This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp

Reviews of Lagoon Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

269 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lagoon Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 66 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lagoon Camp.
Lion

91% success

Leopard

68% success

Cheetah

52% success

Wild dog

52% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

98% success

Zebra

94% success

Buffalo

83% success

Spotted Hyena

64% success

Sable antelope

50% success

Roan antelope

39% success

Brown Hyena

10% success

Pangolin

5% success

Aardvark

3% success

Showing 241-250 of 269
Duration
Arrival date
The Pangolins
Atlanta

"Superb experience at Lagoon Camp"

3 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2008
"Lagoon Camp was our first location on our 8 night visit to Botswana with Kwando Safaris and proved to be an excellent start to our safari. We spent three nights there in early November. The camp uses large tents located directly along the edge of a lagoon with a beautiful view of the lagoon from the tent. Although the tents were relatively close together such that you could easily hear your neighbor they otherwise felt quite private.

Our guide and tracker were both excellent and game viewing was superb with exciting lion, elephant and especially wild dog sightings during our stay. Our guide Alson (I hope that I am spelling that correctly!) was extremely knowledgeable and really proved he knew his wildlife in finding the wild dogs while our tracker Baruti had amazing skill in spotting game, especially at night. He even spotted a chameleon at night high in a tree even though it was doing its best to look like just another leaf! In addition to game drives there is the option to take a relaxing river cruise which was a nice change of pace and highly recommended if available.

Food and service was excellent during our stay and I liked how the guide and guests from each vehicle sat together at dinner so that we could discuss the day's events and plan for the following day. There was still plenty of opportunity to mingle with the other guests as it is not a large camp.

The camp has a most welcome plunge pool for the mid afternoon break and a beautiful deck overlooking the lagoon where one afternoon a pied kingfisher spent the afternoon entertaining us with a fish he had caught that was nearly as big as he was! He would try to swallow it and then smack it on a large tree branch as he apparently was trying to break it into smaller portions. This went on over the deck only a few feet away as he seemed completely unconcerned with the audience he was attracting. I still don't know if he ever succeeded in swallowing his prize!" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Berks

"brilliatn viewings"

3 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2008
"Very good trackers adn guide with extremeyl god viewings but one has to be prepared fro lots of sand adn bumping.

Dinners weer good but teh breakfast/lunch was indifferetn with limited choice and once sandwiches only as we weer laet back" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good

"Lagoon"

3 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2008
"Finally found the wild dogs. 2 different packs both with cubs.

The wildlife here is probably the most prolific in all the areas visited.

As with all the camps the staff cannot be prasied to highly." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr N
Horsmonden

"Lagoon Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2008
"Lagoon Camp must be the place to Wild Dogs in Africa. We saw three different packs and some astonishing behaviour - including a face-off with a herd of Elephants. Amazing stuff and I have seen Wild Dogs after almost twenty years of trying." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Crested Cranes
UK

"Lagoon Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2008
"Nice small camp set amongst riverside woodland where the guides try their best to show you what you want to see.

The highlight here is the chance to see wild dog. We were not disappointed with two sightings. Alson our guide was knowledgeable and could not have tried harder to track the wild dogs for us.

They also do night drives here so that more nocturnal animals can be found such as spotted hyena and springhare. There are plenty of wildebeest, antelope, zebra and giraffe too.

No game on the menu :-(." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Carmine Bee-eaters
UK

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2008
"We spent three nights at Lagoon camp, but time has a way of stretching out and you are made to feel so much at home and part of the life of the camp that it really felt like much longer (in a good way!).

The tents are not as smart as those at Lebala, but they are nonethless perfectly lovely, with verandahs looking out onto the river and the plains beyond and very comfortable interiors.

The staff at the camp were hospitable, enthusiastic, friendly and courteous. Phoebe, the camp manager, has a very informal, friendly and relaxed style which resonates throughout the entire place so that you feel as though you are being welcomed into a family rather than staying at a hotel. OB also deserves a special mention for the great hospitality she extended to us.

The guides here are second to none - highly knowledgeable and able to track, identify and explain all the animals, birds and plantlife you are likely to come across. Our guide, Vundi, and tracker, Thsebo, found some incredible wildlife sightings including a pack of wild dogs (which we followed for over an hour) and a leaopard snoozing up a tree in the darkness. On our last day Pat, another driver, and James, the tracker, spotted lion tracks which we followed until we came across a female lion with four young cubs - a truly wonderful sighting.

Sadly, the resident pack of wild dogs had not been seen for some weeks before we arrived - they had left the area following a lion attack on one of the 13 cubs. However, there are others that pass though, which we were lucky enough to see, and on our last day a driver (Alison) told us he had seen tracks of a pack with puppies near the Mopani forest - he was intending to go back and try to follow the tracks, so there is some hope that the original pack might still pass through even if it doesn't set up a den within the concession again.

The great thing about the Kwando reserve is that there is such a limited number of guests and vehicles. The area feels very remote and untouched, and you are unlikely to see another vehicle all day unless there is an exciting sighting. In that case, there is a rule that no more than three vehicles can view animals at a time. So it never feels crowded and overrun with game viewers as is often the case in other places. There is also an overwhelming sense of respect and admiration for the flora and fauna from the staff, which adds to the overall positive experience of staying at the camp." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Teddington

"A wonderful safari experience"

3 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2008
"Definitely the friendliest place we stayed, and that's saying a lot. The staff made us feel like we were part of the family, or more accurately, part of their gang. They had a fantastic sense of humour, individually and collectively. The other guests were great too, we all got on like old friends and had long nights round the campfire chatting (that was the only downside – we got hardly any sleep as we were voluntarily) getting up really early too!).

The organisation was marvellous – it all felt really easy-going and relaxed, but everything happened just when we wanted it too, and with flair.

We were also amazed by the skill of our guide Pat, not just in finding animals and getting really close to them, but also in bush mechanics – effecting a seemingly impossible repair to a Uri transmission with minimal tools while 50 yards from a pride of lions. And joking while he did it! He was also really good company, and very well informed on a really wide range of issues." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Y
Ponteland

"Lagoon Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2008
"Very short drive from airstrip to camp was fantastic after a long flight. Very friendly camp, especially Charlie the manager, enjoyable food around a big table and a great camp fire, including a lovely song at the beginning of the meal.

Unfortunately, the wild dogs which been regularly sighted had moved dens due to a puppy being taken by a lion but the search for the new den seemed to dominate all activities. Also, the guiding was diaappointing as our guide had only just moved to this camp and seemed to rely heavily on the tracker for directions. One day, the game drive was just a transfer of other guests with limited time to stop and watch the game.

Unusually,we didn't see any predators during our stay although we do realise that this not guaranteed, we felt that the guide could have given us more general information to maintain our interest. However, we styill enjoyed our stay at this camp as it is a great location." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs Hyena
UK

"Totally awesome experience from dawn to dusk"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2008
"This was our only stay in Botswana and was probably the main highlight of the holiday. We saw things here that we may never see again.

A pack of wild dogs where the adults came back from a kill to feed 12 six week old pups!!!

A lioness with 4 cubs attack and fight off a 4 year old male lion!!

The same lioness killed a baby buffalo separated from its mother!!!

A herd of circa500 buffalo surrounded us.

We would unreservedly recommend this to anyone" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Family H
Surrey

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2008
"A really well run camp with excellent staff members all of whom had a great sense of humour!

At the time of our visit the riverboat was out of action which was very dissappointing.

If it had not been for the quality of the guide (George) and tracker (Barouti) it is arguable that the gamedrives may have become slightly repetitive." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 241-250 of 269
95%
269 reviews of Lagoon Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
218
37
10
3
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

With enthusiastic guides and trackers, Lebala – in a vast private reserve – is particularly well-placed for seeking wild dogs.


95% (199 reviews)
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

In an attractive area that is particularly rich in game between June and November, the luxurious Selinda Camp caters particularly well for photographers.


96% (67 reviews)
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau

DumaTau, in the private Linyanti Reserve, offers game drives, seasonal boat cruises and walks. Wildlife safaris here are quite seasonal, and are at their best during the height of the dry season, between June and October.


95% (52 reviews)
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

An increasingly rare find in Botswana, Linyanti Bush Camp blends relative simplicity with numerous activities and very good guiding.


90% (40 reviews)
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

The luxurious, traditional tented Selinda Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by really top notch guides in a game-rich area.


98% (29 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (25 reviews)
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

Zarafa is an exclusive camp overlooking the scenic Zibadianja Lagoon within the Selinda Reserve, a particularly game-rich area between June and early November.


100% (19 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


78% (9 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (5 reviews)
Okavango Explorers Camp

Okavango Explorers

The traditional, tented Okavango Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by great guides in a wildlife-rich area.


90% (2 reviews)
Little DumaTau

Little DumaTau

Small and sophisticated, Little DumaTau lies adjacent to its larger sibling in the private Linyanti Reserve, overlooking a beautiful lagoon.


100% (2 reviews)
Linyanti Expeditions

Linyanti Expeditions

Tip-top guiding. In tune with the habitat. Down-to-earth, authentic camp comfort. A place of wilderness safari harmony.


100% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Newsletter background

Stay in the know with Expert Africa

Join our newsletter. Get the latest on new camps and lodges, insights from our team, uplifting conservation stories and more...

A few more details and you're subscribed

Thanks!

Look out for your confirmation email and exciting updates in your inbox.

Take a look at our previous Bush Telegraph newsletters.
Africa