This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Hakusembe River Lodge
Hakusembe River Lodge
Hakusembe River Lodge
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge


17°50’59.5"S 19°40’14.4"E

Reviews of Hakusembe Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

85 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hakusembe Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Hakusembe Lodge.
Hippo

17% success

Showing 61-70 of 85
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs A x 5
Oxon

"Hakusembe Lodge"

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2011
"We all really liked it at Hakusembe, sadly, for others, the manager of many years is about to retire. The rest of the staff were all very pleasant helpful and efficient.

4 of us had cottage rooms, and we had the 'honeymoon suite' and we were all very happy with our accommodation, we were a bit concerned about the chemical toilet in our room, but it was an unnecessary concern as it all worked very efficiently. The sunrise and sunset on the river were wonderful." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Lapini Ensemble
UK

"Hakusembe Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2011
"A good overnight stop; activities limited so I wouldn't have wanted a longer stay, but the river trip we did was very pleasant." See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
T Family
Auckland

"Hakusembe Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 22 Jun 2011
"We nearly decided to give Hakusembe a miss and continue to drive through to Etosha - but we are so glad we chose not to. Situated on the Okavango river facing Angola on the other side- this presented one of the best sun set photographs I have ever taken.

Once again - we were the only guests but nothing was too difficult. The rooms were basic but clean and as an overnight stop - perfect. The staff were helpful and friendly - always there to assist but never getting in the way

The activites included a sunset cruise but as they admitted they only had one hippo we decided against it but chose instead to go fishing. My 6 year old son caught a baby tiger fish and a 1.2kg bream - the excitment around the camp was fantastic. He was high 5'd all the way into the kitchen !!

Dinner was delicious with the opportunity to sit outside around the 'brai' as the chef cooked our steaks.

The Rundu township is worth a look as it has everything you need should you require to stock up on supplies. Shoprite has a great bakery which offers daily freshly baked breads and pastries !" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 5n in Mozambique; 4n in Zimbabwe; 2n in South Africa; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr H & Ms E
London

"Hakusembe Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 30 May 2011
"This was a nice surprise. We'd gone just for a stopover before hitting the Caprivi Strip - but this was a great little lodge. They had been badly hit by the floods this year - closed for a couple of months. We were shown the tide marks! They had worked so hard to get everything up and running again and the staff were charming and dedicated.

The rooms are pretty simple but everything is there and it works. We were promised the 'best steak in Namibia' and I think we got it! The location on the Kavango River is truly amazing - great sunsets and a chance to look across to Angola, with women washing clothes in the river on that side and working the fish traps next to the lodge here Namibia.

We wished we had been able to stay longer and explore the river and Rundu, which looks a pretty funky frontier town." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr K
Channel Islands

"Messing about in boats 1"

1 night Arrived 20 Oct 2010
"After a long days drive from Etosha you need something to look forward to and Hakusembe will not disappoint. The staff are friendly the rooms are excellent and the food is very good.

We took the river cruise which is a great way to end a hot day driving 450km." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr R & Mrs I
Devon

"Hakusembe Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 2 Oct 2010
"Only stayed one night as a stopover. Good position on Okovango but limited seating outside." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mrs L & family
Kent

"Has great potential..."

1 night Arrived 10 Sep 2010
"On reaching the lodge we saw a lovely river frontage, well kept gardens, pleasant bar and patio area. We were disappointed to find that our individual huts, looked good on the outside , but were not prepared fpr our arrival! We opened the doors to find numerous large wasps inside, the insect door netting had holes , the rear bathroom window had been left open, & the manager had to spray our rooms heavily, so it was some time before we could enter our rooms.

Staff seemed casual, but some made an effort eventually! However the river boat guide Michael was very courteous & knowledgeable.
Vegetarian meals promised but did not materialise. Food not great.

This lodge has the potential to be great, but dark rooms need updating , more care with food & general running of the place." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Ms S & Ms H
Norwood

"Very relaxing stop-over location"

1 night Arrived 2 Aug 2010
"Pleasantly surprised by the location and thoroughly enjoyed the opportunity to relax, with a view.

Rooms basic but comfortable.

Dining room a little crowded for buffet eating but food was nice. Entertaining boat trip on the river - this was our first and retrospectively least exciting, but a pleasant introduction to river life.

Sandy roads to the camp a little deep at times." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Norwich

"Hakusembe Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 26 Jul 2010
"The lodge was still recovering from the floods in May. However other than the owners dog mess that was everywhere we had a great stay.

The people were very helpful particularly in the morning as we had to renegotiate a difficult route as a bridge had been washed away." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 6n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Sheffield

"Ngandu Safari Lodge Rundu **** note change"

1 night Arrived 13 Apr 2010
"Considering this was our 3rd address in Rundu due to flooding , we were happy for 1 night, even with a barbed wire fence interrupting our view over the flooded river Kavango to Angola!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Showing 61-70 of 85
86%
85 reviews of Hakusembe Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
36
42
5
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Caprivi Strip

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu is a simple riverside lodge, with tents that are reminiscent of safaris a decade or two ago.


88% (126 reviews)
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

Beside the Kwando River, within Mudumu National Park, Lianshulu is a small safari lodge offering 4WD safaris and river trips – with particularly good birdlife.


91% (59 reviews)
Nkwazi Lodge

Nkwazi Lodge

Standards have slipped at Nkwazi Lodge in recent years which somewhat detract from its scenic location on the banks of the Kavango River.


79% (32 reviews)
Nunda River Lodge

Nunda River Lodge

NNunda River Lodge overlooks a pretty part of the Kavango River near Popa Falls and the productive Mahango National Park.


82% (26 reviews)
Camp Kwando

Camp Kwando

Near to Mudumu National Park, Camp Kwando is a comfortable and unfussy option with opportunities for game drives, boat safaris and fishing.


74% (25 reviews)
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Nkasa Lupala

Peaceful Nkasa Lupala is a comfortable lodge in a remote and little-explored area close to Nkasa Rupara National Park.


91% (24 reviews)
Ichingo Chobe River Lodge

Ichingo Chobe Lodge

Safari holiday in Namibia's Caprivi Strip, staying at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge on Impalila Island.


97% (23 reviews)
Nambwa Tented Lodge

Nambwa Tented Lodge

A beautiful safari lodge In the remote Bwabwata National Park, Nambwa Tented Lodge brings serious comfort to a relaxing safari.


92% (13 reviews)
River Dance Lodge

River Dance

Build on stilts on the banks of the Kavango River, River Dance Lodge has great views, a relaxed ambience and excellent birdlife.


96% (9 reviews)
Taranga Safari Lodge

Taranga Lodge

Situated on the banks of the Kavango, Taranga Safari Lodge works as a convenient stopover before going onto explore the Caprivi.


75% (8 reviews)
Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa

Divava Lodge & Spa

The substantial Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa offers plenty of pampering opportunities in an unspoilt riverside setting


91% (7 reviews)
Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge is situated on the great Zambezi River; come for relaxation, great birding and boat trips along the Chobe Riverfront.


100% (5 reviews)
Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge, near Kasane in the Caprivi Strip is a very luxurious, high end option for those seeking peace and privacy on the Zambezi River.


85% (4 reviews)
Namushasha Lodge

Namushasha Lodge

One of the larger lodges in the Bwabwata National Park, Namushasha is an economic option with an attractive river-side location.


80% (3 reviews)
Shametu River Lodge

Shametu Lodge

Shametu River Lodge has the best views of the Popa Rapids of any private lodge in the Divundu area.


70% (2 reviews)
Serondela Lodge

Serondela

Accessible only by river, Serondela combines the remoteness of Namibia’s Caprivi Strip with access to Botswana’s flagship Chobe National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Jackalberry Tented Camp

Jackalberry Camp

Jackalberry Camp is uniquely situated in the Nkasa Rupara National Park affording unrivalled access to this little-visited corner of Namibia.


100% (1 review)
Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge stands opposite Chobe National Park, Botswana. Click here to learn more about the area and your options for a safari there.


100% (1 review)
Kazile Island Lodge

Kazile Island Lodge

On an island in the Kwando River within Bwabwata National Park, the remote Kazile lsland Lodge offers games drives, bush walks and boat cruises.


60% (1 review)
Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp is a small, tented satellite camp near the Kwando River offering boat trips, birding and game drives.


No reviews yet
Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas is a beautiful and thoughtfully designed lodge, in a great location on the Namibian banks of the Chobe River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa