This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp

Reviews of Lagoon Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

269 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lagoon Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 66 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lagoon Camp.
Lion

91% success

Leopard

68% success

Cheetah

52% success

Wild dog

52% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

98% success

Zebra

94% success

Buffalo

83% success

Spotted Hyena

64% success

Sable antelope

50% success

Roan antelope

39% success

Brown Hyena

10% success

Pangolin

5% success

Aardvark

3% success

Showing 251-260 of 269
Duration
Arrival date
The O family
London

"Lagoon Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2008
"This was the best camp we stayed at.

The manager and all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful - and our guide, tracker and trainee guide could not have been more helpful and knowledgeable. They created a very good atmosphere, and the location is terrific. They were prepared to stay out long beyond the 'official' activity times if there was a chance of seeing a lion, leopard or wild dogs hunting. In fact, we threw the meal schedule into disarray once, but no-one minded.

They also put on a bush meal and staff dancing. The only trick they might learn from a later camp is hot water bottles on the early morning game drive! We saw a lot of game, very close - including a huge herd of buffalo, and a wild dog den, which we did not see elsewhere." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Chippenham

"Excellent predator veiws and tracking skills"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2008
"Lagoon has the advantage of wild dogs denning near to camp. Wide variety of predators and other African wildlife. The guide and spotter had excellent tracking skills and a vast knowledge of the behaviour patterns of the wildlife. The guides gave us a paticular good insight to the wild dogs in the area (the main reason for our visit) and we enjoyed the the following of the dogs on their hunt. The guides were able to track the movement of the dogs from the den when they had already left to go hunting.

We had a veiw of a cheetah and we tracked a lioness with cubs for about an hour and found her with cubs and a dead wart hog for their tea.Wild life and the camp was just the safari we wanted.

The only negative part was having our safari trip being used as a taxi to take another couple to their next camp - I beleive we lost valuable time from the lagoon team and wildlife. Would have liked to see lion.

Brlliant experiences !!! Special to see dogs on hunt and tracking location of wild dogs and lioness." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The Honey Badgers
NY

"Memorable Time at Lagoon"

2 nights Arrived 13 May 2008
"We spent two nights at Lagoon from May 13-15th with Charles as our guide and AT as tracker. The entire staff at the camp was very courteous and attentive. The rooms were well kept. At night, it gets really chilly in the room. You can hear the hippos in the lagoon outside your room the entire night. It's quite beautiful especially coming from New York, you hear cars honking and fire truck sirens, so it's a very welcomed change to hear hippos serenading you.

The game drives were very exciting. We saw a lot during this time. The guide and tracker are very active in tracking for cheetahs, lions, leopards and wild dogs. We did see lions during the afternoon snoozing but didn't catch the elusive wild dogs and cheetah though others during our time there were lucky to see them. Also, the camp gave us checklists which was a plus so I can just tick off what I saw instead of jotting down the names in my notebook.

Some negatives:
Freezing in the evenings - At Vumbura, they left "hot water bags" between the sheets that warms your bed considerably, perhaps, Lagoon can do something similar

The water in the sink goes down very slowly and the water is yellowish-brown which leaves a metallic after taste after teeth brushing.

Concerns:
The staff does seem a bit tired as I understand they work 7 weeks a day for three months straight followed by 21 days off. The guide joins you for breakfast, lunch and dinner. At Vumbura Plains, the guide didn't have to join you for brunch and dinner which I believe enables him to have a slight break and/or time to unwind." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Hampshire

"Overall best Safari at Lagoon Camp"

3 nights Arrived 11 May 2008
"Although the facilities are not as posh as the previous camp Selinda this turned out to be our favorite camp of the whole trip.

Issac the manager was also our guide with Bede our tracker, the atmosphere of the camp was exceptional, no request was too much trouble.

The game drives were tailored to our requirements including an extra long game drive to see elephants in the south concession we also walked, fished and had an evening boat ride, the camp was regularly visited by baboons and after one game drive elephant tracks were seen on the path to our tent, this was confirmed the following day when the elephant turned up whilst we were there." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Wild hunting dogs
UK

"African Hunting Dogs"

3 nights Arrived 9 May 2008
"The camp is beautifully situated on the lagoon, and it was good to enjoy the siesta on the verandah watching the hippos and crocodles. The staff here were very friendly, helpful and efficient and the food good.

Animal sightings here were plentiful and varied. Our guide, Roc, was very good, although not usually employed at this lodge. He worked extremely well with the tracker, who had been at the lodge for some years. Apart from lots of herbivores, we saw lions and cheetahs.

The highlight, though, were the African Hunting Dogs. We had been following tracks one day, without success, and then the next day a dog ran through the camp while we were having the early morning breakfast . There was a quick rush to the vehicles, and we all joined in the chase. The dogs were not at all bothered by the vehicles, and the driving skills of the guides were amazing. We had lots of sightings of dogs, and then came upon the pack just after they had killed an impala.

We were able to watch the dogs feed, then trot down to the water to drink, and then wander back into he bush to rest. We located them again in the afternoon, and stayed to watch them waking, greeting each other, and then set off to hunt again. At this point we lost them, but while we were having a sundowner by a pool, two dogs appeared at the other side of the pool, and ran round to within a few feet of us. We felt very lucky at privileged to experience the whole hunting and resting routine of these beautiful animals.

We didn't experience the boat trip - our choice - we were enjoying the safari drives too much." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs V
Cornwall

"Great camp for commited wildlife enthusiasts"

3 nights Arrived 26 Feb 2008
"The purpose of our safari at Lagoon Camp was to see wild dogs. Through the excellence of our tracker Atang and our guide "General", they turned a chance sighting into an encounter with the full pack on day one. The next day we tracked them to their well hidden resting place for more observasion and later in the day returned to follow them at hectic pace through the bush on their successful night time hunt. The dogs flushing out a pangolin during their hunt.

In all a very special experience." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Highgate

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Dec 2007
"The position of the camp on the lagoon, near the river, is very beautiful and the boat trip we made was most interesting, sadly cut short because that was the one day when we had really heavy rain. But the frogs liked it! We also liked the layout of the tents

The guides were very skilled and enthusiastic. We saw wild dogs, a leopard and we also saw the most elephants here: large groups with several babies ! This camp was also good for hippos.

We especially liked the friendly atmosphere at this camp: the waitresses came and introduced themselves and guests, managers, guides all sat down together for meals . The food was of an excellent standard. We loved the campfires where we sat at breakfast time to eat delicious porridge." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Python
Kent

"Lovely Lagoon camp!"

3 nights Arrived 26 Nov 2007
"Another lovely setting, quite serene and picturesque. Staff were very friendly and amusing.

Our first snake encounter - came across a python which was 2 metres long and moved pretty quickly!

Experienced 2 wild dog chases both of which ended in a kill right before our eyes! Exhilirating drive through the bush trying to keep up with them. KB and AT are driver and tracker kept us amused and were very knowledgeable about the flora and fauna. This was a great end to our stay in Botswana." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr S
AskhamBryan

"Wild dogs at Kwando"

3 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2007
"The highlight was a pack of 13 wild dogs and the hippos walking past the tent at night. Generally the game was plentiful.

A very well run and organised camp in a lovely setting." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana; 7n in Zanzibar; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs P
Oxon

"Amazing Kwando safaris - Lagoon camp"

3 nights Arrived 17 Nov 2007
"The camp, it's staff, the food, our guide and tracker were all very good and friendly.

Although all our guides and trackers were excellent Kaybee and Baruti (sorry may have spelt names incorrectly) stood out. We tracked three cheetahs for well over an hour and found them. Following the wild dogs on a hunt was truely amazing.

The ostrich we had one night was lovely." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 251-260 of 269
95%
269 reviews of Lagoon Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
218
37
10
3
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

With enthusiastic guides and trackers, Lebala – in a vast private reserve – is particularly well-placed for seeking wild dogs.


95% (199 reviews)
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

In an attractive area that is particularly rich in game between June and November, the luxurious Selinda Camp caters particularly well for photographers.


96% (67 reviews)
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau

DumaTau, in the private Linyanti Reserve, offers game drives, seasonal boat cruises and walks. Wildlife safaris here are quite seasonal, and are at their best during the height of the dry season, between June and October.


95% (52 reviews)
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

An increasingly rare find in Botswana, Linyanti Bush Camp blends relative simplicity with numerous activities and very good guiding.


90% (40 reviews)
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

The luxurious, traditional tented Selinda Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by really top notch guides in a game-rich area.


98% (29 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (25 reviews)
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

Zarafa is an exclusive camp overlooking the scenic Zibadianja Lagoon within the Selinda Reserve, a particularly game-rich area between June and early November.


100% (19 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


78% (9 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (5 reviews)
Okavango Explorers Camp

Okavango Explorers

The traditional, tented Okavango Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by great guides in a wildlife-rich area.


90% (2 reviews)
Little DumaTau

Little DumaTau

Small and sophisticated, Little DumaTau lies adjacent to its larger sibling in the private Linyanti Reserve, overlooking a beautiful lagoon.


100% (2 reviews)
Linyanti Expeditions

Linyanti Expeditions

Tip-top guiding. In tune with the habitat. Down-to-earth, authentic camp comfort. A place of wilderness safari harmony.


100% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Newsletter background

Stay in the know with Expert Africa

Join our newsletter. Get the latest on new camps and lodges, insights from our team, uplifting conservation stories and more...

A few more details and you're subscribed

Thanks!

Look out for your confirmation email and exciting updates in your inbox.

Take a look at our previous Bush Telegraph newsletters.
Africa