This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge

Reviews of Ilala Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

220 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ilala Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2019, 13 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ilala Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Elephant

62% success

Buffalo

18% success

Zebra

9% success

Showing 181-190 of 220
Duration
Arrival date
Ms B
San Francisco

"Great location near Falls. Clean, Good staff."

2 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2012
"Ilala Lodge met my needs perfectly.

It's walkable to the Victoria Falls park entrance. The facilities are pleasant and clean. There is internet connectivity available for guests in the lobby. The food was just average but the service was very good. There is a pool and a bar area overlooking a garden, which is a nice place to relax and recover from jet lag." See all these reviews: 6n in Zimbabwe; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
The H family
Chester

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2012
"Really pleased we decided to do the Falls from the Zimbabwe side. Easy walk to the Falls, and the town was safe.
Very nice hotel ('colonial relic'!) and had everything we needed.

We had high tea at the Victoria Falls Hotel, which was marvellous. However, I preferred staying at Ilala Lodge, and just visiting the Vic Falls Hotel." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr L
Austin

"Ilala Lodge Review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2012
"Activites booking office was brilliant. We owe them a lot.

Only glitch in the 2-night stay was the shower water on the morning we departed smelled of something akin to but a bit different from massive mildew." See all these reviews: 5n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
EH family
SW London

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Apr 2012
"We had a great stay in Ilala Lodge.

We were well looked after but my only crticism would be the length of time it took for the main course at dinner to arrive. When it did it was delicious but over an hours wait was really too long . All the staff were very friendly and helpful" See all these reviews: 5n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R & Ms C
Montana

"Ilala Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 22 Mar 2012
"service was good, desk staff friendly, rooms clean. we owed money on our bill and credit card would not go through. staff was not concerned, waited for me to walk next door to ATM. no problem attitude.

food was good. while emphasis was on luxury, food was not gourmet. walk to falls was pleasant. be aware that you will get wet visiting the falls. a poncho is a must. expert Africa might consider including one in the package of material it sends customers. while supporting locals is nice gesture, you feel you are getting overcharged by the locals." See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr C
Ontario, Canada

"Ilala Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Jan 2012
"It is centrally located, i.e., it is close to the town but about 10 minutes walk from Victoria Falls and 20 minutes from the bridge where my daughter did the swing; a form of bungee jump from the bridge. We enjoyed the town where we shopped and ate our meals.

The hotel has a great buffet breakfast with orders to menu. I have a very special diet requirement and they kept mixing it up. We had our first dinner there and the meat was so over-cooked that it was simply unacceptable so we were happy that we could eat out in close-by restaurants.

I had to change room twice in a 3 night stay. The first room has cockroaches. The second room air-conditioning was not working. They were prompt in changing my room in this low season when many rooms are available." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 9n in Zanzibar; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Northants

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jan 2012
"Not a good idea to arrive on New Years Day as there had been a big party the night before. The pool area resembled a human seal colony with people everywhere, who we had to navigate to get to our room. Seemed more like the Spanish Costa.

Much better the next day when a lot of people had gone. The staff were functional rather than friendly, possibly because they'd had a busy night before.

Went on their boat trip which was a bit strange as we were the only people on it, but fromtalking to other people, much more prefereble than the other trips which sounded just like booze cruises.

Booked the helicopter trip through the hotel which was excellent & teir was a local tourist guide on it who said it was the best trip he'd experienced due to short flying time to Falls, so more time there." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Ms A
Nashville

"Ilala Lodge review"

5 nights Arrived 21 Dec 2011
"We liked everything about this hotel. We spent 5 nights here which did end up being a day to long, but we had plenty of time to adjust our jet lag/ body clocks.

The breakfast was superior. The location within walking distance to the falls was perfect. The rest of the town of Victoria Falls does not have ANYTHING worth doing and I wonder if it would have been better to stay in Livingstone. Having said that we did do several side activities and spent a day at the in house spa. The staff was the most enjoyable and friendliest in our 1 month in Africa!! No recommendations to make this lodge better!" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 5n in Zimbabwe; 4n in Seychelles; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Kent

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Dec 2011
"this is class operation run on a very personal basis. superb food and service.very professional staff" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms C
Dublin

"Mixed results."

2 nights Arrived 13 Nov 2011
"Lovely lodge. Good food. Great staff. Ideally positioned for walk to Falls.

Big letdown was room 16. It was tired and weary looking. Needs a revamp. Bathroom has no window so extractor fan was essential. Extractor fan not working. Showerhead needed cleaning as it was spewing all over the place. Did my best to improve it and that helped. Poor shelf space in bathroom as well with the result that bathroom essentials had to be placed on ground.There was no fridge in the room. Had to ask for water as there was none. Temperature outside was high 30's! Got response from management. See below:

On behalf of the Management and staff at Ilala Lodge Hotel, I would like to say thank you for your feedback that you wrote on the guest questionnaire regarding your stay with us.

I noticed that you mentioned some problems regarding your room – Firstly the bathroom extractor fan: we do actually have them in the bathrooms but obviously yours was not working – my sincerest apologies for this and I would like you to know that it has been attended to and fixed.

Secondly regarding a mini bar - Unfortunately this is not something we supply them in any of our rooms. I would like you to know that we are looking into it for the future. Once again thank you for your feedback and if there is anything else you would like to add please do not hesitate to let me know.

Please note we were not looking for a mini bar as stated above. Merely a fridge to keep the water cool!!" See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Excellent
Showing 181-190 of 220
93%
220 reviews of Ilala Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
153
57
9
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

With its unique setting, authentic style and excellent service, the Victoria Falls is one of the world’s most iconic hotels.


93% (140 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Victoria Falls Lodge

High on a plateau a short distance outside Victoria Falls Town, the comfortable Victoria Falls Safari Lodge overlooks its own waterhole.


89% (20 reviews)
Sprayview Hotel

Sprayview Hotel

In close proximity to both the town and the Victoria Falls themselves, Sprayview is a value-for-money hotel that offers a comfortable base and an on-site activities centre.


77% (15 reviews)
The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp is a luxury tented camp in its own private concession within Victoria Falls National Park, just a 15-minute drive from the town of Victoria Falls.


94% (14 reviews)
Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge is a small, friendly and comfortable option away from the bustle of Victoria Falls town, and a perfect base for exploring the Falls.


98% (13 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Club

Victoria Falls Club

Situated just outside of Victoria Falls Town, The Victoria Falls Safari Club offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore the attractions of this region.


94% (10 reviews)
Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge has spectacular views from its perch on the edge of the Batoka Gorge. Although it is out of town it isn't too far from the main attractions.


98% (8 reviews)
Old Drift Lodge

Old Drift Lodge

A lovely addition to the options in Victoria Falls, the stylish Old Drift has a great location in Zimbabwe's Zambezi National Park, with a range of activities.


95% (4 reviews)
Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands is a stylish new camp with a range of activities on a remote stretch of the Zambezi River.


100% (3 reviews)
Little Gorges Tented Lodge

Little Gorges

Set high above the Zambezi River, Little Gorges Tented Lodge is a tranquil spot to watch black eagles and from which to visit the Victoria Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Matetsi River Lodge

Matetsi River Lodge

Situated in the private Matetsi Reserve, Matetsi River Lodge offers luxury suites, game drives and river activities within reach of the Victoria Falls.


100% (1 review)
Victoria Falls Safari Suites

Victoria Falls Suites

Just out of the town, Victoria Falls Safari Suites offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore.


100% (1 review)
Palm River Lodge

Palm River

Palm River Lodge's location on the banks of the Zambezi River offers a picturesque outlook.


No reviews yet
Mpala Jena

Mpala Jena

The intimate Mpala Jena camp in Zambezi National Park offers a luxurious but eco-friendly experience in a true safari setting, within easy access of the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet
Matetsi River House

Matetsi River House

Situated in the Private Matetsi Reserve Matetsi River House offers families and small groups privacy, game drives and access to the falls.


No reviews yet
Pioneers

Pioneers

Located in a quiet suburb of Victoria Falls town Pioneers promised a relaxed stay in one of Zimbabwe's busiest destinations.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa