This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp

Reviews of Selinda Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

66 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Selinda Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Selinda Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

33% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Roan antelope

67% success

Spotted Hyena

67% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 66
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs G
Guildford

"Selinda Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2010
"Loved every moment and we were sorry to leave!" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr L
PA

"Selinda Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2010
"The best rooms of the three lodges we stayed at with lots of character in the main lodge and gift shop. Wonderful game viewing!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Wandsworth

"Selinda Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 May 2010
"Much recomended. Our best Safari camp.

We saw an amazing selection of game on our initial ride from the air-strip to the camp.

We had a superb canoe ride. One of our game drive excursions included lunch on a boat moving along one of the waterways." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Hants

"Beautiful camp and very good guiding"

4 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2009
"Selinda is a beautiful camp in a lovely setting. The reserve is beautiful and with the river and lots of waterholes, it was very green.

Rose, Ishmael and Kea are great hosts and everything at the camp runs extremely smoothly. The staff were not in any way over-attentive but there were always people on hand to greet you with a towel (cold or hot depdning on the weather), get you a drink and check whether there was anything that you needed.

The tents were very nicely furnished and extremely clean and we really liked the semi-outdoor bathroom with its open shower and huge bath. Of the 3 places that we stayed on our trip, the tents at Selinda were our favourite. Everything felt new and fresh thanks to the refurbishment not so long ago and we appreciated the quality of the little things (towels, bed linen, toiletries) that added to our stay.

The food was excellent - good selection of cereals, pastries, toast and fruit for early breakfast; for brunches we had all manner of amazing salads, meats, cheeses, eggs cooked to order, bread and fruit; for dinner, we had a choice of main courses with set starter and dessert; the homemade cakes for afternoon tea were a particular highlight. We could not fault the food and, on our last night, they set up dinner for just the 2 of us which was lovely.

On to the important bit - guiding and wildlife. Marks was our guide and he was a nice chap as well as being very knowledgeable. There had been a heavy storm the day before we arrived and we had rain on our first day which had dispersed the game so for our first few drives we did not see many animals. That said, the bird life was amazing and we spent some happy drives learning about the birds and Marks' enthusiasm was infectious. Watching 2 eagles of entirely different species sit next to each other rain drenched on a tiny branch was very memorable.

When the sun and animals returned, there was a lot more to see including some great sightings of lewchwe, kudu, zebra, babboon and giraffe plus separate pairs of female and male lion. We looked for leopard and wilde dogs without success and the cheetah had not been seen for nearly 2 months but there was a lot of variety of other animals and we really enjoyed our drives." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Bristol

"Selinda Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2009
"This was the first camp that we visited of three, and was excellent in every way. Marks, our guide, did a brilliant job of finding wildlife to see and photograph on our game drives ( a hungry leopard hunting and stumbling across a wildcat, which lost the fight and became dinner).

We encountered a thunderstorm during our stay, which was to be expected as our holiday was at the beginning of the rainy season, but this was an adventure in itself and didn't really alter our activities." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr W & Ms E
London

"Selinda Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2009
"This was out last and the largest camp. We felt a bit swamped by the size after the previous ones, but all was extremely good." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Northants

"A lovely camp in all respects."

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2009
"This was a lovely camp in all respects. We were made very welcome and no doubt helped by some very nice guests, it felt more like we were staying as house guests than tourists.

The manager Ellie, was extremely good and did not miss a thing. Things not possible one minute, became possible once she knew what had been requested. She was also extremeley personable and by observation treated all guests as well as ourselves.

All meals were of good quality, fresh and varied with three choices for dinner (white or red meat and a vegi option). Food presentation was also good. It might be nice to have some fruit available for snacking on, but I guess thought has to be given to animals helping themselves!

On reflection, given the degreee of attentiveness, guests could be given a little more space when in the public areas at times.

There was a nice little curio shop for the ladies!

There is a socket in every tent to re-charge batteries etc which would have been useful to know in advance for cameras and the like.

Our guide, Dennis was very pleasant. The drives had a maximum of 4 people in the vehicle and on a couple of occasions just the two of us. There was no issue about safety, even when we got stuck in the sand in the dark. Help was soon at hand.

Transfers were fine, with no delays. We did have to make two stops to Chitabe and Savute after our flights to J'burg and Maun which was tiring and made our arrival at Selinda late in the afternoon with only a short time to dump our things before the first game drive. This could be improved.

I never imagined staying awake to listen to hippos telling jokes, nor did I imagine seeing animals so close to our tent.......fabulous.

The amount of game was less than I expected I think with one game drive having been really quiet. We did see lovely wild dogs and pups which were a delight to observe." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
H family
London

"Selinda Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2009
"A really well run camp - excellent attention to detail in rooms etc. Very knowledgeable and pleasant guides. Shortage of leopards!

I particularly liked the fact that each room had mammal and bird guide books, a nice touch." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr D & Ms B
Toronto

"Wild dogs and luxury"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2009
"This was our last camp in our visit to Botswana and one that really started to help us unwind. Gracious and welcoming staff and service; Ella and Ishmael were terrific. And the best food of all the camps - lots of grains, vegetables and fruits - including a very salutary bush lunch on our last day.

Our guide Steve did an admirable job in explaining the welcome changes that are happening in the Selinda area due to its unique geology and high water levels. On safari, we tracked cheetah (no luck) and wild dogs, having the opportunity to observe pack behaviour at rest and in pursuit of a kill.

At night, we were serenaded by hippos.

Lovely camp, beautiful landscape.

" See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Wokingham

"Excellent safari at Selina"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2009
"We were welcomed into the Selinda family immediately. Ella was an excellent Host who made sure that all guests were introduced and brought together.

Whilst game wasn't plentiful during our time, the anticipation was always high because Marks (our guide) was first rate. Having said that, we saw wild dogs mating, watched wild dogs chase a kudu through a large herd of elephant, saw two lionesses chasing a kudu and the same two lionesses later chasing a warthog so we were kept on our toes the whole time.

Food was fantastic at all times. The tents were comfortable and we loved having a glass of sherry (decanter in the room) whilst sharing the granite bath talking about our game viewing that day.

The only minus was the leaking hot water bottles - on one night, both bottles leaked in our bed so sleep was difficult." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 41-50 of 66
96%
66 reviews of Selinda Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
54
12
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

Within the vast Kwando Reserve, renowned for its wild dogs, Lagoon Camp offers excellent game viewing that focuses on predators.


94% (229 reviews)
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

With enthusiastic guides and trackers, Lebala – in a vast private reserve – is a particularly good camp for seeking wild dogs..


95% (174 reviews)
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau

DumaTau, in the private Linyanti Reserve, offers game drives, seasonal boat cruises and walks. Wildlife safaris here are quite seasonal, and are at their best during the height of the dry season, between June and October.


95% (47 reviews)
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

An increasingly rare find in Botswana, Linyanti Bush Camp blends relative simplicity with numerous activities and very good guiding.


89% (38 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (26 reviews)
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

The luxurious, traditional tented Selinda Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by really top notch guides in a game-rich area.


96% (17 reviews)
Motswiri Camp

Motswiri Camp

Motswiri is a super little camp with just five tents, each overlooking the Selinda Spillway. Come especially for walking, birdwatching, canoeing and horseriding safaris.


99% (16 reviews)
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

Zarafa is an exclusive camp overlooking the scenic Zibadianja Lagoon within the Selinda Reserve, a particularly game-rich area between June and early November.


100% (13 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


71% (7 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (6 reviews)
Selinda Adventure Trail

Selinda Adventure Trail

The Selinda Adventure Trail offers a novel and tranquil way to travel through part of Botswana's pristine wilderness whilst staying in comfortable fly-camps and led by a knowledgeable guide.


100% (4 reviews)
Little Motswiri

Little Motswiri

A simple and remote satellite camp, Little Motswiri focuses on non-motorised activities, particularly walking and horseriding. It enables guests to explore 120,000 acres of private wilderness around the Selinda Spillway.


100% (1 review)
Footsteps across the Linyanti

Footsteps across Linyanti

Footsteps Across the Linyanti is the only true mobile walking safari we know of in Botswana. Explore a wild and remote wilderness on foot with a knowledgeable guide.


40% (1 review)
Linyanti Expeditions
No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa