This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch


24°18’1.9"S 18°1’58.2"E

Reviews of Bagatelle Game Ranch

Wildlife sightings and reviews

182 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Bagatelle Game Ranch and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Bagatelle Game Ranch.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

36% success

Oryx

82% success

Eland

80% success

Wildebeest

73% success

Zebra

70% success

Giraffe

50% success

Meerkat

45% success

Aardvark

27% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 131-140 of 182
Duration
Arrival date
Ms L & Mr H
USA

"could have skipped this one..."

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2009
"
This was our first stop after an overnight in Windhoek, and it retrospect, I think it could have been skipped. The Dune Chalets were not available for our group, and most of us were housed in the main lodge, not even in the hay bale chalets on the desert. The rooms were quite comfortable, but had none of the "atmosphere" of the Dune Chalets or hay bale chalets. Viewing the captive cheetahs is not very exciting, and the game drive, while scenic, could not compare to drives in more game-rich areas. Unfortunately, we saw only one meerkat (perhaps if the family had been active, I would rate our stay here more highly).

The "sundowners" up at the gazebo on the dune was a rip-off---we could have carried our own drinks up there perfectly easily, we didn't need to pay for someone to drive them up and serve them to us...

Overall, probably worth a stay for the Kalahari scenery if Dune Chalets are available, otherwise, probably not. Two nights felt too long." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Miss H & Mr R
London

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2009
"This was the first stop on our trip around Namibia and we had a very pleasant stay here.

The dune chalets were very comfortable with lovely views and we took a very nice sundowner trip, which gave us our first viewing of Namibian wildlife." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr T & Mr B
UK

"Red earth country"

1 night Arrived 19 Sep 2009
"A perfect place to end our holiday. Impressed by the wine list. We didn't expect to see anything new apart from the meerkats after touring Okonjima and Etosha, but were pleasantly surprised that we have some wildlife which we hadn't seen before. It was also nice to see antelopes roaming in the open free rather than by the waterholes as in Etosha Natinal Park.

Would love to stay at the chalet next time." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs AS
York

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2009
"The only negative is the size of the leopard enclosures which we felt were a little small.

A torch provided by the lodge as in other locations would have been useful.

Ben was excellent." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr R
Hampshire

"Bagatelle and meerkats and cheetahs"

1 night Arrived 10 Sep 2009
"Great location and road down to this lodge.

The bungalows were spacious and the car was parked beside each bungalow making baggage handling really easy. This is a well run lodge but the welcome was rather formal and cool. We arrived at 2 o'clock in the afternoon, but too late to book onto a game drive as they were fully booked. We were offered cheetah feeding instead and this was really interesting - the rescued cheetahs are fed every day and we walked alongside them.

We were also lucky to see the meerkats whom are also fed kitchen scraps every day, but it was pure luck that I happened to mention meerkats to one of the kitchen staff which then enabled us to see them." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr L & Family
Denmark

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 18 Aug 2009
"Extraordinary friendly welcome, the strohbale room was even nicer than expected.

The afternoon nature drive was very nice, but the "cheetah drive" in the small enclosure only interesting for small children or if you have never seen cheetahs at close hand before. The resturant served nice dinners and there was a good atmosphere.

You should stay for 2 nights (one is to little)" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Huntingdon

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2009
"Very relaxing stay. Watching the Meerkats from the verandah was a real treat." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Norwich

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2009
"A superb location and the dune chalet was truly wonderful.
Friendly and very helpful staff." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss F & Mr E
NL

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2009
"Perfect start to a wonderful holiday! Warm welcome, very nice chalet.The food was superb, we especially enjoyed sitting in the lounge after dinner,talking to the other guests and making a fuss over Spike the very friendly pussycat!

We took a game drive with the excellent Pedro and saw our very first array of wild animals. We missed the meerkats (apparently out foraging), but we managed to watch with one of the guides the last rugby test match of the Lions against the Bocks.

We would recommend this place to anyone, friendly and relaxed atmosphere, superb food and wine." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms J & Mr R
Bath

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2009
"We got a very warm welcome at Bagatelle despite arriving after sunset. The drive from Windhoek took us longer than we thought it would.

The ranch is in a beautiful location and the staff were extremely helpful and catered to our every need. We stayed in one of the dune chalets which was gorgeous but in hindsight we would probably have been better off staying in one of the straw bale chalets as we were very very cold at night (even with hot water bottles!) - this is probably because these rooms are on stilts so have no insulation. We were there in the winter - i'm sure in the summer they'd be perfect.

The highlight of Bagatelle was definitely seeing the meerkats. The sundowner game drive we felt was overpriced and we didn't see much.

" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 131-140 of 182
90%
182 reviews of Bagatelle Game Ranch by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
109
61
10
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Southern Namibia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

Scarcely an hour from Windhoek airport, Eningu is an artistic place to unwind amid the vast silence of the Kalahari.


90% (62 reviews)
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

Central Lodge offers clean, fresh and comfortable accommodation surrounded by a well-kept garden in the centre of Keetmanshoop.


71% (59 reviews)
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes

A friendly lodge set around a dry lake, which makes a nice stop off on the way down to Fish River Canyon.


93% (42 reviews)
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge is a comfortable stop on the journey betwen Windhoek and Fish River Canyon. Expect stunning Kalahari scenery, two swimming pools and lots of space.


91% (36 reviews)
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

For good farm hospitality, wholesome cooking and an interesting farm drive, Dabis makes a great stop en-route from Lüderitz to the Sesriem area.


94% (25 reviews)
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen is a unique hotel in the heart of southern Namibia's farming district and makes a good stopover option.


72% (17 reviews)
Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks, situated on the edge of the Kalahari Desert, is a perfect stop-over whilst driving between Namibia and Botswana.


82% (17 reviews)
Namtib Desert Lodge

Namtib Desert Lodge

A charming owner run lodge, located off the scenic D707, Namtib Desert Lodge is a convenient stop en route from the south to Sossusvlei.


87% (11 reviews)
Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp

Suricate Tented Camp

Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp is a relaxing spot with its own waterhole and a range of activities for exploring the area.


100% (3 reviews)
Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse, located in Stampriet has comfortable chalets in the gardens of an old farmhouse.


93% (3 reviews)
Kanaan Desert Retreat

Kanaan Desert Retreat

The tented Kanaan Desert Retreat offers a range of activities against the beautiful backdrop of the Namib Desert.


90% (2 reviews)
Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge is located in the Intu Africa Kalahari Private Game Reserve; surrounded by red sands, it is a relaxing place for a night or two.


No reviews yet
Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge

Camelthorn Kalahari

Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge offers a peaceful night's sleep in the Kalahari, breaking the journey between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon.


No reviews yet
Otjimbondona Kalahari

Otjimbondona

Otjimbondona Kalahari is a luxurious, peaceful and relaxing lodge conveniently located close to Windhoek's International Airport.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa