This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ndhovu Safari Lodge
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Reviews of Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

126 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ndhovu Safari Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jan-2019, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ndhovu Safari Lodge.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Giraffe

50% success

Roan antelope

50% success

Sable antelope

50% success

Zebra

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 71-80 of 126
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs S
Morden

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2011
"Beautiful location on the river from where you can see hippos, crocodiles and sometimes elephants. The bed was very comfortable but the bathroom is fairly basic.

Johan and Monica provided a warm welcome and we enjoyed the boat excursion with Martin where we saw many unusual birds as well as hippos, crocs and water monitors." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr G x 4
Norway

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 13 Oct 2011
"Good atmosphere, nice hosts with a "familiar" touch during meals and by the fire." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
R, M, A & P
W Sussex

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2011
"The couple who manage the lodge were welcoming, interesting and gave a different dimension to our experience.

They were knowledgable about the wild life of the area but also the culture of the area and some insight of the social and political issues of the country. They seemed to make an extra effort to encourage conversation during the dinner each evening.

The proximity of hippos may be un-nerving to some people." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms J & Mr R
Bath

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2011
"Having been to Etosha, the Caprivi Strip doesn't really compare from a wildlife point of view. But it was interesting to drive along on our way to Botswana.

Ndhovu is a nice camp and the service is good. However we were put in the floating tent on the river - as a room it's very nice but not for the faint hearted. We didn't sleep much because the hippos were very active around us at night. In hindsight a tent on land would have been more conducive to a good night's sleep!" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 4n in Zambia; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Harrow

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2011
"Excellent game drive and river trip. Helpful, friendly staff. Hippo watching in the river excellent." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mrs A x 5
Oxon

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge, a gem"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2011
"This rated as 1 of our favourites. The atmosphere was second to none. Horst, the owner, was there, and the temporary managers, Johan and Monica, were brilliant. Michael, the guide who took us on the river was superb, we saw so much, with his skill, it was the best trip we had. He then went way beyond the call of duty, by cleaning our car,completely unasked, which was still covered in salt and dust from our drive from the dunes!

Sitting round a table all together, for meals, is an excellent idea, as we all mixed, and had some fascinating conversations from 'local' guests, who explained a lot about the Namibian life of all members of society, including farming and education.

We felt that the accommodation needs a bit of tlc. The tents need repairs in places, some of the bedding needs updating, and towels need replacing. We felt also that bathmats would be good rather than standing on small carpets after a shower. There is a plan to put Espresso Coffee machines in all rooms, rather than kettles, new linen would be a better way to spend the money! Having said that we would all go back.

Hippos 'mow the lawns' for the lodge, we had footprints very close to our tent, very exciting!" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W-J
UK

"Kasane to cape Town Days 5 and 6"

2 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2011
"Ndhovu is a simple, homely lodge which provides comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price. The welcome is warm and the location lovely. Food is good but not fancy and a word of appreciation to the staff brings a beaming smile. Those who object to eating game should note that this comprises most of the dinner menu and let the lodge or Expert Africa know in advance so that an alternative can be arranged.

We really like Ndhovu but have to say the tents are looking a little 'tired'; we were in the floating river tent which was fun but a little sprucing-up would make a good lodge an excellent one. We still rate our overall experience as excellent.

We had stayed here two years ago; since then Horst has become less hands-on and Chris has had to return to South Africa. The lodge was in the safe hands of Johann and Monica, helped/hindered by their gorgeous Great Dane puppy, Keira. Johann is a very good guide but having a closed-in cab on the game vehicle makes it difficult for him to interact with all his guests. As we had a full vehicle I (Jane) was sitting up front with Johann – while I didn't have quite such a good view of the animals I learnt lots about all sorts of aspects of life at the lodge and Namibia in general.
" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs T Mrs N
UK

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 May 2011
"There are no words to describe how wonderful it was. Truly our favourite place! Stunning location, great food and wonderful company. Horst and Chris were great mine hosts. We were very spoilt as we had their undivided attention because no one else was staying.

We experienced two of the most magical river cruises and a truly memorable game drive with Chris in the Mahangu National Park where we saw just about every species in the park.

Sleeping under canvas with a hippo waking you up at 5 in the morning thrashing about in the mud 3 yards away was to say the least a very interesting experience!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C & Mrs K
UK

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jan 2011
"Lovely tented lodge on the banks of the Okavango. They do a really good evening boat trip. There were great bird sightings plus croc and hippo. We were the only patrons.

The location is good for the Mahango park and the Papa falls although both were suffering from excess water and we couldn't drive very much of the park roads. Bird and animal sightings were very good though.

Access to the lodge was by boat and then 4X4 as the access road was flooded though we didn't have a problem getting to the boat pick up point where they'd set up a tent 'garage' for the car and posted a lookout to wait for us.

They provided a coffee machine universal electrical outlet mosquito nets and insect repellant." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr J & Mrs S
Steyning

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2010
"Well planned tent.Good food.

Poor fishing tackle and guide." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Showing 71-80 of 126
88%
126 reviews of Ndhovu Safari Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
63
52
7
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Caprivi Strip

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge is a substantial lodge with a superb location on the Kavango River.


86% (85 reviews)
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

Beside the Kwando River, within Mudumu National Park, Lianshulu is a small safari lodge offering 4WD safaris and river trips – with particularly good birdlife.


91% (59 reviews)
Nkwazi Lodge

Nkwazi Lodge

Standards have slipped at Nkwazi Lodge in recent years which somewhat detract from its scenic location on the banks of the Kavango River.


79% (32 reviews)
Nunda River Lodge

Nunda River Lodge

NNunda River Lodge overlooks a pretty part of the Kavango River near Popa Falls and the productive Mahango National Park.


82% (26 reviews)
Camp Kwando

Camp Kwando

Near to Mudumu National Park, Camp Kwando is a comfortable and unfussy option with opportunities for game drives, boat safaris and fishing.


74% (25 reviews)
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Nkasa Lupala

Peaceful Nkasa Lupala is a comfortable lodge in a remote and little-explored area close to Nkasa Rupara National Park.


91% (24 reviews)
Ichingo Chobe River Lodge

Ichingo Chobe Lodge

Safari holiday in Namibia's Caprivi Strip, staying at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge on Impalila Island.


97% (23 reviews)
Nambwa Tented Lodge

Nambwa Tented Lodge

A beautiful safari lodge In the remote Bwabwata National Park, Nambwa Tented Lodge brings serious comfort to a relaxing safari.


92% (13 reviews)
River Dance Lodge

River Dance

Build on stilts on the banks of the Kavango River, River Dance Lodge has great views, a relaxed ambience and excellent birdlife.


96% (9 reviews)
Taranga Safari Lodge

Taranga Lodge

Situated on the banks of the Kavango, Taranga Safari Lodge works as a convenient stopover before going onto explore the Caprivi.


75% (8 reviews)
Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa

Divava Lodge & Spa

The substantial Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa offers plenty of pampering opportunities in an unspoilt riverside setting


91% (7 reviews)
Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge is situated on the great Zambezi River; come for relaxation, great birding and boat trips along the Chobe Riverfront.


100% (5 reviews)
Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge, near Kasane in the Caprivi Strip is a very luxurious, high end option for those seeking peace and privacy on the Zambezi River.


85% (4 reviews)
Namushasha Lodge

Namushasha Lodge

One of the larger lodges in the Bwabwata National Park, Namushasha is an economic option with an attractive river-side location.


80% (3 reviews)
Serondela Lodge

Serondela

Accessible only by river, Serondela combines the remoteness of Namibia’s Caprivi Strip with access to Botswana’s flagship Chobe National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Shametu River Lodge

Shametu Lodge

Shametu River Lodge has the best views of the Popa Rapids of any private lodge in the Divundu area.


70% (2 reviews)
Jackalberry Tented Camp

Jackalberry Camp

Jackalberry Camp is uniquely situated in the Nkasa Rupara National Park affording unrivalled access to this little-visited corner of Namibia.


100% (1 review)
Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge stands opposite Chobe National Park, Botswana. Click here to learn more about the area and your options for a safari there.


100% (1 review)
Kazile Island Lodge

Kazile Island Lodge

On an island in the Kwando River within Bwabwata National Park, the remote Kazile lsland Lodge offers games drives, bush walks and boat cruises.


60% (1 review)
Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp is a small, tented satellite camp near the Kwando River offering boat trips, birding and game drives.


No reviews yet
Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas is a beautiful and thoughtfully designed lodge, in a great location on the Namibian banks of the Chobe River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa