This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Serena Inn
Serena Inn

Reviews of Serena Inn

Wildlife sightings and reviews

63 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Serena Inn and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 41-50 of 63
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
Maningtree

"Serena Inn review"

1 night Arrived 25 Jul 2009
"Warm service, great location, a good way to end a short but full break." See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr H & Ms H
Toronto

"Serena Inn review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2009
"Very nice hotel, particularly liked the pool and view. Ideal spot from which to explore Zanzibar town." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Petersfiel

"Serena Inn review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Mar 2009
"wonderful , two days not enough to see and do everything we would have liked to have done" See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Twickenham

"Serena Inn review"

1 night Arrived 14 Feb 2009
"If you put this hotel almost anywhere else in the world but Stonetown, then it would undoubtedly rate an "excellent". The room was fine, the staff were superb, the food was outstanding (particularly in the Terrace Restaurant) and the facilities available in the hotel were good.

But, Stonetown is such a God-awful place; it was filthy, run down, (even the taxi driver apologised for the state of the place, and this without us saying anything!) and expensive. How people manage to find it "fascinating" (this comment from someone else staying at the Mchanga Beach) is completely beyond us." See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Gloucs.

"Short stay at the Serena Inn"

2 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2009
"We were given a poor room on arrivel = tiny twin bedded room at the top with a small window but they found a better one for us eventually.

It was a good place to explore Stonetown, very central, and we enjoyed having the pool to cool off." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs L of
Oxford

"Serena Inn Review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Feb 2009
"The Serena Inn was very nice indeed although the room was on the small side. It was lovely having a balcony, and the decoration and furnishings throughout the hotel were all in the best of taste.

Breakfasts were sumptious in the lovely dining-room overlooking the sea which was always busy with commuter dhows at the start of the day. It felt less personal than Fundu but then it is of-course a city hotel and considerably larger." See all these reviews: 16n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mrs A
Peterborough

"Luxury in Stonetown"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jan 2009
"We enjoyed our time at Serena Inn. It is what one would expect from that quality of hotel." See all these reviews: 10n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Middlesex

"Delightful & friendly Serena Inn"

3 nights Arrived 23 Dec 2008
"We decided to move to this hotel earlier than anticipated and arrived on Sunday 21st December. Although expensive, we thought every penny was worthwhile as this was a most delightful place to stay. Without exception, all the staff from the cleaners right through to the managers were all friendly and helpful. We were given a fabulous corner room with balcony to the side and front and complimentary basket of fruit. The hotel building was full of character and interest with beautiful features and furnishings.

The location was perfect as we had all the benefits of being by the beach but could meander through the very interesting streets of Stone Town at our leisure as the hotel was so well positioned. Stone Town is interesting with plenty to investigate and we never felt threatened or uncomfortable (except for the humidity) during our stay. An altogether memorable visit.


" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 7n in Zambia; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms J & Mr B
London

"Good place to stay when in Stone Town"

2 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2008
"A good place to stay for a day or two whilst visiting Stone Town. Whilst the hotel is clean, modern and of a relatively high standard, its location is what makes it standout. This, and the pool, is excellent.

There are some very good restaurants near by, serving real culinary delights, in particular the at Beyt al Chai (opposite) and the Silk Route (near the fort)." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Golden jackals
UK

"A disappointing stay at the Serena"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2008
"The Serena Inn is very, very nice to look at and the staff were very nice, especially the reception staff. The restaurant was very weak. The bar service was slow and haphazard in the afternoon but in the restaurant in the evening, we kept getting asked if everything was okay by lots of managers, but when we did make a comment (see below) it was dismissed.

The restaurant food was disappointing and rather ordinary for the price. We ordered prawns for the starter and there were only 2 prawns on the plate costing about $7. When we commented on this, we were told it was only an appetizer. Other appetizers were larger. The restaurant was overlooking the beach with open windows, and it gradually dawned on us that the trickle of water down the beach was from a toilet and explained the smell!

We had a very early start, hence the stay at Serena, but the water went off in the night. We had to ring to find out what was happening and the staff said it was fixed, but it wan't so we had to ring again. Then it was fixed but only just in time (with cold water only) for us to get out for our flight. They did serve a decent breakfast at 5.30 which was much appreciated. The pool closed at 6pm! Far too early.

Beautiful setting and furnishings but we felt the restaurant and water let it down. In our view it was not that high a standard for its cost.

If you want to go shopping, do be aware that they basically close down at prayer time and in the evening. The shops were expensive. It was even worse as it was during Ramadam. If you want to go shopping, go in the morning between 10 and 12." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Showing 41-50 of 63
91%
63 reviews of Serena Inn by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
40
20
2
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in Stone Town

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Zanzibar Coffee House

Zanzibar Coffee House

The Zanzibar Coffee House is a small quiet hotel tucked away in the back streets of Stone Town, with lovely, simple rooms.


83% (61 reviews)
Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Zanzibar Palace Hotel

The Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a highly regarded boutique hotel with very personal service and just nine rooms, all of them Zanzibari in style.


90% (48 reviews)
Beyt al Salaam

Beyt al Salaam

The Beyt al Salaam is a pleasant, boutique hotel with only six rooms and atmospheric and stylish Zanzibari décor.


82% (44 reviews)
Dhow Palace Hotel

Dhow Palace Hotel

The Dhow Palace is a very good-value, mid-range hotel, full of Swahili character, and the pool makes it appealing to families.


79% (39 reviews)
Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice is a beautiful small hotel in the heart of Stone Town with individually designed rooms adorned with gorgeous fabrics.


93% (20 reviews)
Jafferji House

Jafferji House

Jafferji House is a converted old house that blends modern facilities with traditional style. The ten, unique rooms are show great attention to detail.


81% (19 reviews)
Kholle House

Kholle House

Kholle House offers an atmospheric Stone Town stay in a historic building, and is very good value for money.


81% (18 reviews)
Swahili House

Swahili House

Swahili House is a traditionally styled boutique hotel furnished to a high standard with a convenient location in the centre of Stone Town.


82% (10 reviews)
Tembo Hotel

Tembo Hotel

The Tembo Hotel is a good-value, family-friendly hotel right on the seafront in Stone Town, with 36 rooms and a good-sized swimming pool.


63% (8 reviews)
Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi was Stone Town's first boutique hotel, featuring antique furniture, unique, stylish rooms and a superb rooftop restaurant.


80% (5 reviews)
Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel is very convenient if you want to stay on the beach, but very close to Stone Town, or visit Chumbe Island.


92% (5 reviews)
Maru Maru Hotel

Maru Maru Hotel

In the heart of Stone Town, Maru Maru combines contemporary style and creature comforts with a Zanzibari twist.


80% (2 reviews)
Park Hyatt

Park Hyatt

The Park Hyatt Zanzibar is a high-quality example of this group, with excellent facilities and service.


100% (2 reviews)
Kisiwa House

Kisiwa House

Kisiwa's central location in the heart of Stone Town's Shangani area makes it a great base to explore this fascinating town.


No reviews yet
The Seyyida Hotel

Seyyida Hotel

The Seyyida is a characterful old hotel near the seafront in Stone Town, with the rare bonus of a swimming pool.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa