This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp

Reviews of Lebala Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

174 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lebala Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lebala Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

14% success

Wild dog

57% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

93% success

Hippo

91% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Roan antelope

38% success

Sable antelope

38% success

Brown Hyena

13% success

Pangolin

8% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 111-120 of 174
Duration
Arrival date
Dr R & Mrs C
France

"We loved staying here"

2 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2011
"Having arrived here from Lagoon Camp, we were happy to find accommodation which was just as good and in another beautiful setting. Food was great and staff couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable.

Very good game viewing with Alex. He is very knowledgeable and obviously loves his job. He gave us lots of information on everything we saw and was able to answer all our questions." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss R
Kent

"Lebala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2011
"After having such a fantastic experience i was concerned that Lebala would not be as good. However, it was every bit as good.

Guide Alex and tracker Julius showed enormous forbearance in the face of a well meaning American who insisted we went back to look at some tracks she had seen, as she thought they were Wild Dog. Alex identified them as avian, and she asked him if he was sure! We did find the dogs though; the highlight of the trip. Both guiding and tracking were of a high standard.

Lying in bed in the middle of the night, listening to an elephant chomping on something just outside, is a real priviledge.
" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Nevada

"Lebala camp"

3 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2011
"Lebala camp was also very nice. We had a max of 4 people in our car and occasionally just the 2 of us. Our guide and tracker, Alex and Shooze, were excellent. The tracker and guide system seemed to work really well. We were lucky enough to see the wild dogs and their 9 puppies on a kill. We also saw a leopard very close up. They definitely tried their best to do whatever they could to make us happy.

I liked the open trucks much better than the covered trucks, despite getting mildly wet and a little bit hotter. The trucks at Lebala are pretty old, but I probably would not have noticed, if we had not gone to Kwara next. They apparently will be replaced at some time in the future. The camp is in a beautiful location.

The only problem at Lebala was that a trophy hunter stayed in the camp the first night we were there. He had chartered a helicopter to hunt in Zimbabwe. We are in a current battle in the states with trophy hunters, so the last thing I wanted to hear on my vacation were hunting stories about animlas I would love to see in the wild. I understand that Botswana and the other African countries probably still need hunting revenue to help with consevervation (kill to conserve, the lesser of two evils) and there are concessions in Botswana which allow hunting, but it really ruined my first night there and would have ruined the rest, if he had not left.

I preferred the open trucks with Kwando and really enjoyed our drivers and trackers at both camps, but I don't think I can return to Kwando camps if there is even a small chance hunters will be in the camps. I do not agree with multipurpose camps. It is way too depressing." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D
Witney

"Lebala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2011
"The transfer from Jo'burg through Maun to Lebala worked as planned.

The staff at Lebala were all delightful and very helpful; special praise should go to our guide Tabu and to the Manager, Obi and Oscar. The facilities were excellent although the need for some minor repairs was evident and being addressed.

We saw Lion, Leopard, Elephant, Giraffe, Hippos and many birds and we got closer to the game here than at any other camp. Judy was especially impressed by the efforts the cooks made to provide her with fat-free food - including her own muffins for breakfast and exclusive dishes at other meals." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs GJ
Chester

"Hippos galore at Lebala"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2011
"We certainly had an exciting start to our stay at Lebala. As we were being guided back to our tent on the first night, we were half way along the open path to the tents when we came to realise that there were hippos on both sides of us looming in the dark. Some very careful, quiet and decisive footwork and we all reached our tents safely, but it made us realise just how cautious you need to be, especially after dark.

Having water on three sides, the camp is very open and during our stay many hippos came out to graze around the tents at night. Don't expect to get a quiet night's sleep as they make the most amazing range of noises, but it's great to listen to them. Being woken in the dark by the deep rumble of an elephant only just the other side of the canvas was really amazing, if slightly scary!

The rooms/tents are very spacious, stylish, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The only slight down-side is that all the walls are made from strong fly-screening material, with just thin curtains that are pulled around some of the walls at night. Whilst this is very pleasant in the day (and probably excellent when it's hot in the summer), I did feel that it gave less privacy when the light is on at night and when the temperature drops significantly at night, it can feel quite draughty.
" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr O
Washington DC

"Lebala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2011
"If I could give Lebala an Excellent Plus, I would. This tent camp, set in a more savannah type setting, was luxurious. The so called tents were really more like five star hotel rooms.

The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful.The food was great and plentiful and there were lots of fruits and vegetables, which I appreciated. I celebrated my birthday at this camp and the staff bent over backwards to give me a real birthday surprise!

Our guide was Charles, the camp manager. He was unbelievably great! So knowledgeable and friendly and bold! He got us closer to the animals than any other guide. He drove hours out of the way so that we could see the wild dogs that were resting after a hunt at another camp. We saw herds of elephants, zebras, an enormous pride of lions and giraffes, zebra and cheetas. And we were so close to them that our pictures are National Geographic quality! Our entire trip to Africa was amazing, but we will always hold a special place in our hearts for Lebala." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 3n in South Africa; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs I
NZ

"Lebala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 21 May 2011
"Lebala was wonderful too. Our guide Thabo was great and the staff were just amazing.

I had my birthday there and they made it into a very discreet but lovely celebration. Loved the hippos around and we saw lots of wildlife and great birds.

Unsuccessful leopard hunt!! but we did see the Cheetahs!!" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr S
Oxford

"Luxurious Lebala."

2 nights Arrived 10 May 2011
"Stunning lodge, amazing views and wonderful accomodation.

Although this was our fourth and final camp experience, our guide, Hector was able to share a wealth of interesting new information and knowledge which kept the whole experience fresh." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr T
Oxford

"good game drive safari"

2 nights Arrived 10 May 2011
"Welcomed warmly when we arrived. Tent was very elegant but bed infested with ants on arrival and no water.

Both issues sorted out fairly quickly.

Helpful staff and interesting game drives" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Darley

"We loved Lebala"

3 nights Arrived 7 May 2011
"This was the best run camp we stayed in due to the superb management of Charles.

From our point of view the Night Drives went on about an hour too long( our age??)
The vehicles had seen better days, but we think they were getting new ones" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 111-120 of 174
95%
174 reviews of Lebala Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
138
31
5
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

Within the vast Kwando Reserve, renowned for its wild dogs, Lagoon Camp offers excellent game viewing that focuses on predators.


94% (229 reviews)
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

In an attractive area that is particularly rich in game between June and November, the luxurious Selinda Camp caters particularly well for photographers.


96% (66 reviews)
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau

DumaTau, in the private Linyanti Reserve, offers game drives, seasonal boat cruises and walks. Wildlife safaris here are quite seasonal, and are at their best during the height of the dry season, between June and October.


95% (47 reviews)
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

An increasingly rare find in Botswana, Linyanti Bush Camp blends relative simplicity with numerous activities and very good guiding.


89% (38 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (26 reviews)
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

The luxurious, traditional tented Selinda Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by really top notch guides in a game-rich area.


96% (17 reviews)
Motswiri Camp

Motswiri Camp

Motswiri is a super little camp with just five tents, each overlooking the Selinda Spillway. Come especially for walking, birdwatching, canoeing and horseriding safaris.


99% (16 reviews)
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

Zarafa is an exclusive camp overlooking the scenic Zibadianja Lagoon within the Selinda Reserve, a particularly game-rich area between June and early November.


100% (13 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


71% (7 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (6 reviews)
Selinda Adventure Trail

Selinda Adventure Trail

The Selinda Adventure Trail offers a novel and tranquil way to travel through part of Botswana's pristine wilderness whilst staying in comfortable fly-camps and led by a knowledgeable guide.


100% (4 reviews)
Little Motswiri

Little Motswiri

A simple and remote satellite camp, Little Motswiri focuses on non-motorised activities, particularly walking and horseriding. It enables guests to explore 120,000 acres of private wilderness around the Selinda Spillway.


100% (1 review)
Footsteps across the Linyanti

Footsteps across Linyanti

Footsteps Across the Linyanti is the only true mobile walking safari we know of in Botswana. Explore a wild and remote wilderness on foot with a knowledgeable guide.


40% (1 review)
Linyanti Expeditions
No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa