This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Galton House
Galton House
Galton House
Galton House
Galton House

Reviews of Galton House

Wildlife sightings and reviews

147 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Galton House and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 51-60 of 147
Duration
Arrival date
Ms F
Southampton

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 21 Jul 2017
"Friendly staff, lovely accommodation, great food." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The E family
Bath

"Galton House"

1 night Arrived 15 Jul 2017
"Very convenient and friendly. Excellent first night stop." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs N
Purley

"Good location"

1 night Arrived 12 Jul 2017
"The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially with restaurant bookings , onward journey reservations etc..
The breakfast was good. The rooms are a bit small but the communal areas make up for the space." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A & Mrs R
Berbs

"Lovely place to stop over"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2017
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs R
Billingshurst

"Comfortable overnight in Windhoek"

1 night Arrived 19 Jun 2017
"A comfortable guesthouse. Staff were welcoming and breakfast was good quality. The room was clean and comfortable, swimming pool freezing (as they all were at this time of year). There was a supermarket close by where we stocked up on food and water before heading off on our drive.

We would recommend the Stellenbosch wine bar and bistro which is a 10 minute drive away - great food and wine in beautiful surroundings." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr A & Mrs R
Berbs

"Excellent stopover while in Windhoek "

1 night Arrived 14 Jun 2017
"Galton House is a lovely place to stay while in Windhoek.

The atmosphere is so relaxed, there is plenty of space to relax, eating in the open plan kitchen is cozy.

Lovely place." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Kent

"A bit out of the way"

1 night Arrived 2 May 2017
"We seemed to be the only ones staying at Galton House , it felt in the middle of nowhere and we were given a tiny room, considering there were other empty ones.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

We did not want to return for our last night on the way back." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Poor
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr H
Portsmouth

"Quiet, clean and peaceful hotel"

1 night Arrived 26 Apr 2017
"It was a great place to sort ourselves out for the flight home at the end of the holiday. Although it is a city hotel and doesn't have the stunning views of some of the lodges in Namibia, the location was quiet and felt safe. Rooms were spacious and clean with good showers. There were nice touches such as a tradiitional story and homemade sweets left in the room in the evening.
The small pool was a nice place to cool down.

Breakfast good and staff were very friendly and helpful. We didn't eat here in the evening as we wanted to go to Joe's Beerhourse but the staff were happy to book a table for us there. Helen (I think this was her name) was very welcoming.

Our room here at the end of the holiday was beside the carpark but was convenient for loading the car up.

The hotel was easy to find and just a short drive from the city centre.

[Ed: This review is largely a repeat of a review below as these travellers stayed here twice: once at the start of their trip, and again at the end.]" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs S
Surrey

"Galton House"

1 night Arrived 23 Apr 2017
"Our last night in Namibia !

We found the rooms a bit bare , very modern. The outside seating overlooked the parking area which we also found a bit stark - no plants or flowers to make it more welcoming.

We were not shown the pool, probably because it was raining. We had to leave early the next morning. We assumed the pool would be closed due to the water issues but perhaps not as per Mr B's review from 1st April ?
As it was a Sunday night we did not want to have to go out for dinner so we ate in - perfectly nice food - just not much of it !

All in all - a slightly disappointing stay given that Galton house has a higher rating that Sonneneck (where we stayed on the first night)." See all these reviews: 23n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
N & R
Essex

"Very helpful"

1 night Arrived 18 Apr 2017
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Showing 51-60 of 147
90%
147 reviews of Galton House by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
81
59
7
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

In a quiet Windhoek suburb, Olive Grove is one of our favourite guesthouses: stylish, with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and excellent food.


88% (339 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


86% (124 reviews)
River Crossing

River Crossing

On a game reserve between Windhoek and the airport, River Crossing is a convenient yet relaxing place to start or end a trip.


82% (115 reviews)
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck was one of Windhoek's best pensions just a few minutes' drive away from the city centre, however it has now closed.


86% (102 reviews)
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

Villa Violet is a friendly, owner-run guesthouse in a residential area of Windhoek, just a few minutes' drive from the city centre and numerous restaurants.


90% (99 reviews)
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

A long-standing favourite, the small, owner-run Hilltop Guesthouse is comfortable, smart and good value.


91% (55 reviews)
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

One of the oldest hotels in Windhoek, the Heinitzberg occupies a great hill-top location but can feel like a relic of a bygone era.


85% (40 reviews)
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

For somewhere to really pamper yourself, Gocheganas Lodge & Spa offers wildlife combined with extensive wellness treatments.


95% (37 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


95% (33 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


88% (21 reviews)
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wild'ss Lodge

Within easy reach of Windhoek, Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is a good overnight option for those who don't wish to stay in the city.


81% (17 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (17 reviews)
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Situated within the Daan Viljoen Nature reserve Sun Karros is a simple lodge with gentle game viewing and bird watching opportunities.


77% (15 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


91% (9 reviews)
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

Stay at the Pension Palmquell in Windhoek, whilst on holiday in Namibia.


89% (9 reviews)
Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel

Am Weinberg

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Am Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


90% (4 reviews)
Omaanda

Omaanda

Omaanda offers luxury accommodation and wildlife viewing within easy reach of the international airport and Windhoek City.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa