1 night Arrived 16 Oct 2010
"see above [Ed: see below!]" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Showing 31-40 of 48
95%
48 reviews of Oliver's Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
38
9
0
0
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Tarangire National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Little Oliver's Camp

Little Oliver's

For a more private version of its sister property, Oliver’s Camp, Little Oliver’s offers high-quality guiding and tented rooms.


98% (17 reviews)
Kuro Tarangire

Kuro Tarangire

Kuro Tarangire is a stylish tented camp, located in a quiet and remote area deep in Tarangire National Park.


97% (14 reviews)
Tarangire Safari Lodge

Tarangire Safari

Functional Tarangire Safari Lodge is one of Tarangire National Park's larger lodges, on a prime central site overlooking the river.


94% (10 reviews)
Tarangire Sopa Lodge

Tarangire Sopa Lodge

Tarangire Sopa Lodge is a large, comfortable, family-friendly hotel in Tarangire National Park, suitable for travellers on a budget.


88% (5 reviews)
Oliver's Fly-Camp

Oliver's Fly-Camp

Get back to basics at Oliver's Fly-Camp, exploring Tarangire National Park on foot and sleeping out in the wilderness.


95% (4 reviews)
Lemala Mpingo Ridge

Lemala Mpingo Ridge

Lemala Mpingo Ridge is a stylish camp in Tarangire National Park, with a beautiful location and elevated views over the park.


100% (3 reviews)
Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge

Kirurumu Tarangire

Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge is a simple, small, tented camp positioned just outside the northern boundary of Tarangire National Park.


90% (2 reviews)
Tarangire Treetops

Tarangire Treetops

Tarangire Treetops is a lovely, high-quality lodge on the outskirts of Tarangire National Park, offering game drives, night drives and safari walks.


90% (2 reviews)
Swala Camp

Swala Camp

Swala Camp is a stylish camp for exploring the southern Tarangire, either with a private driver-guide, or using the camp's vehicles and guides.


100% (2 reviews)
Nimali Tarangire

Nimali Tarangire

Nimali is a small camp built in contemporary style on the outskirts of Tarangire National Park in northern Tanzania.


100% (1 review)
Maramboi Tented Camp

Maramboi Tented Camp

Maramboi Tented Camp is a family-friendly tented lodge located between Lake Manyara and Tarangire National Park.


100% (1 review)
Chem Chem

Chem Chem

Chem Chem is a luxury tented lodge on a private concession between Lake Manyara and Tarangire national parks.


100% (1 review)
Maweninga Tented Camp

Maweninga Camp

On an isolated kopje on the western side of Tarangire National Park, Mawe Ninga is an inexpensive, basic safari camp.


No reviews yet
Forest Chem Chem

Forest Chem Chem

Located in the Chem Chem Concession and close to Tarangire National Park, Forest Chem Chem is a high-quality tented camp which is booked on an exclusive basis.


No reviews yet
Little Chem Chem

Little Chem Chem

Little Chem Chem is a stylish option near Tarangire National Park, offering real relaxation combined with a variety of safari activities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa