This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp

Reviews of Lebala Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

174 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lebala Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lebala Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

14% success

Wild dog

57% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

93% success

Hippo

91% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Roan antelope

38% success

Sable antelope

38% success

Brown Hyena

13% success

Pangolin

8% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 121-130 of 174
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs & Mr D
California

"Lebala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2010
"Lebala was a perfect place to start our Botswana experience. Staff met us at the entry bridge with a refreshing drink, described how each day would flow, and escorted us to our tent for a several-hour siesta -- much welcomed after 2 nights on an airplane.

Their food was delicious and drinks were self-serve whenever we wanted. The gift shop features very nice motswana-made items. Game driver and outrider (perched on a seat just over the front left tire) made a superb team. These guys must be part eagle; their eyesight is quite amazing. Each tent includes bug spray both for body and for room space, and the outdoor shower was a delight. All the staff deserve a good review. They even invited me to radio them from our next camp so they could sing Happy Birthday to me over the radio!

Nights were full of animal noises, notably hippo grazing our lawn, glistening in the moonlight. For this I am happy to wake up and then look up to be awed by the vast richness of the African night sky.

We found the afternoon game drive lasting up to about 8pm followed by supper at 8:15/8:30 was a bit late and unproductive in terms of game spotting or viewing though being out in the fresh delta air is a wonderful thing. While our fellow camp guests provided very free and stimulating conversation during and after meals, we found ourselves heading down the path to bed right after eating because we were tired, thus going to bed with full tummies instead of having time for food to digest a bit. However, I understand that sometimes we had to be out late just to return from the far-flung corners of the Lebala concession where the guys had spotted big cats.

If it were up to Jim and me, we'd be heading out on game drives by 3:30, back in camp by 7 pm, eating by 7:30, and having time around the 'bush TV' (fire pit) for an hour before going off to tents. Other than this small schedule suggestion we absolutely loved Lebala and would certainly go back." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Hants

"Nice camp"

4 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2010
"We enjoyed our 4 nights at Lebala. Game wasn't always very plentiful - the guide (Hector) explained that movement of game has been different in the last couple of years since the Selinda Spillway has started flowing again. We had a similar experience in 2009 at Selinda. The good news at Lebala was that although the game was at times sparse, the individual sightings helped make up for that. We saw a coalition of 3 cheetah brothers who were wonderful, baby jackals, young lion cubs, hyena with a kill and a beautiful male leopard.

The rooms and public areas at the camp are nice but nowhere near as smart or polished as the WIlderness Camps that we stayed at. The tents are large but a little too close to each other for our liking. If your neighbours talked at even normal volume, you could hear them! We would have preferred a mosquito net around the bed as at other camps, especially as Lebala has a lot of mosquitos. The tents were not quite as clean and well maintained at other camps - small points but wobbly sinks, sticking sliding doors etc.

The staff were very good - friendly, helpful and willing to chat. They seem to be keen to keep vehicles as full as possible - we had 6 in our vehicle for much of our stay. This was a squeeze because the vehicles only have 2 rows of 3 spaces. Given that the camp was not full when we had a car of 6, we weren't sure why they didn't spread us out a bit as has happened at other camps.

Food was good, mostly quite simple but filling. Catering staff were lovely and always keen to chat which was nice.

Overall, we enjoyed Lebala - being outside in a lovely setting and seeing birds and animals was what we were there for and we weren't disappointed. Given the choice, we would probably choose to go to Selinda if we were in the area again because (though more expensive) it was a much nicer camp in our opinion. We've been a bit spoilt by our experiences at Wilderness Camps I think. Other guests who were only visiting Kwando Safari camps thought Lebala was fantastic and luxurious in comparison to what they'd experienced." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Lincoln

"Lebala Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2010
"We did not find this camp as friendly as the other two.

The driver and tracker were very good and we had good game viewing. The food and drink were excellent considering this is a bush camp.

The tent should have been the best since it was newer and more spacious that at other camps and more luxuriously furnished. However, from the outset there was a strong smell of the gas used to heat the immersion heater pervading the tent and outside on the veranda as well. This was rather a worry and not very pleasant to wake up to in the night.

The immersion heater did not work properly and so it was never possible to have a shower during our stay which thankfully was only 2 days. We did report the gas and heater problems twice to the manageress but although she said she would get someone to look at them nothing seemed to change. While we were ther another tent had continual problems with their electricity as the batteries kept failing.

While we had a good time here the shortcomings rather spoiled our stay." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Twickenham

"Lebala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2010
"Good that we did this one first. We spent hours scouring burnt wasteland seeing nothing, I heard one estimate that 60% of the concession was burnt like this. 3 days was too long here and it would have been better to know this up front and reconfigure the holiday.

Guiding was good and camp very pleasant.
Rooms excellent. Wonderful lying in bed watching hippos munching their way past.
Central area and dining arrangements very convivial.
Good for birding and elephants but very quiet overall, even guides admitted." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr M & Mrs B
Colorado

"Lebala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2010
"Lebala was an outstanding camp in terms of its warm and helpful staff, the game viewing, the guiding & tracking (really superior!) and physical accommodations. The only drawback at Lebala was the food, which we would rate as OK.

Meanwhile, Dux (our guide) and Bowman (sp?) (our tracker) made every game drive fun—there's no other way to say it—bottom line, they were outstanding! It was most apparent the entire staff wanted us to enjoy the experience and we would recommend this camp to anyone in spite of what we would call marginal food." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Herts

"Honeymoon at Lebala"

2 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2010
"Our first safari camp was an experience to remember with Lebala's amazing location and wildlife.

Thabo & Bowman were excellent guides and we highly recommend them.

You will be well looked after at Lebala and would recommend it as part of a camp-hopping journey. The balance of (relative) creature comforts in the rooms with the communal eating led to a relaxed and friendly experience." See all these reviews: 6n in Mozambique; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs W
Leics

"Mind blowing experiences we will not forget"

4 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2010
"This was our first proper safari camp. Our guide - Dux, and tracker - Mopame were so passionate about the animals and wild life. Nothing was too much trouble for them. If there was something to be seen they would take us there no matter how long it took. We saw wild dogs, lions, cheetahs, etc, etc the list could go on. The only one to elude us was leopard (not for wont of trying).

I will never forget our tent being surrounded by about 7 or 8 elephants one night just the other side of the mosquito net - unbelievable!" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr D & Ms J
Botswana

"Lovely Lebala"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2010
"We would recommend Lebala for a luxury safari and a different range of animals than at our other location, Kwara.

Both are part of Kwando safaris who are a top, top safari outift." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
London

"Lebala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 22 May 2010
"Guides Hector and Mapone were excellent, knowledgable, the best communicators of our trip and were great fun to be with. They worked very well together as a team. Our only reservation is that 6 guests to a vehicle looks cramped - we were lucky and only had 4, which was fine.

This was certainly a smart camp but we found the brown tap water, with the distinctive iron smell, here and at Kwara, off-putting - this didn't happen at Xakanaxa.

We enjoyed taking our meals with the guides, campfire stories, etc. It quickly produced a friendly and inclusive atmosphere which added to our experience." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Three
Manchester

"Lebala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Apr 2010
"Lebala is a lovely camp, with very dedicated guides and welcoming camp staff. The accomdation is of a high standard and the game drives flexible and professional.

There are not many "cats" at Lebala, however, we were lucky enough to get a world class sighting of a leopard over several days and view the Lagoon pack of wild dogs during a hunt.

Overall an excellent experience considering we travelled during green season, which isn't the best time to visit Lebala. Bali and PD our guide and tracker were great and Charles runs the camp manager runs the camp beautifully." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 121-130 of 174
95%
174 reviews of Lebala Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
138
31
5
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

Within the vast Kwando Reserve, renowned for its wild dogs, Lagoon Camp offers excellent game viewing that focuses on predators.


94% (229 reviews)
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

In an attractive area that is particularly rich in game between June and November, the luxurious Selinda Camp caters particularly well for photographers.


96% (66 reviews)
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau

DumaTau, in the private Linyanti Reserve, offers game drives, seasonal boat cruises and walks. Wildlife safaris here are quite seasonal, and are at their best during the height of the dry season, between June and October.


95% (47 reviews)
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

An increasingly rare find in Botswana, Linyanti Bush Camp blends relative simplicity with numerous activities and very good guiding.


89% (38 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (26 reviews)
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

The luxurious, traditional tented Selinda Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by really top notch guides in a game-rich area.


96% (17 reviews)
Motswiri Camp

Motswiri Camp

Motswiri is a super little camp with just five tents, each overlooking the Selinda Spillway. Come especially for walking, birdwatching, canoeing and horseriding safaris.


99% (16 reviews)
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

Zarafa is an exclusive camp overlooking the scenic Zibadianja Lagoon within the Selinda Reserve, a particularly game-rich area between June and early November.


100% (13 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


71% (7 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (6 reviews)
Selinda Adventure Trail

Selinda Adventure Trail

The Selinda Adventure Trail offers a novel and tranquil way to travel through part of Botswana's pristine wilderness whilst staying in comfortable fly-camps and led by a knowledgeable guide.


100% (4 reviews)
Little Motswiri

Little Motswiri

A simple and remote satellite camp, Little Motswiri focuses on non-motorised activities, particularly walking and horseriding. It enables guests to explore 120,000 acres of private wilderness around the Selinda Spillway.


100% (1 review)
Footsteps across the Linyanti

Footsteps across Linyanti

Footsteps Across the Linyanti is the only true mobile walking safari we know of in Botswana. Explore a wild and remote wilderness on foot with a knowledgeable guide.


40% (1 review)
Linyanti Expeditions
No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa