This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp

Reviews of Lagoon Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

235 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lagoon Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 32 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lagoon Camp.
Lion

97% success

Leopard

53% success

Cheetah

39% success

Wild dog

53% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

97% success

Zebra

93% success

Buffalo

77% success

Sable antelope

57% success

Spotted Hyena

55% success

Roan antelope

54% success

Brown Hyena

18% success

Pangolin

3% success

Aardvark

3% success

Showing 221-230 of 235
Duration
Arrival date
Wild hunting dogs
UK

"African Hunting Dogs"

3 nights Arrived 9 May 2008
"The camp is beautifully situated on the lagoon, and it was good to enjoy the siesta on the verandah watching the hippos and crocodles. The staff here were very friendly, helpful and efficient and the food good.

Animal sightings here were plentiful and varied. Our guide, Roc, was very good, although not usually employed at this lodge. He worked extremely well with the tracker, who had been at the lodge for some years. Apart from lots of herbivores, we saw lions and cheetahs.

The highlight, though, were the African Hunting Dogs. We had been following tracks one day, without success, and then the next day a dog ran through the camp while we were having the early morning breakfast . There was a quick rush to the vehicles, and we all joined in the chase. The dogs were not at all bothered by the vehicles, and the driving skills of the guides were amazing. We had lots of sightings of dogs, and then came upon the pack just after they had killed an impala.

We were able to watch the dogs feed, then trot down to the water to drink, and then wander back into he bush to rest. We located them again in the afternoon, and stayed to watch them waking, greeting each other, and then set off to hunt again. At this point we lost them, but while we were having a sundowner by a pool, two dogs appeared at the other side of the pool, and ran round to within a few feet of us. We felt very lucky at privileged to experience the whole hunting and resting routine of these beautiful animals.

We didn't experience the boat trip - our choice - we were enjoying the safari drives too much." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs V
Cornwall

"Great camp for commited wildlife enthusiasts"

3 nights Arrived 26 Feb 2008
"The purpose of our safari at Lagoon Camp was to see wild dogs. Through the excellence of our tracker Atang and our guide "General", they turned a chance sighting into an encounter with the full pack on day one. The next day we tracked them to their well hidden resting place for more observasion and later in the day returned to follow them at hectic pace through the bush on their successful night time hunt. The dogs flushing out a pangolin during their hunt.

In all a very special experience." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Highgate

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Dec 2007
"The position of the camp on the lagoon, near the river, is very beautiful and the boat trip we made was most interesting, sadly cut short because that was the one day when we had really heavy rain. But the frogs liked it! We also liked the layout of the tents

The guides were very skilled and enthusiastic. We saw wild dogs, a leopard and we also saw the most elephants here: large groups with several babies ! This camp was also good for hippos.

We especially liked the friendly atmosphere at this camp: the waitresses came and introduced themselves and guests, managers, guides all sat down together for meals . The food was of an excellent standard. We loved the campfires where we sat at breakfast time to eat delicious porridge." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Python
Kent

"Lovely Lagoon camp!"

3 nights Arrived 26 Nov 2007
"Another lovely setting, quite serene and picturesque. Staff were very friendly and amusing.

Our first snake encounter - came across a python which was 2 metres long and moved pretty quickly!

Experienced 2 wild dog chases both of which ended in a kill right before our eyes! Exhilirating drive through the bush trying to keep up with them. KB and AT are driver and tracker kept us amused and were very knowledgeable about the flora and fauna. This was a great end to our stay in Botswana." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr S
AskhamBryan

"Wild dogs at Kwando"

3 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2007
"The highlight was a pack of 13 wild dogs and the hippos walking past the tent at night. Generally the game was plentiful.

A very well run and organised camp in a lovely setting." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana; 7n in Zanzibar; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs P
Oxon

"Amazing Kwando safaris - Lagoon camp"

3 nights Arrived 17 Nov 2007
"The camp, it's staff, the food, our guide and tracker were all very good and friendly.

Although all our guides and trackers were excellent Kaybee and Baruti (sorry may have spelt names incorrectly) stood out. We tracked three cheetahs for well over an hour and found them. Following the wild dogs on a hunt was truely amazing.

The ostrich we had one night was lovely." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms Grey Lourie
UK

"Fabulous experience at Kwando Lagoon"

2 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2007
"The Kwando Lagoon Camp experience was amazing - albeit unbelievably expensive.

Overall this was one of the highlights of our trip and we would most definitely visit again (once we have saved up more money or robbed a bank !!)" See all these reviews: 3n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Spotted wildcats
UK

"Kwando Lagoon"

3 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2007
"The Kwando ethos seems to be primarily about the wildlife. The game here was brilliant, first afternoon yielded wild dog interaction with a Hyena and a Leopard on a kill, surprisingly these standards were kept up.

The tracker/guide system employed provides results, combined with the willingness to drive off roads for long periods give you the best chance of good wildlife experiences not just sightings.

Camp facilities whilst very good, are not quite to the same level. There are plusher camps in existence, this is reflected in relatively small tents compared to some and a camp that is quite compact.

Food of good quality, frequent and generous!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mrs C & Family
Herts

"Lagoon Camp"

2 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2007
"Great rooms for us and the kids which connected with a super view.

The game drives were very good with enthusiastic guides and trackers" See all these reviews: 4n in Botswana; 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Dr D
Berkshire

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2007
"Very well organised , focused on viewing animals. Saw a wild dog pack resting and hunting.

Boat wasn't working while we were there but it didn't matter to us." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 221-230 of 235
95%
235 reviews of Lagoon Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
189
33
9
3
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

With enthusiastic guides and trackers, Lebala – in a vast private reserve – is a particularly good camp for seeking wild dogs..


95% (179 reviews)
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

In an attractive area that is particularly rich in game between June and November, the luxurious Selinda Camp caters particularly well for photographers.


96% (66 reviews)
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau

DumaTau, in the private Linyanti Reserve, offers game drives, seasonal boat cruises and walks. Wildlife safaris here are quite seasonal, and are at their best during the height of the dry season, between June and October.


95% (48 reviews)
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

An increasingly rare find in Botswana, Linyanti Bush Camp blends relative simplicity with numerous activities and very good guiding.


89% (38 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (26 reviews)
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

The luxurious, traditional tented Selinda Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by really top notch guides in a game-rich area.


97% (18 reviews)
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

Zarafa is an exclusive camp overlooking the scenic Zibadianja Lagoon within the Selinda Reserve, a particularly game-rich area between June and early November.


100% (17 reviews)
Motswiri Camp

Motswiri Camp

Motswiri is a super little camp with just five tents, each overlooking the Selinda Spillway. Come especially for walking, birdwatching, canoeing and horseriding safaris.


99% (16 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


75% (8 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (6 reviews)
Selinda Adventure Trail

Selinda Adventure Trail

The Selinda Adventure Trail offers a novel and tranquil way to travel through part of Botswana's pristine wilderness whilst staying in comfortable fly-camps and led by a knowledgeable guide.


100% (4 reviews)
Little Motswiri

Little Motswiri

A simple and remote satellite camp, Little Motswiri focuses on non-motorised activities, particularly walking and horseriding. It enables guests to explore 120,000 acres of private wilderness around the Selinda Spillway.


100% (1 review)
Footsteps across the Linyanti

Footsteps across Linyanti

Footsteps Across the Linyanti is the only true mobile walking safari we know of in Botswana. Explore a wild and remote wilderness on foot with a knowledgeable guide.


40% (1 review)
Linyanti Expeditions
No reviews yet
Okavango Explorers Camp

Okavango Explorers

The traditional, tented Okavango Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by great guides in a wildlife-rich area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa