This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Eningu Clayhouse
Eningu Clayhouse

Reviews of Eningu Clayhouse

Wildlife sightings and reviews

62 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Eningu Clayhouse and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Eningu Clayhouse.
Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Eland

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 62
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B
Winchester

"delightful oasis"

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2010
"This was the worst day of our holiday. We had not been warned about exactly how long the drive would take, and the directions were appalling. As mentioned before it took 20 mins to get out of Mundalea (road particularly bad in places) so having left at 9am we were on the main road by 9.30am. We stopped to refuel and stopped at Okanja for lunch at the Garden centre for lunch which does not appear to exist. We continued into the town and ate at Rhinos which was fine.

Then contined to the craft stalls (as mentioned in the guide book). We then continued to Windhoek and to Eningu. Not only were we sent on a long roundabout route but the lodge was incorretly marked on the map. We got very lost trying to find it and finally arrived at 6.15pm. We had expected to arrive around 3pm, and have a relaxing afternoon there before starting our return journey home.

Bettina (the owner) said she had told Expert Africa about people being sent the wrong route before (and she has only been the owner for 6 months). We should have driven almost to the airport adn down road M51. From there we would have seen signs. It was literally only an hour to the airport on a good road - why on earth were we sent via Dordabis - and according to your map back that way the next day to the airport? It meant we did over 50 km extra and started to run low on petrol.

She allowed us kindly to use her internet to check in for our flights that evening but was clearly not used to doing this for guests. We therefore appreciated this but feel that any hotel being used for the last night should be made aware that guests will need to do this.

A small suggestion for the bathrooms would be plastic shower mats - the floor was on a slope for better drainage but after being in Mundalea I wanted to clean my feet properly and almost slipped over. I forgot to mention this whilst there.

Bettina was lovely and Eningu a great place to stay but only when you have time to appreciate it. Again it would be helpful to know that it takes about 15 mins to get out of the park in a 2WD car." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs & Mr G
Toronto

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 8 Oct 2010
"We were delighted at this out of the way place. Chef was great. Host was very nice" See all these reviews: 4n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr J & friends
UK

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 1 Sep 2010
"Located within an hour of the airport we found this a convenient spot to spend the night, The buildings and general environment are very attractive, the staff pleasant and the meals excellent." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Family R
Brighton

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 9 Aug 2010
"We arrived here when it was nearly dark so we didn't have time to take full advantage of the opportunities on offer here. However, my sons thoroughly enjoyed looking up at the milky way while relaxing in the jacuzzi and I went for a lovely walk on my own first thing in the morning.

A relaxing ending to our holiday." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Winchester

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 3 Jun 2010
"A good place to stop on your last night 1 hour from the airport" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr B
Newnan

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 31 Jan 2010
"This treat for the eye is a superbly comfortable nature retreat in the middle of nowhere. The sounds you hear will be made by hundreds of birds or maybe the shush-shush of a preoccupied porcupine meandering through the yard or maybe you'll hear the new owner extolling her mastery of contracts and her shrewdness in protecting herself against liability for possible acts of negligence by the previous owner(s), etc., etc.

Eningu Clayhouse is in transition between owners. During breakfast on our one morning there, the only guest (me) couldn't hear the aforementioned birds or the rodent due to a business discussion carried on by the new owner at the next table; so, we left.

With the likely addition of television from Europe and an Internet café we sense that this property may become a Kalahari roadhouse for high rollers and we cannot recommend it to anyone at this time
" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Terrible

Mr B & Ms D
Dublin

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

1 night Arrived 16 Oct 2009
"Perfect spot for the last day of the trip" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss G
Hertfordshire

"Eningu Clayhouse review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2009
"Could not fault Eningu for a relaxing very good quality lodge at the end of our holiday, just an hour from the airport.

Food was some of the best we had all holiday, including the first class places we had stayed.

Would definately stay here again." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Gloucs

"The best start to a Namibian Journey"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2009
"The perfect start to our holiday in Namibia, very friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere, and a great welcome from Kate the host.
The walking trails are very well laid out and there are lots of information points to help to gain more knowledge about the local trees and shrubs and ways of life...excellent!

The food was quite the best that we experienced on the whole journey. We can think of no better place to start and finish one's visit to Namibia, and any future trips will have this as the start and finish point!" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr R
Hampshire

"Fantadstic personal start to a great trip"

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2009
"Wonderful personal welcome from Kate the owner and her small son - cold towels to wipe away the dust on arrival and a warm welcome despite the fact that Kate had overlooked our arrival and wasn't expecting us.

The little houses were lovely, the food was good and well presented, the walking trails were well marked, and the porcupine which was fed by the back door after supper was an added bonus.

It was a great place to begin our African adventure." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Showing 41-50 of 62
90%
62 reviews of Eningu Clayhouse by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
37
21
2
1
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Southern Namibia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Game Ranch

Bagatelle is a welcoming guest farm in the Kalahari. Visit as a stopover heading south or to enjoy the photogenic red dunes and varied wildlife.


90% (183 reviews)
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

Central Lodge offers clean, fresh and comfortable accommodation surrounded by a well-kept garden in the centre of Keetmanshoop.


71% (59 reviews)
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes

A friendly lodge set around a dry lake, which makes a nice stop off on the way down to Fish River Canyon.


93% (42 reviews)
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge is a comfortable stop on the journey betwen Windhoek and Fish River Canyon. Expect stunning Kalahari scenery, two swimming pools and lots of space.


91% (36 reviews)
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

For good farm hospitality, wholesome cooking and an interesting farm drive, Dabis makes a great stop en-route from Lüderitz to the Sesriem area.


94% (25 reviews)
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen is a unique hotel in the heart of southern Namibia's farming district and makes a good stopover option.


72% (17 reviews)
Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks, situated on the edge of the Kalahari Desert, is a perfect stop-over whilst driving between Namibia and Botswana.


82% (17 reviews)
Namtib Desert Lodge

Namtib Desert Lodge

A charming owner run lodge, located off the scenic D707, Namtib Desert Lodge is a convenient stop en route from the south to Sossusvlei.


87% (11 reviews)
Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse, located in Stampriet has comfortable chalets in the gardens of an old farmhouse.


93% (3 reviews)
Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp

Suricate Tented Camp

Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp is a relaxing spot with its own waterhole and a range of activities for exploring the area.


100% (3 reviews)
Kanaan Desert Retreat

Kanaan Desert Retreat

The tented Kanaan Desert Retreat offers a range of activities against the beautiful backdrop of the Namib Desert.


90% (2 reviews)
Otjimbondona Kalahari

Otjimbondona

Otjimbondona Kalahari is a luxurious, peaceful and relaxing lodge conveniently located close to Windhoek's International Airport.


No reviews yet
Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge

Camelthorn Kalahari

Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge offers a peaceful night's sleep in the Kalahari, breaking the journey between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon.


No reviews yet
Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge is located in the Intu Africa Kalahari Private Game Reserve; surrounded by red sands, it is a relaxing place for a night or two.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa