This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge

Reviews of Ilala Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

220 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ilala Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2019, 13 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ilala Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Elephant

62% success

Buffalo

18% success

Zebra

9% success

Showing 191-200 of 220
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs K
Maidstone

"Ilala lodge review"

1 night Arrived 7 Nov 2011
"See previous comments earlier. [Ed: see below!]" See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Mr & Mrs K
Maidstone

"Ilala Lodge"

1 night Arrived 31 Oct 2011
"Service levels from staff were excellent.

The meal menus were imaginative (not too many dishes) but the actual quality was not quite as good as I had anticipated having read the menu particularly when considering the price which I felt was pretty expensive." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mrs B & Ms W
Surbiton

"Ilala Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2011
"Very relaxing end to our trip. Nathanda at Zambezi Safaris, the in-house tour operators, was excellent!" See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Nevada

"Ilala lodge"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2011
"There was miscommunication about our transfers to and from the airport that caused some stress. Otherwise, our stay was excellent.

The activity staff was very nice and helpful." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Harrow

"Ilala Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2011
"We stayed in a downstairs room, which was a tad "tired". An upstairs room with a terrace would have been preferrable. We stayed three nights-two might have been sufficient.

Close to the Victoria Falls Hotel and we would recommend having high tea and lunch there. Servise was in general good, but there was one major slip when the wine arrived after the meal." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
R, M, A & P
W Sussex

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2011
"This is more of a hotel than a lodge. Some of the staff were "just going through the routine" in their dealings with guests, others were excellent and put themselves out to help us and sort out problems. The river cruise was good and of course its brilliant to see the Falls. The restaurant was excellent.

Our experience of the boarder crossing into Zimbabwe was not good, about 2 / 2.5 hours, two long queues and in high temperatures, at one point queuing in the full sun. In reality there is nothing that can be done about this and it is a reality that "needs to be experienced" as part of visiting Zimbabwe. It may therefore be worth giving a bit more information to prepare people for what may happen." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Northwood

"Lovely Ilala Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2011
"Glad we chose this over Vic Falls Hotel. Much quieter and more personal. Friendly and helpful staff. Even tried Warthog Fillet which was excellent.

We were more than happy with our experience of Ilala Lodge. 'Excellent' is a difficult box to tick as there is always room for improvement." See all these reviews: 12n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Family L
Sevenoaks

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2011
"Excellent central location 15mins from Falls.

Excellent service from front desk staff & activities agent, slightly let down by slowish service in restaurant." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr C & Mrs M
Cheshire

"Great small atmospheric hotel"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2011
"2 great days here. a lovely way to finish our holiday. Would recommend this to anyone.

Brilliant location for the falls and all activities can be booked at the hotel and include transfers." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 6n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs M
Luxembourg

"some problems at Ilala Lodge"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2011
"I arrived at Ilala Lodge late in the afternoon and had a positive first impression. My room was spacious, clean with everything you might need in the bathroom. I made reservation at their well known Palm Restaurant and enjoyed an excellent dinner. But, some hours later, the problems startet with cramps etc. Fortunately, my transfer to the airport was scheduled around noon, that left me some time to recover. But it also meant, that no morning visit of the falls and no shopping was possible.

After this unpleasant experience I can recommend Ilala Lodge Hotel, but not their restaurant." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Showing 191-200 of 220
93%
220 reviews of Ilala Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
153
57
9
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

With its unique setting, authentic style and excellent service, the Victoria Falls is one of the world’s most iconic hotels.


93% (140 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Victoria Falls Lodge

High on a plateau a short distance outside Victoria Falls Town, the comfortable Victoria Falls Safari Lodge overlooks its own waterhole.


89% (20 reviews)
Sprayview Hotel

Sprayview Hotel

In close proximity to both the town and the Victoria Falls themselves, Sprayview is a value-for-money hotel in a convenient location.


77% (15 reviews)
The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp is a luxury tented camp in its own private concession within Victoria Falls National Park, just 15-minute's drive town.


94% (14 reviews)
Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge is a small, friendly and comfortable option away from the bustle of Victoria Falls town, and a perfect base for exploring the Falls.


98% (13 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Club

Victoria Falls Club

Just outside of Victoria Falls Town, Victoria Falls Safari Club offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base to explore the area.


94% (10 reviews)
Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge has spectacular views from its perch on the edge of the Batoka Gorge. Although it is out of town it isn't too far from the main attractions.


98% (8 reviews)
Old Drift Lodge

Old Drift Lodge

A lovely addition to the options in Victoria Falls, the stylish Old Drift has a great location in Zimbabwe's Zambezi National Park, with a range of activities.


95% (4 reviews)
Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands is a stylish new camp with a range of activities on a remote stretch of the Zambezi River.


100% (3 reviews)
Little Gorges Tented Lodge

Little Gorges

Set high above the Zambezi River, Little Gorges Tented Lodge is a tranquil spot to watch black eagles and from which to visit the Victoria Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Matetsi River Lodge

Matetsi River Lodge

Situated in the private Matetsi Reserve, Matetsi River Lodge offers luxury suites, game drives and river activities within reach of the Victoria Falls.


100% (1 review)
Victoria Falls Safari Suites

Victoria Falls Suites

Just out of the town, Victoria Falls Safari Suites offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore.


100% (1 review)
Palm River Lodge

Palm River

Palm River Lodge's location on the banks of the Zambezi River offers a picturesque outlook.


No reviews yet
Mpala Jena

Mpala Jena

In Zambezi National Park, Mpala Jena offers a luxurious but eco-friendly experience, within easy access of the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet
Matetsi River House

Matetsi River House

Situated in the Private Matetsi Reserve Matetsi River House offers families and small groups privacy, game drives and access to the falls.


No reviews yet
Pioneers

Pioneers

Located in a quiet suburb of Victoria Falls town Pioneers promised a relaxed stay in one of Zimbabwe's busiest destinations.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa