This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Serena Inn
Serena Inn

Reviews of Serena Inn

Wildlife sightings and reviews

63 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Serena Inn and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 51-60 of 63
Duration
Arrival date
White Rhinos
NL

"Serena Inn review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2008
"Wonderful location, loved zanzibar , and sitting by the pool watching the Dhows go by. Food and service in the main Restaurant a bit chaotic at times. Overall though a good experience." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T & Mr L
London

"Best Hotel in Stonestown"

1 night Arrived 20 Jul 2008
"Really nice hotel; lovely room with big balcony and hammock. Good air-conditioning and nice roof-top restauant.

Stonestown wasn't a great place though." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr J
Hants

"Fantastic stay in Stone Town at Serena Inn"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jan 2008
"We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights stay here. We finally had air-con and so slept really well!!! (We found the humidity quite hard work!) Great staff, wonderful and varied food and brilliant facilities. We thoroughly enjoyed the large cool pool. What a great way to finish up our holiday!!" See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Bee-eater
UK

"Serena Inn review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jan 2008
"We can see why this hotel is rated as one of the best in Zanzibar, we loved it and would like to have stayed longer than 2 nights. First impressions are really important and they made us feel really welcome when we arrived. The high level of service and attention to detail continued for the rest of our short stay. We loved the buzz of Stone Town and were surprised that we were not hassled by the shop keepers as much as we expected.

We had a good room with a view of the sea and pool plus a small balcony. Although not the size of accommodation that we had seen on the rest of our holiday it was perfectly okay for the amount of time we used it.

It was great to be able to combine the noise and bustle of Stone Town with the tranquility of the Serena Inn. The best of both worlds. The pool and pool area was great and the staff were very attentive. It was lovely to hear live music in the early evening. A great way to enjoy sundowners.

We made one mistake and that was eating at Africa House Hotel for one evening, just not in the same league as the Serena Inn and more expensive although the bar area was good.

We arranged for a dhow sunset sailing trip for our last evening followed by dinner in the seafood restaurant on the roof terrace of the Serena Inn. The Dhow cruise was amazing. We had a crew of 7 and just the two of us as guests. They served fresh canapés and drinks provided by the hotel whilst sailing down the coast and back for over 2 ½ hours. We booked this through the hotel and not Fisherman Tours as they advised us to use another organization which didn't sound as good.

In summary an fantastic ending to a great holiday in two exceptional countries.
" See all these reviews: 10n in Zanzibar; 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs LC
SW London

"Serena Inn review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jan 2008
"Beautiful room. Loved the hammock on the verandah.
For Mark it was the airconditioning that brought a smile to his face!!
Thought the restaurant menu abit boring especially as the other restaurant was seafood only. Cafe menu excellent and so was room service.
Lovely shop.
Excellent tour of the city.
Would liked to have stayed longer (2 nights only).
Hotel building and gardens, the best of british colonialism." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr S
AskhamBryan

"Serene Serena"

2 nights Arrived 30 Nov 2007
"A lovely corner room but as it was on the ground floor the foliage obscured the sea view!

The hotel informed us that the pool would be closed for a private function from 3pm on the only full day we were there! After complaining they allowed us to use the pool until sundown." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana; 7n in Zanzibar; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
The Purple Rollers
UK

"Serena Inn, Stone Town"

2 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2007
"Probably the best hotel in Stone Town, and well situated, but naturally it lacked the individuality of the other placed visited during the trip.

The Roof Top Dinner was a beautiful setting, as were the terrace bars and pool area." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 8n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr M
Edinburgh

""

3 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2007
"Top hotel so had to be good and in the humidity of Zanzibar the air conditioning had to run well. (both were)

Views from the balcony were excellent, but were were in what they said was the best aspected room, which I would agree with.

High quality catering, as would be expected from the hotel group

" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
The Giraffes
Germany

"Serena Inn review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2007
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr P
Horsmonden

"Zanzibar"

1 night Arrived 27 Aug 2007
"great but wholly disorganised - had lost our dinner booking, didn't seem to know about our room request etc." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Showing 51-60 of 63
91%
63 reviews of Serena Inn by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
40
20
2
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in Stone Town

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Zanzibar Coffee House

Zanzibar Coffee House

The Zanzibar Coffee House is a small quiet hotel tucked away in the back streets of Stone Town, with lovely, simple rooms.


83% (61 reviews)
Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Zanzibar Palace Hotel

The Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a highly regarded boutique hotel with very personal service and just nine rooms, all of them Zanzibari in style.


90% (48 reviews)
Beyt al Salaam

Beyt al Salaam

The Beyt al Salaam is a pleasant, boutique hotel with only six rooms and atmospheric and stylish Zanzibari décor.


82% (44 reviews)
Dhow Palace Hotel

Dhow Palace Hotel

The Dhow Palace is a very good-value, mid-range hotel, full of Swahili character, and the pool makes it appealing to families.


79% (39 reviews)
Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice is a beautiful small hotel in the heart of Stone Town with individually designed rooms adorned with gorgeous fabrics.


93% (20 reviews)
Jafferji House

Jafferji House

Jafferji House is a converted old house that blends modern facilities with traditional style. The ten, unique rooms are show great attention to detail.


81% (19 reviews)
Kholle House

Kholle House

Kholle House offers an atmospheric Stone Town stay in a historic building, and is very good value for money.


81% (18 reviews)
Swahili House

Swahili House

Swahili House is a traditionally styled boutique hotel furnished to a high standard with a convenient location in the centre of Stone Town.


82% (10 reviews)
Tembo Hotel

Tembo Hotel

The Tembo Hotel is a good-value, family-friendly hotel right on the seafront in Stone Town, with 36 rooms and a good-sized swimming pool.


63% (8 reviews)
Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi was Stone Town's first boutique hotel, featuring antique furniture, unique, stylish rooms and a superb rooftop restaurant.


80% (5 reviews)
Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel is very convenient if you want to stay on the beach, but very close to Stone Town, or visit Chumbe Island.


92% (5 reviews)
Maru Maru Hotel

Maru Maru Hotel

In the heart of Stone Town, Maru Maru combines contemporary style and creature comforts with a Zanzibari twist.


80% (2 reviews)
Park Hyatt

Park Hyatt

The Park Hyatt Zanzibar is a high-quality example of this group, with excellent facilities and service.


100% (2 reviews)
Kisiwa House

Kisiwa House

Kisiwa's central location in the heart of Stone Town's Shangani area makes it a great base to explore this fascinating town.


No reviews yet
The Seyyida Hotel

Seyyida Hotel

The Seyyida is a characterful old hotel near the seafront in Stone Town, with the rare bonus of a swimming pool.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa