This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch


24°18’1.9"S 18°1’58.2"E

Reviews of Bagatelle Game Ranch

Wildlife sightings and reviews

194 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Bagatelle Game Ranch and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 22 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Bagatelle Game Ranch.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

39% success

Oryx

79% success

Eland

72% success

Wildebeest

63% success

Giraffe

50% success

White Rhino

50% success

Zebra

50% success

Meerkat

35% success

Aardvark

16% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 171-180 of 194
Duration
Arrival date
The Hornbills
UK

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 19 Jul 2008
"Although just one night stop, the owner and all his staff were particularly welcoming and friendly. There were lots of nice little touches, like the free bottle of wine in the strohballe rooms.

The rooms were well appointed and the buffet style meal was also excellent. a very pleasant lounge/bar area to relax in the evening.

It was a bonus to be able to view the amusing resident meercats." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Pangolin family
UK

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2008
"First class introduction to Namibia. Great welcome and all the staff were tremendously helpful and friendly throughout our stay. Our guide Pedro was particularly engaging and knowledgable about the animals and plants. Lots of animals to see on the evening drive and we especially enjoyed the morning walk with the meercats.

One point to be aware of is the freezing cold nights - there is a hot water bottle and blankets are provided in the Dune Chalets, but you still need to wrap up warm! The Straw Bale Chalets are a much warmer option." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms O
UK

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 10 Jul 2008
"OK PLACE NOTHING SPECIAL NICE LOCATION" See all these reviews: 12n in South Africa; 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Harriers
Switzerland

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 8 Jul 2008
"Be prepared for 25k drive off main road to ranch. Made to feel very welcome. Despite arriving late after lunch time, were served sandwiches upon request.

Beware sand dunes can be very cold at night - it was -3 during the night. Heaters kept the room bearable during the night!
Very friendly and helpful staff, lovely lounge area with good fire which was good to meet and chat to other guests. Appreciated own table for meals (other lodges tend to put guests on same table, despite language differences). Interesting cheetah information and visit in closed compound." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Bitterns
Twickenham

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2008
"Very good stopover on may back to Windhoek. Relaxed atmosphere and friendly staff made for a welcome, refreshing stay. Not a great deal to do, but we enjoyed walking in the dunes and visiting the cheetahs." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The Dassies
Cumbria

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 20 Jun 2008
"Bagatelle was our first experience of a Game Ranch. The staff were very welcoming and helpful and were happy for us to upgrade to a wooden chalet on stilts.

Our guide, Paul was excellent, and we particularly enjoyed chatting to him during and after dinner. We particularly enjoyed our introduction to the four cheetahs they have here in the morning. It was well worth fitting this in before starting out on the long drive to Fish Canyon.

We would have liked to have stayed a second night. With such an early arrival in Windhoek with Air Namibia from London Gatwick it would have been possible to drive straight to Bagatelle and have 2 nights. It would have been nice to have this as an option although appreciate there can be flight delays." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dune-hoppers
London

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 22 May 2008
"Lovely welcome. Friendly, helpful staff. Interesting nature drive.

Good food.

Nice location of chalet with pleasant outlook." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K
Channel Islands

"Grass on the red sands (again)"

1 night Arrived 7 May 2008
"A well run lodge on the edge of the Kalahari, good food and friendly staff (the cats are friendly to). The added advantage is that the CCA Cheetahs are just over the fence and they are great to view at close quarters.

I was here in 2006 and there was a lot of grass, this year there was a lot more grass. Great stop over which deserves 2 nights." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D
Sword

"Fantastic evening meals, great host!"

2 nights Arrived 4 May 2008
"We were really happy with this place. Superb and highly attentive host, everything here was to a very high standard. We were very happy with our room, we were not in the chalets on the dune itself but our chalet was still perfect. The setting here is great, very remote and quiet - and hot! The heat is the one thing that stands out here.

The food here was simply amazing, weather permitting you eat outdoors with all the other guests at tables close enough to each other that you can exchange pleasantaries with other guests. The meal is different every day and it's very well-presented. Dishes are carefully chosen and it's buffet-style so you can go back up for seconds!

We did two trips here, a short visit to the cheetah enclosure and a longer sundowner game drive. The cheetahs were great to see up close. The guide on the sundowner drive was great, very chatty and informative. We also went off on our own to walk along the dune, which we'd recommend as you can take things at your own pace and discover things for yourself. However, be aware of the sun - after ten in the morning the heat can start to get very unpleasant, unless you're used to it. Since this was at the start of our trip, we hadn't acclimatized yet. This is a great place for stargazing!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G
Torquay

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Mar 2008
"Fine.

The Location of the Dune chalets is excellent." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Showing 171-180 of 194
90%
194 reviews of Bagatelle Game Ranch by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
117
63
11
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Southern Namibia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

Scarcely an hour from Windhoek airport, Eningu is an artistic place to unwind amid the vast silence of the Kalahari.


90% (63 reviews)
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

Central Lodge offers clean, fresh and comfortable accommodation surrounded by a well-kept garden in the centre of Keetmanshoop.


71% (60 reviews)
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes

A good stop between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon, Kalahari Red Dunes is set around a dry lake on a private reserve, with excellent walking opportunities.


93% (40 reviews)
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge is a comfortable stop between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon. Expect stunning Kalahari scenery, two swimming pools and lots of space.


91% (40 reviews)
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

For good farm hospitality, wholesome cooking and an interesting farm drive, Dabis makes a great stop en-route from Lüderitz to the Sesriem area.


94% (25 reviews)
Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks, situated on the edge of the Kalahari Desert, is a perfect stop-over whilst driving between Namibia and Botswana.


85% (19 reviews)
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen is a unique hotel in the heart of southern Namibia's farming district and makes a good stopover option.


72% (17 reviews)
Namtib Desert Lodge

Namtib Desert Lodge

A charming owner run lodge, located off the scenic D707, Namtib Desert Lodge is a convenient stop en route from the south to Sossusvlei.


88% (13 reviews)
Kanaan Desert Retreat

Kanaan Desert Retreat

The tented Kanaan Desert Retreat offers a range of activities against the beautiful backdrop of the Namib Desert.


88% (8 reviews)
Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse, located in Stampriet has comfortable chalets in the gardens of an old farmhouse.


90% (4 reviews)
Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp

Suricate Tented Camp

Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp is a relaxing spot with its own waterhole and a range of activities for exploring the area.


100% (3 reviews)
Otjimbondona Kalahari

Otjimbondona

Otjimbondona Kalahari is a luxurious, peaceful and relaxing lodge conveniently located close to Windhoek's International Airport.


100% (2 reviews)
Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge

Camelthorn Kalahari

Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge offers a peaceful night's sleep in the Kalahari, breaking the journey between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon.


No reviews yet
Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge is located in the Intu Africa Kalahari Private Game Reserve; surrounded by red sands, it is a relaxing place for a night or two.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa