This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp

Reviews of Selinda Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

66 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Selinda Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Selinda Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

33% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Roan antelope

67% success

Spotted Hyena

67% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 51-60 of 66
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs W
Herts

"Selinda Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 23 May 2009
"Selinda was another great camp located on the spillway and offered walking safaris and boating safari which were nice change of pace from the typical 4x4 safari. More great game viewing and the location was fantastic.

The food was good, not great like the other camps though we did get treated to a private dinner on our verenda overlooking the spillway.

It was very romantic and a total surprise." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K & Mrs T
Germany

"Selinda Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 20 May 2009
"Overall luxurious, very well organised, management and staff very competent and genuinely friendly. Food and service receive the highest notes from us. One really feels the complete personnel is proud to work at Selinda.

Our guide, Mots, he was very knowledgeable and enthusiastistic. All other guides appeared to be as well.

We were most satisfied for our stay there!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Berks

"extremely good altogether"

3 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2008
"Very difficult to find anythign at all to crtiicise - all very well organsied with an extremely hihg and consistetn stadnard. The camp provse thta very high standadr aer possible adn can be maintained.

good game viewings and covered cars were much appreciated" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Honey badgers
France

"Selinda Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2008
"A fantastically well located and beautiful camp with a very beautiful view. Beautiful rooms with gorgeous bathrooms en suite, yet not over the top.

Very nice personnel beautiful bush dining etc. Excellent lodge!" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr Wildebeest
UK

"Selinda Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 May 2008
"See earlier remarks and scores." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Dr Wildebeest
UK

"Selinda Camp review"

1 night Arrived 23 May 2008
"Our comments cover all 3 nights spent at Selinda. It was amazing to be beside a pool as the sun went down with a hippo coming out of the water and wild dogs passing in the gloom as they went to join the rest of the pack two of whom were calling: an experience we'll never forget. Africa wow!

Again all staff were very friendly and helpful." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
W Sussex

"Selinda Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 12 May 2008
"Selinda was really good. We were delighted that we had the Honeymoon Suite...it was more private than the other tents and had wonderful views of the plains over the spillway - elephant and buffalo in long lines crossing the plains.

The tents were luxurious and spacious and furnishings and decoration throughout were beautifully done. Service was unobtrusive and excellant and the staff were helpful and friendly.

We had an exceptional guide (Steve) who behaved very responsibly and was extremely knowledgeable. Game drives were very good although the game was sparse but we saw everything including leopard.

Everything was carried out with the guest's comfort in mind and every whim was catered for. The whole place had a lovely atmosphere and we were made to feel welcome and "special" like honoured guests.

We would thoroughly recommend Selinda." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 5n in Mozambique; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Hampshire

"Great start to holiday at Selinda Camp"

3 nights Arrived 8 May 2008
"A good first camp, we were made to feel very welcome and that nothing was too much trouble. On being picked up from the airstrip we were given a game drive by our guide Bebe which included sightings of wild dog, elephant, giraffe and many more, our guide was very informative to all the different species of birds and animals that we encountered.

The food was plentiful and well prepared, house keeping was also good and facilities well maintained. The game drives continued at a high level only lions weren't seen during the three day period.

When the time came to leave we were really sad, Ella made sure everyone new was introduced to all other guests which made you feel very welcome and sitting around the camp fire helped getting to know everyone and talking about their drives that day." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs V
Cornwall

"Luxury in wild surroundings"

3 nights Arrived 23 Feb 2008
"Very happy, friendly and welcoming staff.

Inspite of wet season we had very positive game viewing." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr H
Habsburg

"Selinda Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Dec 2007
"Selinda is a very nice location. However, game drives at this time of the year yiled very few sightings. At Selinda, game drives are done without a tracker, which means that the driver stays on the tracks for most of the time. Without a tracker, our guide was not very keen to track down game. It is probably much better to visit Selinda during the dry season, when game is abundant." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 51-60 of 66
96%
66 reviews of Selinda Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
54
12
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

Within the vast Kwando Reserve, renowned for its wild dogs, Lagoon Camp offers excellent game viewing that focuses on predators.


94% (229 reviews)
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

With enthusiastic guides and trackers, Lebala – in a vast private reserve – is a particularly good camp for seeking wild dogs..


95% (174 reviews)
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau

DumaTau, in the private Linyanti Reserve, offers game drives, seasonal boat cruises and walks. Wildlife safaris here are quite seasonal, and are at their best during the height of the dry season, between June and October.


95% (47 reviews)
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

An increasingly rare find in Botswana, Linyanti Bush Camp blends relative simplicity with numerous activities and very good guiding.


89% (38 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (26 reviews)
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

The luxurious, traditional tented Selinda Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by really top notch guides in a game-rich area.


96% (17 reviews)
Motswiri Camp

Motswiri Camp

Motswiri is a super little camp with just five tents, each overlooking the Selinda Spillway. Come especially for walking, birdwatching, canoeing and horseriding safaris.


99% (16 reviews)
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

Zarafa is an exclusive camp overlooking the scenic Zibadianja Lagoon within the Selinda Reserve, a particularly game-rich area between June and early November.


100% (13 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


71% (7 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (6 reviews)
Selinda Adventure Trail

Selinda Adventure Trail

The Selinda Adventure Trail offers a novel and tranquil way to travel through part of Botswana's pristine wilderness whilst staying in comfortable fly-camps and led by a knowledgeable guide.


100% (4 reviews)
Little Motswiri

Little Motswiri

A simple and remote satellite camp, Little Motswiri focuses on non-motorised activities, particularly walking and horseriding. It enables guests to explore 120,000 acres of private wilderness around the Selinda Spillway.


100% (1 review)
Footsteps across the Linyanti

Footsteps across Linyanti

Footsteps Across the Linyanti is the only true mobile walking safari we know of in Botswana. Explore a wild and remote wilderness on foot with a knowledgeable guide.


40% (1 review)
Linyanti Expeditions
No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa