This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Chobe Princesses
Chobe Princesses
Chobe Princesses
Chobe Princesses

Reviews of Chobe Princesses

Wildlife sightings and reviews

57 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chobe Princesses and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chobe Princesses.
Lion

33% success

Leopard

67% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

67% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 51-57 of 57
Duration
Arrival date
Family M
USA

"Ichobezi Houseboats review"

1 night Arrived 12 Aug 2010
"loved it and wish we had more time on the boat. but understand that wasnt an option. the Host i believe his name wasEarnest, was wonderful, very accomodating, thought ahead about our needs, had a meal waiting for us when we arrived. He was also very positive and enthusiastic for Namibia! Wow! nice touch. loved seeing the animals from the water . waking up , laying in bed and looking out the window as elephants came down to drink was a memory i wont forget!" See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Norwich

"Ichobezi Houseboats review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2010
"An idyllic way to spend time on the Chobe River.

Ernest and the team were fantastic! So many elephants, crocs and birds that we lost count.

Even saw some lions on our last morning." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 6n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Beds

"Good viewing platform for birds and animals"

3 nights Arrived 21 Mar 2010
"The boat came as a nice change from the other camps.

Due to the very high flood levels much of the land was under water - it would probably be better to visit the Chobe river in the dry season.

We had a few problems with the outboard motors on the tender boats which threatened to disrupt the programme.

We enjoyed the company of our fellow guests but this could be a problem if you are not used to living at close quarters on a boat." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs W-J
UK

"Ichobezi Houseboats review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2009
"Picked up at the jetty at Garden Lodge spot on time and taken to Namibian immigration on Impalila Island before joining the boat. A very slick transfer. For our first night we shared the boat with a Swiss couple and the four of us were then joined by another British pair.

Although the boat can take 8 guests, this might be a bit crowded as there are only a couple of sunloungers and deck chairs.
Cabins were spacious and comfortable, though bathrooms were small (not surprising on a boat). Food was generally excellent and the self-service bar open all day.

Ernest and his crew took excellent care of us and we enjoyed both the slow cruising on the houseboat along Chobe NP and individual game-viewing trips on the tender boats. These also take you back to Kasane via some very 'interesting' immigration posts.
A lovely experience towards the end of our trip – highly recommended!

We thought 2 days was ideal though 3 might be nice – any more and you'll be repeating the experience.
" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms DM & MR VO
Belgium

"Ichobezi Houseboats review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2009
"Really great crew on the boat. Actually it would have been nice if they could join the guests more often, but probably that was too difficult to combine with all the work on the boat.

The boat covered a smaller distance than I had expected but I don't think it mattered much. The shorter tours on the smaller boats are the best - we had Cletius as a "personal guide", he was very helpful, listened to what we were interested in and was too modest about his own knowledge." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C & Ms S
Colorado

"Ichobezi Houseboats review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2009
"Ernest, the houseboat manager, spent an entire day with us on the river in the smaller boat. It was wonderful. We sat watching elephants up close for hours, just quietly. Magical. We also watched a pair of lionesses and one male make a charge on a cape buffalo herd, without success because a big bull kept fending off their charge. It was spellbinding. My husband is a photographer and Ernest and all the other staff guides were just excellent at holding the small boat steady so he could get the shot. They were exceptionally attentive and considerate.

The houseboat itself is beautiful, the food amazing (thank you Chester!!!), the company just excellent and I can can't say enough wonderful things about the staff. Whatever we wanted to do, we did. We will definately do this again, for more nights (3 were just not enough) and try for October when the elephant show is really hopping. We also met the owner who traveled with us a short ways, what a great guy. We had since recommended the houseboat to everyone we talked to, it's a wonderful way to see Chobe while staying away from the crowds. I probably think about this part of the trip once or twice every day now that we are home...with longing. I'd go back in a minute. And I wish you had more Excellent buttons I could check!" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Lancashire

"Highly recommended for a mini-break"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2008
"Having the best room on the boat made these two days the highlight of the entire holiday for me. The food was excellent and the rooms cleaned and tidied very discreetly. I cannot praise the crew too highly.They were all exceptionally polite, attentive and always very smartly dressed. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

We would have enjoyed a little more time actually travelling on the river." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 51-57 of 57
96%
57 reviews of Chobe Princesses by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
47
8
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Chobe National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

One of our favourites in the area, Muchenje is a small, welcoming lodge outside the less busy western end of the Chobe Riverfront area.


95% (152 reviews)
Garden Lodge

Garden Lodge

Overlooking the Chobe River, the intimate Garden Lodge is a haven of tranquillity away from the bustle of Kasane.


96% (54 reviews)
Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge sits on the banks of the Savuti Channel within Chobe National Park, and offers access to excellent game viewing, especially during the dry season.


94% (34 reviews)
Chobe Under Canvas

Chobe Under Canvas

This is a typical location for Chobe under Canvas, a small, semi-permanent camp in the Chobe Riverfront area that offers good value for money and high standards of care.


100% (20 reviews)
Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge is a good value, hotel-style lodge in the heart of Kasane offering game drives, boat cruises and fishing trips.


84% (18 reviews)
Savute Under Canvas

Savute Under Canvas

A mobile camp with the comforts of a semi-permanent tented camp, Savute Under Canvas offers guided game drives within the Savuti region of Chobe National Park.


96% (18 reviews)
Chobe Elephant Camp

Chobe Elephant Camp

Located in one of our favorite areas of Chobe National Park, Chobe Elephant Camp is a simple but well-appointed camp with a strong bush feel.


97% (12 reviews)
Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge occupies an enviable riverfront location within Chobe National Park and boasts well-earned 'eco' credentials, as well as an excellent all-female guiding team.


85% (12 reviews)
Zambezi Queen

Zambezi Queen

The Zambezi Queen offers luxurious two- and three-night cruises along the game-rich Chobe River, including game viewing by small boat and 4WD as well as catch-and-release fishing.


96% (9 reviews)
Ngoma Safari Lodge

Ngoma Safari Lodge

With sweeping views across the floodplains of the Chobe River, Ngoma offers superb food and flexible safari activities.


100% (6 reviews)
Chobe Chilwero

Chobe Chilwero

On the periphery of Chobe National Park, Chobe Chilwero offers luxurious surroundings and excellent food, which complement superb game viewing on game drives and boat trips.


100% (2 reviews)
Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge is a lovely camp in a beautiful setting – sit in its hide and watch the wildlife come to drink at the waterhole. Activities focus on boating and drives in Chobe which - although very busy, and a long drive from the lodge – is very rich in wildlife.


80% (1 review)
Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge is a luxurious camp on the banks of the now flowing Savuti Channel. This is a classic big-game area, although its location within Chobe National Park does limit the activities which are possible here.


100% (1 review)
Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma sits in the Kazuma Forest Reserve and is an excellent place to see elephant in particular. Away from the busier riverfront area of Chobe National Park this camp offers a luxurious base form which to explore this less visited region of northern Botswana.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa