This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge

Reviews of Ilala Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

220 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ilala Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2019, 13 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ilala Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Elephant

62% success

Buffalo

18% success

Zebra

9% success

Showing 171-180 of 220
Duration
Arrival date
Mr R & Ms M
Houston

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2012
"The facilities were great.

Staff was excellent. The hotel was conveniently located to what we wanted to see and within easy walking distance to the falls.

We enjoyed our stay there." See all these reviews: 5n in Zimbabwe; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
safari lovers
UK

"great base for Vic Falls"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2012
"Good recommendation. Excellent location. Actually nicer atmosphere than Vic Falls Hotel which, when we visited for a drink was crammed with bus parties.

Menu also good for two nights dinner" See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T & Ms N
Toronto

"Ian and Michelle - Ilala Lodge Oct 11"

1 night Arrived 11 Oct 2012
"Ilala lodge is a wonderful hotel in Victoria Falls, and is just a very short walk from the falls themselves.

The hotel is well maintained and very comfortable. Our main-floor room had a door we could open onto the lawn, where we saw some local animals wandering around, notable warthogs and a family of Banded Mongoose.

Our sole complaint was that the dinner did not meet expectations, largely due to a waiter who must have been new and could not seem to get the order right - but in fairness I should point out that the couple at the table next to us was effusive in their praise of the food and called out the chef to give their complements." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 6n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Northants

"Relaxed feel close and close to the Falls"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2012
"A very informal Lodge and easy to relax. Nice pool.
Good food in the Palm restaurant both dinner and breakfast.

We experienced difficulty trying to pay by either travellers cheques or credit card. Cash is obviously wanted in Zimbabwe. We eventually managed to sort out the payment machine by getting the battery charged, much to the relief of guests behind us in the queue!" See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr M
Massachusetts

"Ilala Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2012
"We needed to change rooms, due to lack of cleanliness in the bathrooms, on the first night (our anniversary). The room renovations that were toted was nothing more than a new television set. The management team did address the room problems, but our anniversary celebration was a bust,

Walking around Victoria Falls and having to ward off the local vendors was a horrible experience. The vendors hounded us immediately as we left the hotel property. Apparently, 'No' is not understood. It is a huge problem, that many visitors complained about.

We did enjoy the food and drink at the Victoria Falls Hotel, and would recommend this location for any future travelers." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Toronto

"Convenient and Comfortable"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2012
"Comfortable rooms and a good restaurant. Dinner was good and breakfast was excellent.

Excellent location as it is the closest hotel to Victoria Falls and to the banks and curio market in town." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R & Ms Z
NL

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2012
"Ilala lodge was a good location and not massive, which we enjoyed. Breakfast buffet and dinner were excellent. The rooms were good but not exceptional. The staff were very helpful and nice." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia; 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Co. Durham

"Ilala Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2012
"We found that Ilala Lodge is in a great location just over the road from the entrance to Victoria Falls, and has lovely views, with the spray of the falls visible from our room and the terrace. The bedrooms were very clean and comfortable and ours had french doors opening out onto the lawn where there were warthogs and baboons passing by! One night after dark we even saw a honey badger but it quickly disappeared when it was disturbed.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was very good, especially the breakfast with a wonderful and plentiful choice to cater for all needs. We can certainly recommend the Lodge for a relaxed and enjoyable stay.

" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms T
San Francisco

"Great place to stay in Victoria Falls"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2012
"Ilala Lodge was a great place for me to relax a bit after the Namibia Highlights camping safari.

Great location. I loved that it was easy to walk to the falls and that everything was nearby.

Booking of activities through the in-house operator was quick and efficient.

Great service from everyone on the staff.

The food at breakfast and dinner was delicious.

" See all these reviews: 6n in Zambia; 3n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr E & Mrs T
Denmark

"Ilala Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2012
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 171-180 of 220
93%
220 reviews of Ilala Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
153
57
9
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

With its unique setting, authentic style and excellent service, the Victoria Falls is one of the world’s most iconic hotels.


93% (140 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Victoria Falls Lodge

High on a plateau a short distance outside Victoria Falls Town, the comfortable Victoria Falls Safari Lodge overlooks its own waterhole.


89% (20 reviews)
Sprayview Hotel

Sprayview Hotel

In close proximity to both the town and the Victoria Falls themselves, Sprayview is a value-for-money hotel that offers a comfortable base and an on-site activities centre.


77% (15 reviews)
The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp is a luxury tented camp in its own private concession within Victoria Falls National Park, just a 15-minute drive from the town of Victoria Falls.


94% (14 reviews)
Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge is a small, friendly and comfortable option away from the bustle of Victoria Falls town, and a perfect base for exploring the Falls.


98% (13 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Club

Victoria Falls Club

Situated just outside of Victoria Falls Town, The Victoria Falls Safari Club offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore the attractions of this region.


94% (10 reviews)
Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge has spectacular views from its perch on the edge of the Batoka Gorge. Although it is out of town it isn't too far from the main attractions.


98% (8 reviews)
Old Drift Lodge

Old Drift Lodge

A lovely addition to the options in Victoria Falls, the stylish Old Drift has a great location in Zimbabwe's Zambezi National Park, with a range of activities.


95% (4 reviews)
Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands is a stylish new camp with a range of activities on a remote stretch of the Zambezi River.


100% (3 reviews)
Little Gorges Tented Lodge

Little Gorges

Set high above the Zambezi River, Little Gorges Tented Lodge is a tranquil spot to watch black eagles and from which to visit the Victoria Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Matetsi River Lodge

Matetsi River Lodge

Situated in the private Matetsi Reserve, Matetsi River Lodge offers luxury suites, game drives and river activities within reach of the Victoria Falls.


100% (1 review)
Victoria Falls Safari Suites

Victoria Falls Suites

Just out of the town, Victoria Falls Safari Suites offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore.


100% (1 review)
Palm River Lodge

Palm River

Palm River Lodge's location on the banks of the Zambezi River offers a picturesque outlook.


No reviews yet
Mpala Jena

Mpala Jena

The intimate Mpala Jena camp in Zambezi National Park offers a luxurious but eco-friendly experience in a true safari setting, within easy access of the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet
Matetsi River House

Matetsi River House

Situated in the Private Matetsi Reserve Matetsi River House offers families and small groups privacy, game drives and access to the falls.


No reviews yet
Pioneers

Pioneers

Located in a quiet suburb of Victoria Falls town Pioneers promised a relaxed stay in one of Zimbabwe's busiest destinations.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa