This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Hakusembe River Lodge
Hakusembe River Lodge
Hakusembe River Lodge
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge


17°50’59.5"S 19°40’14.4"E

Reviews of Hakusembe Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

85 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hakusembe Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Hakusembe Lodge.
Hippo

17% success

Showing 71-80 of 85
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs A
Hants

"Angola overlooked"

1 night Arrived 12 Oct 2009
"Well appointed chalets in well tended (but incongruously watered green) gardens. Kettle and fridge supplied but bring your own supplies. Dinner was simple and well cooked and well presented, but not the individually prepared cordon bleu standard advertised. On the other hand, breakfast was the best we had.

Activities were limited to river cruises which gave an interesting insight into Angola. A second day would have been difficult to occupy. Useful overnight stop between Caprivi and Etosha." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Dr R & Dr M
UK

"smart lodge"

1 night Arrived 28 Aug 2009
"all the marks I have awarded here are excellent but my overall score is good...I wonder why? we had genuinely been trying to get a twin bedded room. there was a bit of confusion as to which chalet we would get...the one we got was extremely nice but this was one of the rare instances when our twin bedded strategy did not work well...large double plus small extra! this gets one of my rare excellent for food scores...because it was the best food and best cooked kudu I had in any of this type of lodge. a bit like Ndhovu, I'm not convinced this was an exciting place to stay...but certainly relaxing with a nice deck over the river." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W-J
UK

"Hakusembe Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2009
"We were met on arrival by the very friendly, lovable and boisterous Labrador, Sally, and Eddie (the deputy manager, we believe). We loved Hakusembe, and would highly recommend it, but there were some areas where we were disappointed.

We were given the two –tier 'honeymoon chalet' which also serves as the owners' residence when on site. This is the problem. The downstairs living room and upstairs bedroom with balcony overlooking the river were lovely but the kitchen looked as if someone had just abandoned it (half used washing-up liquid, fridge not clean) and the bathroom had part used cakes of soap and the owners' wash puff hanging in the shower. The under-sink cupboard was full of their toiletries – drawers in the living room contained papers left behind. It felt a bit like camping out in someone's home which had been grudgingly lent to us. We'd have been so disappointed if we'd been on honeymoon; as it was we just felt a bit uncomfortable.


The grounds were very pretty and other accommodation all looked good, despite the fact there was still some post-flood clearing up ongoing- this appeared to be carried out to a very high standard, despite Sally's attempts to add paw-prints in the cement!

Food was good, but despite them knowing about my cheese allergy I was told 'tonight you'll enjoy Steak Cordon Bleu' – I don't think so – in the event a plain steak was provided – however this was what they'd served me for lunch too. Perhaps because so many people only stay one night there seemed to be little attempt to co-ordinate meals.

Evening champagne cruises were excellent (free if staying more than one night) and the lunch time boat trip with food cooked on the boat is very highly recommended – it's a shame so many people only stay 1 night and miss the opportunity to do this; seeing life (human and animal) on the river was fantastic. We saw excellent wildlife, including Otters, and loads of great birds, and learnt a lot about how people in this area (in both countries) live.

Thanks to Eddie for everything, including returning our room key to Ghaub." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Family P
Belgium

"Hakusembe Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2009
"Were a bit worried by the very rushed "hello, here's your room" welcome at Hakusembe, but this was a place that really grew on us.

The room was quite cramped for four (hence the average rating), but had all we needed. The restaurant was small and cosy and the food was good - it was nice to be able to serve our own vegetables.

The veiws along the river and across into Angola are amazing and the sunset river cruise with Eddy, with multiple sightings of crocodiles, was just wonderful. Eddy also kindly arranged for us to a visit a local school at our request, which was really interesting, and we also visited a local camp which had been set up to accommodate people who lost their homes in floods earlier this year.

We were also pleasantly surprised to find that our (very) dirty car had been washed for us!" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P&C & Mrs P&R
UK

"Would not return here"

1 night Arrived 17 Aug 2009
"An adequate place to stop overnight, but we were rather put off by the attitude of the manager who clearly sees visitors as a licence to print money. One example was the extortionate price of bottled water in a place where you were advised not to drink the tap water. The barman also boasted in Afrkaans to local visitors that he'd managed to sell the foreigners the most expensive beer in the bar.

When we arrived for dinner, they had clearly forgotten about us and taken a booking from a large party at the nearby campsite. Eventually they had to lay a table for us in the bar.

We enjoyed the sunset cruise" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
5 friends
Amsterdam

"A nice riverside lodge with good food"

1 night Arrived 2 Aug 2009
"Hakusembe had been flooded earlier this year, and we noticed that in one of our chalets which smelt rather musty. The chalet was also very cold, especially as this was our coldest night of the holiday (-7).

The food here was very good and the service too - they even arranged a doctor for us at very short notice. The Sunset Cruise is definitely worth the money." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Ms DM & MR VO
Belgium

"Hakusembe overnight stay"

1 night Arrived 29 Jul 2009
"We can't comment on the activities but the stay in the honeymoon suite on the river was lovely, as we could just watch river birds from the "deck". Having breakfast served outside our room gave also a luxurious and spoiled feeling.

Apparently the lodge had suffered from heavy floodings of the river earlier in the year, and they were still recovering from it (swimming pool wasn't fixed yet)." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs J
Epsom

"Floating on the Okavango at Hakusembe Lodge"

1 night Arrived 13 May 2009
"Given that the site had been under water for a month, two weeks before we arrived, it was in excellent shape. We drove in from Rundu and were thwarted by a deep muddy pool cutting the track into the lodge. Rescued by a passing 4x4, probably worth calling ahead from Rundu if any doubt remains about the suitability of access for 2WD, but since it only floods every 40 years or so, I guess we were just lucky! The welcome was worth waiting for and the pride in and quality of the facilities were a credit to Lena Mudge, the manageress, and her staff. Another great location for a relaxing couple of days by the Okavango River.

We were allocated the floating honeymoon suite, somewhat flattering, but not recommended except for honeymooners: the chemical toilet was far from romantic, the deck in front ot the cabin needed repaiiring after the flood (carefree honeymooners could slip through and be swept away on the flooded river), and the deck needed some furniture. We would have been very much more comfortable in one of the chalets." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs K
Bury

"Hakusembe Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 4 May 2009
"This lodge had also been flooded and they were only just up and running when we got there.

The welcome here was second to none.

The gardens were beautiful and the rooms lovely.

We took a very informative river cruise.

The evening meal was served by the river and the table looked like it had been set for a wedding ...amazing" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs A
Maida Vale

"Smiling staff at Hakusembe"

1 night Arrived 1 May 2009
"When we visited Hakusembe they still repairing the damage from the big floods this year and some facilites eg the bar and dining room were not yet reopened. Despite that the staff were amazingly friendly and cheerful and gave us excellent service. We loved the location on the banks of the Kavango and ate our dinner to the sounds of partying from the Angolan side - they were just about to have their election.

We liked our chalet which had a little veranda and views over the lawn to the river. The bathroom was fine but a bit dated." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Showing 71-80 of 85
86%
85 reviews of Hakusembe Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
36
42
5
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Caprivi Strip

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu is a simple riverside lodge, with tents that are reminiscent of safaris a decade or two ago.


88% (126 reviews)
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

Beside the Kwando River, within Mudumu National Park, Lianshulu is a small safari lodge offering 4WD safaris and river trips – with particularly good birdlife.


91% (59 reviews)
Nkwazi Lodge

Nkwazi Lodge

Standards have slipped at Nkwazi Lodge in recent years which somewhat detract from its scenic location on the banks of the Kavango River.


79% (32 reviews)
Nunda River Lodge

Nunda River Lodge

NNunda River Lodge overlooks a pretty part of the Kavango River near Popa Falls and the productive Mahango National Park.


82% (26 reviews)
Camp Kwando

Camp Kwando

Near to Mudumu National Park, Camp Kwando is a comfortable and unfussy option with opportunities for game drives, boat safaris and fishing.


74% (25 reviews)
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Nkasa Lupala

Peaceful Nkasa Lupala is a comfortable lodge in a remote and little-explored area close to Nkasa Rupara National Park.


91% (24 reviews)
Ichingo Chobe River Lodge

Ichingo Chobe Lodge

Safari holiday in Namibia's Caprivi Strip, staying at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge on Impalila Island.


97% (23 reviews)
Nambwa Tented Lodge

Nambwa Tented Lodge

A beautiful safari lodge In the remote Bwabwata National Park, Nambwa Tented Lodge brings serious comfort to a relaxing safari.


92% (13 reviews)
River Dance Lodge

River Dance

Build on stilts on the banks of the Kavango River, River Dance Lodge has great views, a relaxed ambience and excellent birdlife.


96% (9 reviews)
Taranga Safari Lodge

Taranga Lodge

Situated on the banks of the Kavango, Taranga Safari Lodge works as a convenient stopover before going onto explore the Caprivi.


75% (8 reviews)
Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa

Divava Lodge & Spa

The substantial Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa offers plenty of pampering opportunities in an unspoilt riverside setting


91% (7 reviews)
Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge is situated on the great Zambezi River; come for relaxation, great birding and boat trips along the Chobe Riverfront.


100% (5 reviews)
Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge, near Kasane in the Caprivi Strip is a very luxurious, high end option for those seeking peace and privacy on the Zambezi River.


85% (4 reviews)
Namushasha Lodge

Namushasha Lodge

One of the larger lodges in the Bwabwata National Park, Namushasha is an economic option with an attractive river-side location.


80% (3 reviews)
Shametu River Lodge

Shametu Lodge

Shametu River Lodge has the best views of the Popa Rapids of any private lodge in the Divundu area.


70% (2 reviews)
Serondela Lodge

Serondela

Accessible only by river, Serondela combines the remoteness of Namibia’s Caprivi Strip with access to Botswana’s flagship Chobe National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Jackalberry Tented Camp

Jackalberry Camp

Jackalberry Camp is uniquely situated in the Nkasa Rupara National Park affording unrivalled access to this little-visited corner of Namibia.


100% (1 review)
Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge stands opposite Chobe National Park, Botswana. Click here to learn more about the area and your options for a safari there.


100% (1 review)
Kazile Island Lodge

Kazile Island Lodge

On an island in the Kwando River within Bwabwata National Park, the remote Kazile lsland Lodge offers games drives, bush walks and boat cruises.


60% (1 review)
Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp is a small, tented satellite camp near the Kwando River offering boat trips, birding and game drives.


No reviews yet
Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas is a beautiful and thoughtfully designed lodge, in a great location on the Namibian banks of the Chobe River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa