This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn

Rivertrees Country Inn


3°22’25.3"S 36°51’50.6"E

Reviews of Rivertrees Country Inn

Wildlife sightings and reviews

49 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Rivertrees Country Inn and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 41-49 of 49
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs G
EastEwell

"Rivertrees Country Inn review"

1 night Arrived 23 Jul 2014
"A nice place in grounds but the overall ambience is a little depressing if the light is not great as the grounds are rather surrounded by tall trees and schrubs.

Staff work hard to look after you." See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
The S family
Lewes

"Rivertrees Country Inn review"

1 night Arrived 16 Dec 2012
"The owners were very welcoming.

The rooms were very pleasant and clean. (Its difficult to say much more as we arrived at 4.30 am due to a late flight and were off on safari by 11 am later that morning)." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr P & Ms T
Ottawa

"Rivertrees Country Inn review"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2011
"Beautiful location - outside the hustle and bustle of Arusha, peaceful relaxing setting, excellent food and service. It was the perfect location for starting the trip (went from the airport to Rivertrees, then set off the next day for safari).

The only annoyance was having to pay extra for drinks (food was covered in the reservation, but we had to pay extra for bottles of coke and water). Seemed a bit silly." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Georgia

"Very nice and relaxing - beautiful setting"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2011
"We missed the stayover on the way in due to problems with Kenya Air being late; however, we did stay at Rivertrees on the last day (day room) of the trip. The accommodations were top notch.

The open air dining room was very nice and the food was very good. We wished that we could have made the connection in Nairobi on time and stayed at Rivertrees on the way in." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Sussex

"Very comfortable room in a lovely setting"

2 nights Arrived 1 Feb 2011
"The room we were given was not standard but one of the lovely cottages close to the river. Service was good althoughn we found the menus a little repetative.

The transfer from the domestic airport at Arusha, rather than from the international airport, was much longer than we had anticipated.

The swimming pool was disappointing, looking rather the worse for wear." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs W
Newton Abb

"Rivertrees Country Inn review"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2010
"Not very far from Kilimanjaro airport so very convenient" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
The B family
Wimbledo

"Comfortable for a short stay"

1 night Arrived 7 Aug 2010
"We spent one night at Rivertrees and it's comforable withour being particulaaly special.

it's a fair way from the centre of Arusha but good as a base for walking in the national park." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Ms T & Mr B
Toronto

"Rivertrees Country Inn review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2009
"Although we were originally booked us in another hotel, this one met all our expectations & we are pleased that we ended up at Rivertrees. After a short walk of the grounds, we realized that we were staying in the most attractive cabin, set apart from the others. It was perfect!

We awoke to the scampering feet of velvet monkeys frolicking about on the roof. As we arrived late the first evening, were away the next day in Arusha National Park, and left early the last morning, we did not have time enough time to fully enjoy the Inn. The staff we very friendly and the food was excellent." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr K & Ms D
NL

"Rivertrees Country Inn review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2009
"Room is excellent, service also good, kitchen acceptible but not memorable.

I would have no qualms about continuing to recommend it." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Showing 41-49 of 49
88%
49 reviews of Rivertrees Country Inn by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
24
21
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Arusha

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Arusha Coffee Lodge

Arusha Coffee Lodge

Arusha Coffee Lodge is a neat, comfortable lodge, right on the highway, close to Arusha Airport. It is a convenient stop for a night.


89% (32 reviews)
Onsea House

Onsea House

Onsea House is a small, family-run guesthouse on the outskirts of Arusha. The rooms are quite simple, but service and food here are good.


91% (32 reviews)
Machweo

Machweo

Machweo is a nine-room lodge on the outskirts of Arusha. The rooms are large and stylish, and the service and food here are very good.


87% (15 reviews)
Kia Lodge

Kia Lodge

Kia Lodge is a simple, country-club-style lodge situated close to the buildings and runway of Kilimanjaro International Airport.


75% (12 reviews)
Airport Planet Lodge

Airport Planet Lodge

Airport Planet Lodge is a new hotel located close to Kilimanjaro Airport, making it ideal for a short stay before or after your international flight.


95% (12 reviews)
Katambuga House

Katambuga House

Katambuga House is a smart hotel on the western side of Arusha, an hour’s drive from Kilimanjaro Airport and 10 minutes from Arusha Airport.


98% (11 reviews)
Hatari Lodge

Hatari Lodge

Hatari Lodge is designed around a bright, fun 1960s retro theme and is a relatively high-quality base to explore Arusha National Park.


93% (6 reviews)
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary

Mount Meru Game Lodge

Mount Meru Game Lodge, near Arusha, is a good spot to stay en route to northern Tanzania's most famous safari areas.


80% (5 reviews)
Legendary Lodge

Legendary Lodge

Legendary Lodge is boutique luxury lodge, perfect for an indulgent overnight stay at the start or end of your safari.


100% (4 reviews)
Twiga Lodge

Twiga Lodge

Twiga is a Tudor-style lodge with welcoming owners, country-style gardens and a viewing platform looking onto Arusha National Park.


No reviews yet
Arusha Serena Hotel

Arusha Serena Hotel

The Serena Arusha Hotel is a comfortable hotel close to Lake Duluti. It makes a good stopover before or after a safari in northern Tanzania.


No reviews yet
Siringit Kilimanjaro Golf Safari Retreat

Siringit

Siringit Kilimanjaro Golf Safari Retreat is a six-bedroom villa offering a luxury stay in complete privacy on a championship golf course.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa