This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge

Reviews of Ilala Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

220 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ilala Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2019, 13 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ilala Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Elephant

62% success

Buffalo

18% success

Zebra

9% success

Showing 201-210 of 220
Duration
Arrival date
Dr G & Dr E
UK

"Ilala Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2011
"Back to the land of luxury after "roughing it" in the bush. So nice to have a bath!! Couldn't beat the location.

Slightly shocked at the American food prices though..." See all these reviews: 12n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr W & Ms W
Worcs

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2011
"Perfect for a short stay at Victoria Falls. Uncomplicated with helpful and polite staff.

If a little pampering is required then visit the Victoria Falls Hotel for tea and cakes." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The D family
London

"Ilala Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2011
"Very comfortable friendly hotel with good food. Our 2 rooms were separated by a connecting door which was perfect for a family & we had a small patio which looked out over lawns populated with warthog & baboons.

The spray from the Falls was just visible in the distance & the walk to the Falls was 10-15 minutes. There was a helpful receptionist available to book trips & my daughter did a zipwire over the Zambezi & a gorge swing which she loved.

We visited the Victoria Falls game park & used a guide recommended by our guide in Vundu called Charles. He couldn't take us himself as we booked at short notice but we went on a night drive with one of his team which was excellent. The guide was very knowledgeable." See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The G family
Finchley

"Ilala Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2011
"Lovely hotel with a relaxed atmosphere in a good location very close to the Falls. The staff were friendly and polite, the service excellent and the rooms were both comfortable and quiet each with an outdoor veranda. The boys loved the pool even if it was cold. It was nice to be able to have informal lunches in the bar area by the pool and everyone gave the burgers top marks.

It was great being able to hang out on the veranda and watch the Baboons, Vervet monkeys and the Warthogs on the lawn below. The Baboons were particularly entertaining. The breakfast was excellent and the evening meal good but lacking in variety. If I was there again I would try out a few other places for evening meals. We would definitely return to Ilala Lodge and highly recommend it.

The extra activities (not included in our package ) brokered through an agent with a representative based at the hotel were over priced. We did not understand that they was a deal of three activities for the price of two as this was not explained. However, we chose the sunset cruise down the Zambezi which was really enjoyable and well worth the cost. If I went again I would try other agents in the town to get a cheaper deal or I would read the pricing more carefully. Others who spotted this gave good feedback on walking with lions and riding elephant. We just chilled out and visited the Victoria Falls hotel which has an interesting colonial history and an excellent view of the Victoria Falls Bridge with the Falls behind." See all these reviews: 14n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
St Albans

"A wonderful place to stay"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2011
"We were delighted to be staying in Ilala Lodge rather than the Victoria Fall Hotel. We visited the latter for afternoon tea and that was enough. Ilala was more "African", smaller and more exquisite.

The room was excellent and the tea/coffee making facility was a bonus (we could even use tap water for the kettle!). We were glad to be on the ground floor which, we think, provided the best experience. The food was good, though not as good as that on the Zambezi Queen.

They were very helpful organising the helicopter ride and everything went to plan. It was lovely to sit in the outside bar and hear the roar of Victoria Falls in the distance. Equally we loved seeing its "smoke" from our bedroom window." See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr E
Berkeley

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2011
"This is a very nice lodge within a 10 minute walk of the falls. The room was very comfortable, and the front desk was helpful. Bathroom had plenty of hot water and good water pressure. They did screw up my transfer from the airport, but they gave me a credit and an apology, so they did resolve the issue. Breakfast was included in my rate and was very good. Dinner at the restaurant was good.

The location is excellent – shopping and the Victoria Falls Hotel are all within a few minutes walk. They also have a computer in the lobby for free internet access. Wireless access is available for a fee.

My room was on the ground floor and had french doors that led out into the backyard of the hotel. Of interest, there was a small sounder of warthogs munching on the grass out there every day.
" See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Drs N & S
Switzerland

"close to the falls"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2011
"Good place to stay for it's central position, no other noteworthy characteristics" See all these reviews: 12n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
T Family
Auckland

"Ilala Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2011
"A gorgeous boutique style hotel where we were greeted by friendly knowledgable front tine staff. Our room was spacious (for 3 people), we had a stunning view of the mist from the falls and the rooms were well equipped with fridge, kettle, TV etc. The rooms were presented well every day - absolutely no complaints.

The location was great - close enough so that we could walk everywhere - great recommendation !

The breakfast (Included in our package) was plentiful with a great variety of choice. We did not have lunch but found the dinner was pricey and 'OK". We worked out it would've been better value (especially with a 6 year old) to order from the bar as the toasted sandwiches etc were better value.

We booked our safari drive and sunset cruise through the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed both activities - the staff were once again friendly and informative.

The only thing that we felt let the hotel down from being excellent to good was the lack of interaction between the higher Management and the guests. We watched each morning as the Manager walked through the dining room and said hello and stopped to talk to the same 2-3 people whilst ignoring all others. This is a petty comment - but it would've made a difference." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 5n in Mozambique; 4n in Zimbabwe; 2n in South Africa; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Battersea

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2011
"Lovely place to finish our holiday .

The Victoria Fallls were magnificent.

Although there were ' Tourist Police ' to escort you to the Falls and back and around town we found they were not available on our walk back and were badly harrassed by one young man all the way back to the hotel." See all these reviews: 13n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Yee Family
Hong Kong

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Apr 2011
"For where it is and what it is, the lodge was overall quite pleasant. Because we were unfamiliar with the area, we dined exclusively at the Lodge. The food was okay, about what we expected, despite the restaurant being probably one of the finer establishments in town! The rooms were clean, the staff was nice, but internet access was fairly difficult. Our friends had a family suite upstairs which was very nice, and we had two adjoining rooms, which we actually didn't need (the kids wanted to sleep with us anyway).

We enjoyed shopping at their local products shop on site and used their booking office for activities. Because their booking office is not the actual operator, we didn't book in time for a microlight tour (turns out the operator was already full), so instead we booked a family helicopter ride. Despite the expensive price tag, the helicopter ride over Victoria Falls was worthwhile (as the view from the ground was too misty in many places).

Note to ExpertAfrica: We found out after we got there that the microlight flights only operate on the Zambia side, which means that we would have had to exit Zimbabwe and then re-enter, thus incurring more visa costs. Should your clients require visas into Zimbabwe, it would be helpful to suggest the double entry Zimbabwe visa if clients are interested in activities such as microlight or tours into Chobe." See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 201-210 of 220
93%
220 reviews of Ilala Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
153
57
9
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

With its unique setting, authentic style and excellent service, the Victoria Falls is one of the world’s most iconic hotels.


93% (140 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Victoria Falls Lodge

High on a plateau a short distance outside Victoria Falls Town, the comfortable Victoria Falls Safari Lodge overlooks its own waterhole.


89% (20 reviews)
Sprayview Hotel

Sprayview Hotel

In close proximity to both the town and the Victoria Falls themselves, Sprayview is a value-for-money hotel in a convenient location.


77% (15 reviews)
The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp is a luxury tented camp in its own private concession within Victoria Falls National Park, just 15-minute's drive town.


94% (14 reviews)
Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge is a small, friendly and comfortable option away from the bustle of Victoria Falls town, and a perfect base for exploring the Falls.


98% (13 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Club

Victoria Falls Club

Just outside of Victoria Falls Town, Victoria Falls Safari Club offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base to explore the area.


94% (10 reviews)
Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge has spectacular views from its perch on the edge of the Batoka Gorge. Although it is out of town it isn't too far from the main attractions.


98% (8 reviews)
Old Drift Lodge

Old Drift Lodge

A lovely addition to the options in Victoria Falls, the stylish Old Drift has a great location in Zimbabwe's Zambezi National Park, with a range of activities.


95% (4 reviews)
Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands is a stylish new camp with a range of activities on a remote stretch of the Zambezi River.


100% (3 reviews)
Little Gorges Tented Lodge

Little Gorges

Set high above the Zambezi River, Little Gorges Tented Lodge is a tranquil spot to watch black eagles and from which to visit the Victoria Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Matetsi River Lodge

Matetsi River Lodge

Situated in the private Matetsi Reserve, Matetsi River Lodge offers luxury suites, game drives and river activities within reach of the Victoria Falls.


100% (1 review)
Victoria Falls Safari Suites

Victoria Falls Suites

Just out of the town, Victoria Falls Safari Suites offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore.


100% (1 review)
Palm River Lodge

Palm River

Palm River Lodge's location on the banks of the Zambezi River offers a picturesque outlook.


No reviews yet
Mpala Jena

Mpala Jena

In Zambezi National Park, Mpala Jena offers a luxurious but eco-friendly experience, within easy access of the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet
Matetsi River House

Matetsi River House

Situated in the Private Matetsi Reserve Matetsi River House offers families and small groups privacy, game drives and access to the falls.


No reviews yet
Pioneers

Pioneers

Located in a quiet suburb of Victoria Falls town Pioneers promised a relaxed stay in one of Zimbabwe's busiest destinations.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa