This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp

Reviews of Lagoon Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

265 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lagoon Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 62 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lagoon Camp.
Lion

90% success

Leopard

68% success

Cheetah

51% success

Wild dog

55% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

98% success

Zebra

93% success

Buffalo

84% success

Spotted Hyena

65% success

Sable antelope

54% success

Roan antelope

42% success

Brown Hyena

11% success

Pangolin

5% success

Aardvark

4% success

Showing 231-240 of 265
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B
Westerham

"Lagoon Camp review"

1 night Arrived 25 Feb 2009
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr & Mrs B
Westerham

"Lagoon Camp review"

1 night Arrived 22 Feb 2009
"After the speedboat transfer from Lianshulu which was great fun through the papyrus. Comimg ashore at the best international border ever, a small tent, an official and the Botswana flag . I think we were the only people he saw that day !

Lagoon camp was magnificent , there were only 4 guests as it was low season and grass and undergrowth so thick that in certain areas you could not see more than 5 yards . James and Dijou worked so hard in tracking and to find the Lagoon pride of wild dogs twice was amazing in totally different areas . Another highlight were the roan albeit fleetingly.

The staff were totally attentive and the food was fine . The tent was showing signs of age ,but was satisfactory." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr B
Bristol

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Feb 2009
"Thanks to a smooth transition from London/Jo'berg/Maun and the light aircraft(Moremi Air), I arrived at Lagoon camp. The wonderful 'team' of staff at Lagoon, created a harmony of professionalism, courteousness and genuine light hearted banter. This was home from home!

My guide and tracker(Dishoe and James) were incredibly motivated to find the game and their skills produced fantastic photo opportunity, when against the odds(this was the rainy/green season and the grasses were tall, hence the game so much harder to find. Both African wild hunting dog packs(Lagoon and Lebala) were found in the same day, cheetah stalking, killing and then eating a young osterich, elephant, most of the antelope and birdlife in abundance. Very good location, friendly staff and great food!

Thankyou to all concerned." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs K
Ingleton

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2008
"Lagoon is in need of upgrading, the tents are not really bug proof or water proof. We had quite a lot of rain whilst we were there which meant that the window covers had to be lowered making it very dark and even then a fair amount of water came into the tent.

Other than that we had a good time, we lost the activity on our day of arrival due to continual rain from 1500 to midnight. However we saw a cheetah kill, by three brothers, the next day and a pack of wild dogs with puppies the following day.

The management team were changed on our second day and a relief couple, Vera & Geff, took over for three weeks. I can't comment on their management ability but they were far and away the best hosts we had at any of the camps we stayed at." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs B
BC, Canada

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2008
"The tents were very tired. The zippers were annoying and didn't work very well. We were told they were going to be renovating soon which is much needed. The view over the river was lovely.

Our guide, Vendu was great and our spotter, Big Dog was great also. They both took us through the bush to see 3 cheetah killing an impala. They were both a lot of fun to spend time with.

Another highlight of our stay at Lagoon was the boat trip." See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs G
Carshalton

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2008
"BD and Rundi, our tracker and guide, were very good but as we and two others were the only guests for two of our days there was only one vehicle operating and this made finding game extremely difficult for them. We were lucky on the first evening to track 7 lions to a buffalo kill. Also we found 3 cheetah and followed them to an impala kill. Apart from that the viewing was mainly birds with a few antelope, giraffe and elephant. Or are we getting blase?

As we were packing on the last afternoon a curious elephant decided to (too) closely investigate out tent causing some damage to the shading framework. The staff were quickly on the spot." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
The Pangolins
Atlanta

"Superb experience at Lagoon Camp"

3 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2008
"Lagoon Camp was our first location on our 8 night visit to Botswana with Kwando Safaris and proved to be an excellent start to our safari. We spent three nights there in early November. The camp uses large tents located directly along the edge of a lagoon with a beautiful view of the lagoon from the tent. Although the tents were relatively close together such that you could easily hear your neighbor they otherwise felt quite private.

Our guide and tracker were both excellent and game viewing was superb with exciting lion, elephant and especially wild dog sightings during our stay. Our guide Alson (I hope that I am spelling that correctly!) was extremely knowledgeable and really proved he knew his wildlife in finding the wild dogs while our tracker Baruti had amazing skill in spotting game, especially at night. He even spotted a chameleon at night high in a tree even though it was doing its best to look like just another leaf! In addition to game drives there is the option to take a relaxing river cruise which was a nice change of pace and highly recommended if available.

Food and service was excellent during our stay and I liked how the guide and guests from each vehicle sat together at dinner so that we could discuss the day's events and plan for the following day. There was still plenty of opportunity to mingle with the other guests as it is not a large camp.

The camp has a most welcome plunge pool for the mid afternoon break and a beautiful deck overlooking the lagoon where one afternoon a pied kingfisher spent the afternoon entertaining us with a fish he had caught that was nearly as big as he was! He would try to swallow it and then smack it on a large tree branch as he apparently was trying to break it into smaller portions. This went on over the deck only a few feet away as he seemed completely unconcerned with the audience he was attracting. I still don't know if he ever succeeded in swallowing his prize!" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Berks

"brilliatn viewings"

3 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2008
"Very good trackers adn guide with extremeyl god viewings but one has to be prepared fro lots of sand adn bumping.

Dinners weer good but teh breakfast/lunch was indifferetn with limited choice and once sandwiches only as we weer laet back" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good

"Lagoon"

3 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2008
"Finally found the wild dogs. 2 different packs both with cubs.

The wildlife here is probably the most prolific in all the areas visited.

As with all the camps the staff cannot be prasied to highly." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr N
Horsmonden

"Lagoon Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2008
"Lagoon Camp must be the place to Wild Dogs in Africa. We saw three different packs and some astonishing behaviour - including a face-off with a herd of Elephants. Amazing stuff and I have seen Wild Dogs after almost twenty years of trying." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 231-240 of 265
95%
265 reviews of Lagoon Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
216
35
10
3
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

With enthusiastic guides and trackers, Lebala – in a vast private reserve – is particularly well-placed for seeking wild dogs.


95% (195 reviews)
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

In an attractive area that is particularly rich in game between June and November, the luxurious Selinda Camp caters particularly well for photographers.


96% (67 reviews)
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau

DumaTau, in the private Linyanti Reserve, offers game drives, seasonal boat cruises and walks. Wildlife safaris here are quite seasonal, and are at their best during the height of the dry season, between June and October.


95% (51 reviews)
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

An increasingly rare find in Botswana, Linyanti Bush Camp blends relative simplicity with numerous activities and very good guiding.


90% (40 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (25 reviews)
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

The luxurious, traditional tented Selinda Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by really top notch guides in a game-rich area.


98% (25 reviews)
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

Zarafa is an exclusive camp overlooking the scenic Zibadianja Lagoon within the Selinda Reserve, a particularly game-rich area between June and early November.


100% (19 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


78% (9 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (5 reviews)
Linyanti Expeditions

Linyanti Expeditions

Tip-top guiding. In tune with the habitat. Down-to-earth, authentic camp comfort. A place of wilderness safari harmony.


100% (2 reviews)
Little DumaTau

Little DumaTau

Small and sophisticated, Little DumaTau lies adjacent to its larger sibling in the private Linyanti Reserve, overlooking a beautiful lagoon.


100% (1 review)
Okavango Explorers Camp

Okavango Explorers

The traditional, tented Okavango Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by great guides in a wildlife-rich area.


80% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa