This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp

Reviews of Lebala Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

174 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lebala Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lebala Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

14% success

Wild dog

57% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

93% success

Hippo

91% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Roan antelope

38% success

Sable antelope

38% success

Brown Hyena

13% success

Pangolin

8% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 131-140 of 174
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs P
Waterloovi

"lebala"

2 nights Arrived 6 Apr 2010
"outstanding in every way, superb location great rooms and fantastic staff

wild dogs were observed on 3 out of 4 game drives including a successful hunt, there must be at least a 90% chance of seeing these fantastic animals at close quarters. other game was also excellent with leopard sighting being another high" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Bucks

"Lebala Camp feedback"

2 nights Arrived 28 Feb 2010
"Lebala is a great camp. We had a good time here, the staff were excellent.

Our guide Tshabo was very good and a wonderful driver. He definitely earned the best driver award for his gentle and consistent driving. He had excellent knowledge about the animals we were seeing and took us to some great spots for good photographic opportunities. We also had one drive with Dutch, who again was very good and knowledgeable about all we were seeing.

The lack of power to the rooms for charging batteries could prove inconvenient, as they need to be charged in the office. The rooms were wonderful, the only downside to the location was the mosquitoes, but despite the discomfort, it is a wonderful camp to stay at with great staff." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr B
Bristol

"Lebala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jan 2010
"Lebala, lebala, lebala- so good is the accommodation, the food and the staff.

You will see the African wild hunting dogs here between Lagoon (pack of 18), and the Lebala(pack of 6). Good leopard sightings and excellent for the 3 dominant Cheetah brothers.

Giraffe and elephants in abundance. No lion, but many hyena here. Friendly, cheerful staff and super food. Entertainment, African dancing and singing to top off what was the perfect 3 nights here.

Thank you to all concerned." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr N & Ms S
Zambia

"Lush Linyanti"

3 nights Arrived 11 Dec 2009
"This was our second visit to Lebala; our first was in September 2008 so a December stay offered a fascinating contrast in greenness (one of our main aims). It is a great location for animals but rainy season vegetation can have its downsides when it comes to spotting. So we must commend highly our guides, Spencer and PD who consistently found plentiful mammals and great birds (the Coqui Francolin was a particualr highlight).

Spencer, of course, has long been recognised as a top-notch guide, and rightly so; PD is an excellent partner for him and between them they make a truly exceptional team, both professionally and in terms of their personalities. It was also good to see Thabo and Julius again, whom we know to be of similar calibre. We were particularly pleased with the tracking efforts of all four, which yielded some quality time with the painted dogs.

Organisation and hospitality in the camp were also good under the guidance of Nicky and Hermeena; we were especially impressed by the speed with which everything was righted and dinner put on the table on time and to order after a particularly violent storm early one evening had reeked a certain amount of havoc.

All in all, well worth the return visit." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Ms H
Kensington

"luxurious Lebala Camp"

3 nights Arrived 23 Nov 2009
"Lebla was recently totally renovated and is now extremely luxurious and set in a very beutiful location betwen two small rivers.

The tents are in fact huge wooden framed "bungalows" with electricity, free standing baths, separate WCs etc etc

The food was amazing with fresh asparagus and other delicacies!!

Most memorable by far was the staff who were beyond charming and helpful and made it feel like a privte house party hosted by the most charming host and hostess you could hope to find. Nothing was too much trouble." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Shropshire

"Lebala Camp Return"

3 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2009
"We were welcomed back by our tracker from last year (Bowman), our driver/guide Tahbo and by Nature at the camp.

I can't think of anything to add to what was said last year as we had a great time again with loads of different birds (lucklily the only other person on our vehicle was also into birds so everything went well with no conflicts of interest). The Carmine Bee-Eaters were execptional as was the leopard we came across whilst birding.

During one game drive (looking for birds!) we came across a herd of elephants who took an instant dislike to us and chased us down the road - a bit scary.

The accomodation and food were both excellent. The mossies were a bit of a problem one night after a terrific thunderstorm hit the camp. This must rate as one of our favourite camps in Botswana." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Warks

"Visit to Lebala Camp"

3 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2009
"We had 3 nights at Lebala Camp in November 2009 - our last camp of 3 on this trip. The communal camp facilities (lounge and dining areas, plunge pool, bar) were excellent and our 'cabin' was enormous and luxurious. It came with a super large king size bed, easy chairs/settee with coffee tables, desk and stools, free standing bath, two wash basins, WC and 2 outdoor showers. On the deck outside were two deckchairs where we could relax and enjoy the view.

The camp was the largest of the 3 we visited and felt a little less 'personal' than the others, although everyone was very friendly and helpful. The food was good without being outstanding but attention to detail in the catering department was sometimes a little lax, with items running out and not being replaced. There was a somewhat inflexible attitude as well, for example we were told that we could only do a walk if the other people in our 'group' (this was a group that was imposed on us!) agreed to walk. Luckily they agreed, as we had specifically asked for guided walks when booking and would have been unhappy not to be able to do so.

The guiding/tracking was excellent - Spencer and Simon were very knowledgable and good company. We had game drives and a guided walk with them and enjoyed every minute. Game viewing was excellent - including elephant, wild dogs, impala, kudu, reedbuck, giraffe, hyena, hippo, zebra, ostrich, red lechwe, warthog, waterbuck, wildebeest, steenbok, water monitor and slender mongoose. Birds too were fabulous - far too may to list, but we were very happy to see such a variety.

I would echo other peoples' comments on the vehicles - we would have preferred a roof (especially in 38 degrees and/or torrential rain) and can see no advantage in not having one, also if there are 6 people in one vehicle (most we had is 5) it would be pretty cramped.

We enjoyed Lebala Camp, but not as much as the other camps we visited in Botswana." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G & Ms N
London

"kwando flagship camp"

2 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2009
"Thabu was our guide at Lebala and was terrific - knowledgable and enthusiastic.The lynyanti pack of dogs were in town for the duration of our stay and so made for exciting game drives with some terrific dog / hyena interaction and tabu was quite prepared to stay out and get the best of it

The communal areas and tents are all very spacious and luxurious with great decks and views. The food was simple wholesome and tasty.

A few nigly points that ought to be sorted out - there always seems to be a high turnover of management and relief management between camps at kwando and this does leave gaps in the service if you are caught in the transition.

An example of this was as follows -

we got caught a long way from camp after sunset in a ferocious storm - our vehicle then broke down and took a further 30 mins to be rescued - then a further 30 mins back to camp - with the storm raging the whole time - this is africa - you get storms and vehicles break down - that is not the issue - the issue is on return to camp we were wet through and very cold - there was no-one on hand just to hand out some towels - there was no-one around to walk us back to our tents - ( we had to wait 10 mins for our guide Thabu to re-appear and take us ) - and despite informing the camp before we left that our electrics had failed and requesting kerosene lamps and / or candles as a back up in case they went again or couldnt be fixed - neither was actioned - so very difficult in the pitch dark soaked through to get dry and change ! - this was poor preparation and organisation by a camp of this standard- just when you needed a bit extra - it simply wasnt there - dissapointing.

we were going on up to lagoon after our stay at lebala - and despite at first being told thabu would come with us this did not happen - the guides in lagoon were also first class - but it would have been nice to have had the opportunity to have had the benefit of longer with one guide - which we know from previous visits is possible - especially as we were travelling with friends and had our own vehicle

we will return but please kwando put candles lamps or a back up torch in the rooms and sort out your management and guide logistics better - you have some fantastic people but they are being being undersold by too much chopping and changing and a little more attention when things deviate from the normal.

As lebala is kwandos flagship camp i will make a general comment about kwandos uri vehicles here.They are in our opinion ( and it seems the many others who have made similar observations ) inferior in nearly every respect to virtually every other camp / operator in botswana who use either specially adapted toyotas or landrovers. The vehicles are especially cramped when there are more than 4 to a vehicle - there is no rating for vehicles / equipment but if there was it would be average / poor. Any possibility of the replacement of these vehicles in the future im sure would be welcome by many." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs T
Guernsey

"Lebala Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2009
"Of the three camps that we visited, (Kwara, Lagoon and Lebala), the tracker and guide that were with us "OC and PD" were the best. Their knowledge and bushcraft were like a form of magic. We would tell them what we were looking for and they would try their upmost to find it. If the animals were not in the area, they could always find an excellent alternative.

Unfortunately at the time of our visit there were only two other guests present, and also there was a change of management staff taking place.

Somehow this made the camp seem more corporate and formal than the other camps when we were on site. We thought the accomodation was luxurious, but somehow excessive for our requirements - this is a personal choice. (Not true of the showers which were most welcome after the gamedrives).

One of the outgoing managers (Phoebe?) lectured the guests one evening - intimating that we should take more interest in the culture of Botswana and not just the animals. This was politely tolerated. However at the other two camps there was a very informal exchange of information between the staff and guests and many cultural topics and this is a much better format of exchange than any artificial cultural show.

One of the incoming managers, Charles was first class and is a great people person who always had great stories and was a "fountain of knowledge". We wish him well.

Wildlife score: * * * *" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The R family
Berks

"Lebala Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2009
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 131-140 of 174
95%
174 reviews of Lebala Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
138
31
5
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

Within the vast Kwando Reserve, renowned for its wild dogs, Lagoon Camp offers excellent game viewing that focuses on predators.


94% (229 reviews)
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

In an attractive area that is particularly rich in game between June and November, the luxurious Selinda Camp caters particularly well for photographers.


96% (66 reviews)
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau

DumaTau, in the private Linyanti Reserve, offers game drives, seasonal boat cruises and walks. Wildlife safaris here are quite seasonal, and are at their best during the height of the dry season, between June and October.


95% (47 reviews)
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

An increasingly rare find in Botswana, Linyanti Bush Camp blends relative simplicity with numerous activities and very good guiding.


89% (38 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (26 reviews)
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

The luxurious, traditional tented Selinda Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by really top notch guides in a game-rich area.


96% (17 reviews)
Motswiri Camp

Motswiri Camp

Motswiri is a super little camp with just five tents, each overlooking the Selinda Spillway. Come especially for walking, birdwatching, canoeing and horseriding safaris.


99% (16 reviews)
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

Zarafa is an exclusive camp overlooking the scenic Zibadianja Lagoon within the Selinda Reserve, a particularly game-rich area between June and early November.


100% (13 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


71% (7 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (6 reviews)
Selinda Adventure Trail

Selinda Adventure Trail

The Selinda Adventure Trail offers a novel and tranquil way to travel through part of Botswana's pristine wilderness whilst staying in comfortable fly-camps and led by a knowledgeable guide.


100% (4 reviews)
Little Motswiri

Little Motswiri

A simple and remote satellite camp, Little Motswiri focuses on non-motorised activities, particularly walking and horseriding. It enables guests to explore 120,000 acres of private wilderness around the Selinda Spillway.


100% (1 review)
Footsteps across the Linyanti

Footsteps across Linyanti

Footsteps Across the Linyanti is the only true mobile walking safari we know of in Botswana. Explore a wild and remote wilderness on foot with a knowledgeable guide.


40% (1 review)
Linyanti Expeditions
No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa