This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge

Reviews of Batonka Guest Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

29 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Batonka Guest Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2019, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Batonka Guest Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Elephant

33% success

Buffalo

18% success

Zebra

8% success

Showing 21-29 of 29
Duration
Arrival date
Colobus Monkeys
UK

"Batonka Guest Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 19 Jul 2019
"Pleasant and quiet hotel in central location. Good service and facilities" See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
The H family
Sweden

"Close to Excellent"

2 nights Arrived 20 May 2019
"A very beautiful and peaceful guest lodge with nice staff and top service.

The only downside was an interleading door (locked) to our neighbouring room through which we could hear our neighbours clearly. Fortunately our neighbours were very quiet, so it was not a major problem, but it could have been so, and the manager apologized much when we mentioned it in the morning.

But after all we had a very pleasant and relaxing stay at the very comfortable and friendly minded Batonka Guest Lodge." See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Georgia US

"Batonka Guest Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 May 2019
"We loved staying at Batonka Guest Lodge for our time at Victoria Falls. The location a bit outside of town was great for us. We took advantage of the taxi service and it worked perfectly. Our driver arranged on each occasion to return to pick us up at a specified time. The atmosphere of the Lodge and all the staff was very welcoming. We ate dinner there both nights and the meals and service were excellent. We highly recommend Batonka Guest Lodge." See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G.
London

"Great relaxing stay"

2 nights Arrived 23 Mar 2019
"We stayed a couple of nights at Batonka Lodge.

Had a really great stay, hotel grounds were lovely and was amazing being in the pool surrounded by a group of friendly Mongoose. Victoria Falls felt very safe and was nice to be able to go out running from Batonka straight to see the rainbows at the falls.

Loads of options for activities, we particularly enjoyed the sunset dinner cruise on the Zambezi." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs K from
Wales

"Very nice 24 hrs in a delightful place"

1 night Arrived 7 Nov 2018
"A really nice and comfortable hotel/guest lodge.

Very nice staff, very good food, and the location - outside of the main town - was probably better than closer to the Falls. Nice and quiet.

Highly recommended" See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe; 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Kingston

"Lovely Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2018
"We stayed 2 nights late in August. Batonka Guest Lodge is a lovely spot. All of the staff are welcoming and congenial, and there is very much a team feeling.

The Lodge and its grounds are pleasant and quiet. We had Room 5 on the pool side. Nice outdoor sitting area, comfortable bed with mosquito net, writing desk and easy chair, large and complete bathroom with tub and shower. Very clean. We had our dinner on the patio both evenings and the food was very good. There were 2 choices for each course (starter, main, dessert). One night it was beef or chicken, the next it was fish (bream) and beef stew. We were happy with everything.

On the morning of our departure, our driver showed up one hour earlier than expected and we were just about to head for breakfast. The receptionist quickly made arrangements for a take away breakfast and we appreciated that.

We had planned to walk into town for shopping but we ran out of time, so we can't comment on that, but it did appear as if the walk would not be onerous." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Wellington

"Batonka Guest Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 3 Aug 2018
"Very comfortable.

Only drawback is that it is a bit far from town." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Poor
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Ms L
Queensland

"Most Beautiful"

1 night Arrived 21 Mar 2018
"This is one of the best accommodation I've ever experienced. The service reminded me if an old colonial style service that one sees in old movies. Absolutely impeccable. They won't have you standing at the counter to check in. They have you sit in an opulently decorated lounge, with a welcome cold drink, and they come and do the paperworks with you.

The buildings and gardens are immaculate and gorgeous. The rooms are the largest I 've ever seen, with nice and modern furniture. They take good care to cover the food up. And they didn't even charge me for a room delivered dinner for which I supplied half the ingredients. Their rates are at least half of what the hotels in town charge. I found the location not problematic. Businesses in town seem willing to give you a lift back to the hotel. Services I experienced in Victoria Falls all had a high standard.

I should have stayed here as a base, and done day trips instead of staying in lodges which were generally not of high standards.

At the time of my visit, which was the end of the wet season, there wasn't much game at the lodges. But the animals at Chobe, which I visited on a Wilderness Horizons day trip, treated us humans as part of the family and displayed their full range of behaviours right next to us. That was the best safaris experience I and other fellow travellers had during our entire African trip. It wasn't high season so there weren't that many vehicles crowding around each group of animals. I saw a maximum of 3 at any time which didn't bother me." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 4n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Bath

"Zimbabwe's best kept secret"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2017
"We went into Zimbabwe with low expectations, and were totally bowled over by Batonka. Absolute luxury, wonderful welcome, lovely staff, beautiful food, lovely environment, a real treat.

We went to Victoria Falls, which was great (but not so much water in the dry season) We loved going to the Lookout Cafe, overlooking the gorge, with crazy people doing bungee jumps.

All the people we met at Victoria falls were kind and welcoming. There are very few British visitors, which is a shame. Victoria Falls is really in a "bubble" in Zimbabwe, and is a great place for tourists to visit.

The taxis are cheap, if you don't fancy walking into town (one mile)" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 21-29 of 29
96%
29 reviews of Batonka Guest Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
23
6
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

Exceptionally well located between the Victoria Falls and the town of the same name, Ilala Lodge has comfortable rooms, a friendly atmosphere & great food.


93% (263 reviews)
Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

With its unique setting, authentic style and excellent service, the Victoria Falls is one of the world’s most iconic hotels.


94% (163 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Victoria Falls Lodge

High on a plateau a short distance outside Victoria Falls Town, the comfortable Victoria Falls Safari Lodge overlooks its own waterhole.


88% (22 reviews)
Sprayview Hotel

Sprayview Hotel

In close proximity to both the town and the Victoria Falls themselves, Sprayview is a value-for-money hotel in a convenient location.


75% (16 reviews)
The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp is a luxury tented camp in its own private concession within Victoria Falls National Park, just 15-minute's drive town.


94% (14 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Club

Victoria Falls Club

Just outside of Victoria Falls Town, Victoria Falls Safari Club offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base to explore the area.


94% (10 reviews)
Old Drift Lodge

Old Drift Lodge

A lovely addition to the options in Victoria Falls, the stylish Old Drift has a great location in Zimbabwe's Zambezi National Park, with a range of activities.


92% (10 reviews)
Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge has spectacular views from its perch on the edge of the Batoka Gorge. Although it is out of town it isn't too far from the main attractions.


98% (8 reviews)
Palm River Hotel

Palm River

Palm River Hotel offers a high-quality stay in a picturesque location on the banks of the Zambezi, with excellent food and a shuttle to the Victoria Falls.


100% (4 reviews)
Pioneers

Pioneers

Located a five-minute drive from the buzz of Victoria Falls town, the mid-size Pioneers offers a relaxing stay in one of Zimbabwe's most iconic destinations.


95% (4 reviews)
Little Gorges Tented Lodge

Little Gorges

Set high above the Zambezi River, Little Gorges Tented Lodge is a tranquil spot to watch black eagles and from which to visit the Victoria Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands is a stylish new camp with a range of activities on a remote stretch of the Zambezi River.


100% (3 reviews)
Matetsi River Lodge

Matetsi River Lodge

Situated in the private Matetsi Reserve, Matetsi River Lodge offers luxury suites, game drives and river activities within reach of the Victoria Falls.


100% (1 review)
Victoria Falls Safari Suites

Victoria Falls Suites

Just out of the town, Victoria Falls Safari Suites offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore.


100% (1 review)
Mpala Jena

Mpala Jena

In Zambezi National Park, Mpala Jena offers a luxurious but eco-friendly experience, within easy access of the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet
528 Victoria Falls

528 Victoria Falls

528 Victoria Falls is a charming, owner-run, boutique B&B in a leafy suburb of Victoria Falls town, offering an oasis of calm in an often-busy location.


No reviews yet
Matetsi River House

Matetsi River House

Situated in the Private Matetsi Reserve Matetsi River House offers families and small groups privacy, game drives and access to the falls.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa