This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Offbeat Meru
Offbeat Meru
Offbeat Meru
Offbeat Meru
Offbeat Meru

Reviews of Offbeat Meru

Wildlife sightings and reviews

18 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Offbeat Meru and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-18 of 18
Duration
Arrival date
Ms M
Los Angeles

"Offbeat Meru review"

4 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2014
"Offbeat Meru is fabulous, fun and friendly!!! I can't thank the staff and manager enough for a wonderful four night stay.

Stanley, is an excellent guide and I spotted the Big Five and then some. You rarely see other vehicles so it feels very private and the game viewing is magical in Meru. It was my first visit to Kenya and Offbeat was my first stop. Needless to say I will definitely return. The tents are comfortable and the bucket showers are warm and convenient.

The staff is very knowledgeable and always had a smile for you. On several occasions we had elephant in the camp. Quite a treat to see. I also highly recommend this camp to solo travelers. You can choose to dine with other guests or have dinner brought to your tent. The pool is a nice touch on hot days." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Devon

"Indulgence camping at Offbeat Meru"

3 nights Arrived 3 Feb 2014
"A small and intimate camp sited by a stream in a reserve that in reality is an integral part of Meru - as evidenced by elephants in the camp at night, a giraffe in the day and a lion's roar at 4.00am.

The luxury and personal service are indulgent, especially given we're used to roughing it. It's a camp that might be best suited to people who have been on safari before, who can appreciate the atmosphere and individuality of the place." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Chichester

"Offbeat Meru was delightful"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2014
"We had not been to Meru since the early 1990s when the ravages of poaching were still very evident. It remains a wonderfully scenic park and we were delighted to find that the game has substantially returned.

This park's strength is that it is still off most tourists' paths. All our game drives were good for mammals and even better if you enjoy your birds. Offbeat Meru has just the atmosphere we love on safari - enthusiastic hosts, nice size, good accommodation but not ridiculously luxurious, enjoyable conversation over the dining table, delicious food and great guiding (Dominic)." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Hanwell

"Offbeat Meru"

3 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2013
"Offbeat Meru was superb. we visited in Ctober which was hot and quiet. The camp is really nice. We had one of the new tents which was wonderful and spacious. The birdlife around camp was varied and he pool was welcome. T

he staff and management were superb. Relaxed and friendly and extraordinarily well-organised. Guiding was fantastic. Dominic was great as long as you don't mind Arsenal fans. The park was good and was a great contrast to the Mara due to being so quiet.

I couldn't really recommend is place more as long as you don't mind the heat and the dust." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs V
Cornwall

"An oasis in the park"

3 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2013
"Tanyth and Sean were excellent hosts at this little oasis in the Meru National Park, which they ran with unobtrusive clock work precision to create a very relaxed camp with a lovely atmosphere.

Our guide Stanley was freindly, happy, knowledgeable and a good spotter

The pool was a delight." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Otley

"Offbeat Meru Camp"

5 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2013
"A very welcoming and well organised Camp in a lovely setting, frequented by a range of the local wildlife (giraffe, bushbuck, kudu and even a leopard, with many different birds). The atmosphere was very relaxed, flexible and informal.

The success of the camp owes a lot to the hosts and managers, Sean and Tanyth, who created and maintained the atmosphere but they were supported by a superb staff who were always enthusiastic and friendly. While the camp lacked some of the facilities of top-market camps, this was more than compensated for by the enthusiasm and friendliness of all the staff. Our driver/guide, Stanley, was ideal. He was an excellent guide and spotter while being good company and anxious to seek out whatever we wanted to see.

We enjoyed our 5 nights there so much and would love to be able to go again." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Wimborne

"Great Safari at Offbeat Meru"

3 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2013
"Camp Managers, Guides and Camp Staff were all excellent, everything was perfect. Excellent food and facilities.

Game drives were very informative and they were flexible to your needs, if you wanted to go out early or late it was not a problem. A dip in the pool was most welcome after a hot game drive." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The H family
Berks

"safari at Offbeat Meru"

3 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2013
"The camp was in a really beautiful setting and has a wonderful tranquil atmosphere. Sean and Tanitha run a really good team who all take great pride in working together to make your stay memorable and really manage to create' a house party in the bush' atmosphere.

Nothing was too much trouble, the jugs of hot water delivered for washing in the mornings and the accompanying hot drinks ordered the night before were much appreciated touches.

Our guides Dominic and Bernard were really excellent and the quality of our guides was probably the most important single factor in making our safari such a success." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-18 of 18
94%
18 reviews of Offbeat Meru by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
13
5
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Meru National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Elsa's Kopje

Elsa's Kopje

Elsa’s Kopje is the most luxurious option in Meru National Park, with unique rooms built around the natural hilltop environment, and stunning vistas in every direction


96% (11 reviews)
Rhino River Camp

Rhino River Camp

Rhino River Camp is a pleasant safari camp nestled in deep forest next to Meru National Park's rhino sanctuary.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa