This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch


24°18’1.9"S 18°1’58.2"E

Reviews of Bagatelle Game Ranch

Wildlife sightings and reviews

182 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Bagatelle Game Ranch and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Bagatelle Game Ranch.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

36% success

Oryx

82% success

Eland

80% success

Wildebeest

73% success

Zebra

70% success

Giraffe

50% success

Meerkat

45% success

Aardvark

27% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 121-130 of 182
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B
Winchester

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 15 May 2010
"Good one night stop on the way to Tok Tokkie Trail" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Ceredigion

"Great game drive with Pedro"

2 nights Arrived 2 May 2010
"This was our first stop on a month long trip and a lovely introduction to Namibia. We arrived late on a Sunday afternnon and were given a warm welcome by the staff.

The dune chalet was lovely, but sadly we did not see any animals visiting the waterhole. Our game drive with Pedro remains a special memory as it was our first and we were fortunate to see many animals and also a Kori Bustard which flew up in front of our jeep. The staff were very attentive to our needs and during the Cheehah viewing the guide was happy to answer any questions we had.

We did attempt one of the walks, but got rather lost! However, this was a good place to rest before our long drive to Fish River Canyon." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr I & Mrs A
France

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 12 Apr 2010
"We arrived at the Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch mid afternoon and were greeted by a chilled drink and warm welcome. The main public area of the ranch is well laid out catering for those who want a bit of privacy or those wanting to meet fellow travellers and socialising. There is a lovely swimming pool and outdoor area to relax.

The chalets were fantastic with views out over the Kalahari. The food was of a high standard and it was lovely to eat outdoors with an open fire to take the chill out of the air.

The staff were very helpful and informative. We did a game drive in the late afternoon which was excellent and the guide was top class.

If you want to see the meercats you must tell the guide the day before because you have to get up very early to see them around the back of the ranch. You will not see them around the camp as some guide books imply.

We will definitely go back to Bagatelle Ranch and would stay for at least 2 nights." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr W & Mrs L
Belgium

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Dec 2009
"ideal location to spent our two last nights in Namibia- 3-4 h drive to airport.

We liked the food ad the staff was very friendly. The evening trip to visit the park and beatifull sun down was very nic -also morning visit to the feeding of the animals.

Only remark - we had a dune chalet for 2 nights - because of location in hot december even with airco not to cool - later in the evening from 1Opm it was OK - maybe better a straw roof chalet.

Whe can recommend Bagatelle ranch ." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs A
Norfolk

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Dec 2009
"A wonderful game ranch with excellent staff and great food and surroundings.

The game drive with Pedro was exceptional with lots of detailed knowledge and a great sense of humour." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs A
Notts

"Straw Bale Comfort"

1 night Arrived 25 Oct 2009
"This lodge exceeded our expectations. We had booked to stay one night on our way back to the airport but would happily have stayed longer. We were very happy with a straw bale chalet and indeed spoke to one couple who had stayed in a dune chalet and expressed preference for a straw bale.

The rooms were beautifully appointed and very comfortable and it was a real change to eat urafrican style around a camp fire in the lapa. We thoroughly enjoyed our sundowner drive through the red dunes, meeting the resident tame springbok and oryx and our short drive around the cheetah compound." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms J & Dr S
London

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2009
"Within half an hour of arriving we had a fabulous encounter with a meercat who foraged just metres from our room, and then ran into the shade of our patio. We also saw the rest of the pack about 40metres away.

The food was good, and they have a nice outside dining set-up. Decided to head out early in the morning and skip the cheetah viewing opportunity, which in hindsight we regretted as we didn't see any cheetah elsewhere on our trip." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Inverness

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2009
"Easy access from Windhoek for first night in Namibia. Friendly greeting from management and staff. Rooms beside main complex spacious and comfortable but without the outlook of the chalets. Food in outdoor dining area very good.

Local walking pleasant if relatively limited, but game drive excellent with a great variety of terrain and some stunning scenery as well as a reasonable range of wildlife. Shop quite well stocked and well priced, which was not realised till rather later in the trip!

Viewing platform on dunes provides for fine sunset scenery." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Gloucs

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2009
"The staff were not as friendly at this game ranch and we felt pressurised to do the game drive and sundowner drinks - it felt over commercialised.

On reflection we would also rather experience Cheetahs in the type of surroundings that we had at Okonjima where it feels that they have more space and shelter." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Ms L & Mr H
USA

"could have skipped this one..."

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2009
"
This was our first stop after an overnight in Windhoek, and it retrospect, I think it could have been skipped. The Dune Chalets were not available for our group, and most of us were housed in the main lodge, not even in the hay bale chalets on the desert. The rooms were quite comfortable, but had none of the "atmosphere" of the Dune Chalets or hay bale chalets. Viewing the captive cheetahs is not very exciting, and the game drive, while scenic, could not compare to drives in more game-rich areas. Unfortunately, we saw only one meerkat (perhaps if the family had been active, I would rate our stay here more highly).

The "sundowners" up at the gazebo on the dune was a rip-off---we could have carried our own drinks up there perfectly easily, we didn't need to pay for someone to drive them up and serve them to us...

Overall, probably worth a stay for the Kalahari scenery if Dune Chalets are available, otherwise, probably not. Two nights felt too long." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Showing 121-130 of 182
90%
182 reviews of Bagatelle Game Ranch by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
109
61
10
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Southern Namibia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

Scarcely an hour from Windhoek airport, Eningu is an artistic place to unwind amid the vast silence of the Kalahari.


90% (62 reviews)
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

Central Lodge offers clean, fresh and comfortable accommodation surrounded by a well-kept garden in the centre of Keetmanshoop.


71% (59 reviews)
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes

A friendly lodge set around a dry lake, which makes a nice stop off on the way down to Fish River Canyon.


93% (42 reviews)
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge is a comfortable stop on the journey betwen Windhoek and Fish River Canyon. Expect stunning Kalahari scenery, two swimming pools and lots of space.


91% (36 reviews)
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

For good farm hospitality, wholesome cooking and an interesting farm drive, Dabis makes a great stop en-route from Lüderitz to the Sesriem area.


94% (25 reviews)
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen is a unique hotel in the heart of southern Namibia's farming district and makes a good stopover option.


72% (17 reviews)
Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks, situated on the edge of the Kalahari Desert, is a perfect stop-over whilst driving between Namibia and Botswana.


82% (17 reviews)
Namtib Desert Lodge

Namtib Desert Lodge

A charming owner run lodge, located off the scenic D707, Namtib Desert Lodge is a convenient stop en route from the south to Sossusvlei.


87% (11 reviews)
Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp

Suricate Tented Camp

Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp is a relaxing spot with its own waterhole and a range of activities for exploring the area.


100% (3 reviews)
Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse, located in Stampriet has comfortable chalets in the gardens of an old farmhouse.


93% (3 reviews)
Kanaan Desert Retreat

Kanaan Desert Retreat

The tented Kanaan Desert Retreat offers a range of activities against the beautiful backdrop of the Namib Desert.


90% (2 reviews)
Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge is located in the Intu Africa Kalahari Private Game Reserve; surrounded by red sands, it is a relaxing place for a night or two.


No reviews yet
Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge

Camelthorn Kalahari

Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge offers a peaceful night's sleep in the Kalahari, breaking the journey between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon.


No reviews yet
Otjimbondona Kalahari

Otjimbondona

Otjimbondona Kalahari is a luxurious, peaceful and relaxing lodge conveniently located close to Windhoek's International Airport.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa