This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch


24°18’1.9"S 18°1’58.2"E

Reviews of Bagatelle Game Ranch

Wildlife sightings and reviews

182 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Bagatelle Game Ranch and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Bagatelle Game Ranch.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

36% success

Oryx

82% success

Eland

80% success

Wildebeest

73% success

Zebra

70% success

Giraffe

50% success

Meerkat

45% success

Aardvark

27% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 101-110 of 182
Duration
Arrival date
AB
Essex

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 7 Oct 2011
"Very disappointed - nowhere near as good as my last visit in 2006. Desultory welcome - I arrived first as couldn't get car with two passengers up sandy road. When the others arrived their welcome drink was shambolic - and the dirty glasses were still at the front door when we left the next day!

Swimming pool water looked most uninviting so we didn't swim. Introduction to chalets and help with luggage was poor on both counts. Dinner was such a disappointment because 5 years ago all the guides and co-workers were about and chatty and encouraged discussion/interaction and very informative re Bagatelle and Namibia generally.

They did take care over my meal so that's very good but the food was unappetising, meat was overcooked - my guests all shared mine, and the veg etc were all over cooked. The serving staff and the maitre d appeared disinterested - I think this is because they made NO effort at speaking to us. Wouldn't go back or recommend.

The rooms however remain lovely." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Terrible
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Poor
Ms J & Mr S
USA

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 2 Oct 2011
"We spent only one night here so didn't have time to take part in any activities except for being taken to see the meerkats.

Our view chalet was lovely." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Family B
Hampshire

"Meercats"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2011
"We enjoyed our stay here, the first night of the holiday. We had a very friendly reception. The rooms and the main part of the lodge are very well thought out and presented. The starter and pudding at dinner were excellent, but the main course was rather ordinary. It was very pleasant to go inside after dinner and sit to have coffee and drinks. Breakfast was very good. You need to ask a guide after dinner to show you the meercats in the morning, as this was not mentioned to us on arrival. Our guide, no charge other than a tip, was very helpful at keeping an eye out for them to appear, which was rather late as it was a cold morning, but the viewing was then superb - there were 24 in residence and you can get quite close to them until they move off for their day. We understand that they are not always present. We now have some great photos

The reason we have described the location as average is because there was rather more fencing near to the rooms than I expected which made the place seem rather enclosed. Perhaps the dune chalets would be better in this respect.

It was an easy drive from the airport but we deviated from Expert Africa's recommendation, turning off the tarred road at Kalkrand from where Bagatelle is signed. The gravel roads were in good condition and it was an interesting and lovely drive." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr F & Ms F
London

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2011
"Good food and super friendly staff... If you're looking for the meerkats, you have to get up early - be sure to ask the night before!" See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms A
Cambridgeshire

"Great First Stopover"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2011
"I had a great stay and enjoyed the activities once I was on them. However, the scheduling of the activities was a very disorganised affair. The manager was very obliging and suggested all these activites that I could go on, but finding a guide to lead the activites appeared to be more of a problem, and I found it frustratingly difficult to find out the time the activites were going to take place.

The morning safari was wonderful. Stunning scenery. We saw lots of game, much more than I expected, and the guide patiently stopped to let us take lots of photos. The highlight was seeing giraffe mating.

Overall my experience was very good (couldn't quite give it an excellent rating!)" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr C & Mrs M
Cheshire

"Fantastic Location"

1 night Arrived 30 Aug 2011
"Fantastic place and people.

Would recommend 2 nights for future guests not 1 as we had." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 6n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W-J
UK

"Kasane to Cape Town Day 12"

1 night Arrived 19 Aug 2011
"The drive in was much easier than we had been led to believe. The C20 is newly tarmaced and is now excellent.

We had a friendly welcome from Paul, accompanied by Spencer and Pula the dogs and Rusty and Ferdie the cats – Spike made an appearance later and demanded lap space; if you don't like pets this isn't the place for you!

Our Dune Chalet was very comfortable though it did get cold at night – nowhere near as cold as previous feedback had led us to think however. Staff were all friendly , helpful and professional. Food was good and drinks at a reasonable price.

Paul took us on a short (free) walk in the morning to watch the meerkats emerging from their burrows and setting off to forage – a magical experience!" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C B & family
UK

"Beautiful Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch"

1 night Arrived 14 Jul 2011
"Wow; what a place.
Stunning setting, right in the middle of the dunes in the Kalahari, red sand as far as the eye could see. Completely magical.
Rooms in chalets were absolutely beautiful and comfortable. The main farmhouse was also lovely; welcoming fire, squishy sofas. Very friendly owner and staff, felt like we were staying in someones house. Food was very good.

They offered excursions, one to feed the cheetas, quite expensive. We saw the cheetas close up from the gardens of the house and so didnt feel that you necessarily need to pay to go into the enclosure. We had lovely walk on the dunes in the setting sun. Completely unforgettable." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr J & Ms J
Devon

"Wish we had spent longer at Bagatelle"

1 night Arrived 5 Jul 2011
"The staff at Bagatelle are very friendly and welcoming, especially Paul, who, despite being unaware of our previous requests to see the meerkats as the lady we had dealt with had left the ranch, arranged for us to view them at very short notice. He went out of his way to arrange for us to spend time with them and take photos. We stayed in one of the dune chalets, which have amazing views, you can sit in bed watching the waterhole and also the night sky. Beware in winter it can be extremely cold here - our bottle of water froze solid overnight in the car. We wish we had spent more than one overnight stop there." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr&Mrs S
ArniAG

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 13 Jun 2011
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 101-110 of 182
90%
182 reviews of Bagatelle Game Ranch by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
109
61
10
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Southern Namibia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

Scarcely an hour from Windhoek airport, Eningu is an artistic place to unwind amid the vast silence of the Kalahari.


90% (62 reviews)
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

Central Lodge offers clean, fresh and comfortable accommodation surrounded by a well-kept garden in the centre of Keetmanshoop.


71% (59 reviews)
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes

A friendly lodge set around a dry lake, which makes a nice stop off on the way down to Fish River Canyon.


93% (42 reviews)
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge is a comfortable stop on the journey betwen Windhoek and Fish River Canyon. Expect stunning Kalahari scenery, two swimming pools and lots of space.


91% (36 reviews)
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

For good farm hospitality, wholesome cooking and an interesting farm drive, Dabis makes a great stop en-route from Lüderitz to the Sesriem area.


94% (25 reviews)
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen is a unique hotel in the heart of southern Namibia's farming district and makes a good stopover option.


72% (17 reviews)
Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks, situated on the edge of the Kalahari Desert, is a perfect stop-over whilst driving between Namibia and Botswana.


82% (17 reviews)
Namtib Desert Lodge

Namtib Desert Lodge

A charming owner run lodge, located off the scenic D707, Namtib Desert Lodge is a convenient stop en route from the south to Sossusvlei.


87% (11 reviews)
Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp

Suricate Tented Camp

Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp is a relaxing spot with its own waterhole and a range of activities for exploring the area.


100% (3 reviews)
Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse, located in Stampriet has comfortable chalets in the gardens of an old farmhouse.


93% (3 reviews)
Kanaan Desert Retreat

Kanaan Desert Retreat

The tented Kanaan Desert Retreat offers a range of activities against the beautiful backdrop of the Namib Desert.


90% (2 reviews)
Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge is located in the Intu Africa Kalahari Private Game Reserve; surrounded by red sands, it is a relaxing place for a night or two.


No reviews yet
Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge

Camelthorn Kalahari

Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge offers a peaceful night's sleep in the Kalahari, breaking the journey between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon.


No reviews yet
Otjimbondona Kalahari

Otjimbondona

Otjimbondona Kalahari is a luxurious, peaceful and relaxing lodge conveniently located close to Windhoek's International Airport.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa