This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge


21°27’41.0"S 15°52’30.0"E

Reviews of Erongo Wilderness

Wildlife sightings and reviews

411 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Erongo Wilderness and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 25 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Erongo Wilderness.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

21% success

Zebra

17% success

Eland

4% success

Giraffe

4% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 401-410 of 411
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs C
Essex

"It is a wilderness"

1 night Arrived 5 Oct 2007
"Ideal location, we did 3 walks and went out for a 4x4 drive, not much more to do if we had stayed longer." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
IOW

"Completely different lodge"

1 night Arrived 5 Oct 2007
"Exciting approach by leaving vehicle and being transported in safari 4x4 up a rock face to get in. Tented accommodation alittle less luxurious than other lodges but an experience worth having. Tents are within a covered area with en-suite attached. Can be a bit draughty but still good.

Amazing area within rock outcrops with fantastic views. Main building comfortable witha great outlook on bird and animal feeding area.

The walking, both guided and self guide is recommended and is the main activity although there is a nature drive. Game is not intended to be the highlight. Warm welcome from staff, guides excellent in knowledge and interest. Food very good" See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs Barn owl
UK

"Picturesque Erongo"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2007
"The accommodation was set in the hillside and provided privacy and good veiws. Not suitable for those who find steps difficult. The managers, Adele and Brian, were great people, who did as much as they could to make your stay enjoyable.

Brian regulary fed the birds in the morning and the porcupines at night which could then be watched whilst you ate your own meals in the restaurant. The area was good for walking and had some great sunsets which set the mountains aglow.

I would like to come back after the rains to see how the landscape changes. Loved it here." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs A
Swindon

"A night under canvas"

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2007
"A totally different setting from Okonjima but very special in its own way. Set against the backdrop of the Erongo Mountains there are 10 luxury tented chalets linked by wooden walkways. The tents are thatched and have a small verandah, kettle and fridge. The shower room/WC are built into the rocks and open to the elements in part but privacy is maintained.

The dining room is reached up natural stone steps, passed the small swimming pool,and gives wonderful views of the surrounding mountains. We had a delicous dinner of potato and leek soup, salad, oryx and panatone and at breakfast next morning watched the local (love)birds swooping on breadcrumbs.

As this was our last night we were content to relax and didn't go on any excursions except for a sundowner walk to the top of a mountain in the company of a Belgian honeymoon couple." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D
UK

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 7 Sep 2007
"Again a lovely, original place to stay with a good atmosphere.

The guided walk was a great success and we were only sorry that we didn't have time to experience more." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr J
Heathfield

"Amazing setting, accomodation,welcome, &food"

1 night Arrived 29 Aug 2007
"Such a beautifu lodge.

The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly.

The food was the best of our trip." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P
West Sussex

"Pleasant and relaxing mountain accommodation"

1 night Arrived 24 Aug 2007
"The tented accommodation was very unusual, but every attention made to make our visit relaxing and memorable.

The restaurant, service, and food were well above expectations.

Alas only one night stop-over." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs-H
UK

"Lovely setting and people"

1 night Arrived 17 Aug 2007
"Beautiful setting, amazing view from our balcony

Really good food and friendly staff and owners

2 good walks included in the cost." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr Caracal
UK

"A lovely camp nestled into the rocks"

1 night Arrived 26 Jul 2007
"What a shame we did not have time for a 2 night stay here. The camp is great and the managers and staff were very friendly.

We joined in both the sunset and sunrise walks and the guides were very good with fascinating and beautiful scenery.

We thought the food was the best we had in Namibia, although competing with The Tug!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr J & Mrs S B
UK

"Lovely place to end our holiday at"

1 night Arrived 25 Jul 2007
"Superb setting and accommodation. In fact, probably as good as Mowani overall as it didn't quite have the air of exclusivity that Mowani did. One night here was not enough!

Brilliant view from the tent.

Restaurant had a really nice feel to it, and again good views from it. Also plenty of birdlife to be observed from here.

Did evening and morning guided walks up onto the mountains which again provided really good views and well worth the climbs (not really that strenuous anyway). The quides were also really friendly and informative." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 401-410 of 411
96%
411 reviews of Erongo Wilderness by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
340
65
6
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

The rustic Mundulea Bushcamp offers superb and varied walking in the company of a top-class guide on a reserve that features many endangered or endemic species.


99% (71 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


91% (38 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


77% (24 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (9 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, mountain biking trials and some spectacular San rock art.


89% (9 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa