This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls

Reviews of Avani Victoria Falls

Wildlife sightings and reviews

220 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Avani Victoria Falls and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 24 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Avani Victoria Falls.
Zebra

88% success

Elephant

48% success

Hippo

45% success

White Rhino

16% success

Showing 11-20 of 220
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs & Mr B
Canada

"Avani Victoria Falls review"

1 night Arrived 5 Jul 2019
"Good location, noisy hotel as corridors are concrete.

Food average, staff friendly enough." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 8n in Zambia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr T
Salt Lake City

"One Night at Avani Victoria Falls"

1 night Arrived 26 Jun 2019
"Excellent location to access the falls.

Late arrival and early morning departure so we weren't able to do some of the available activities at the hotel." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Steve H
Leeds

"Great stay at Avani Victoria Falls"

3 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2019
"The Avani turned out to be a very comfortable hotel with wildlife in the extensive grounds and amazing access to Victoria Falls.

Great facilities, spacious comfortable room, and good restaurant. Very cheerful and attentive staff." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Zebra

10 sightings

Drs L & B
Scotland

"Avani Victoria Falls review"

1 night Arrived 30 May 2019
"We felt that the accommodation was average. The establishment was large, impersonal and we had disappointing service at dinner.
It was noisy - both around the restaurant area and in the rooms.
Breakfast was excellent.

The location of the hotel is its redeeming factor and our ability to visit “The Falls” early in the morning when we were virtually the only visitors was special." See all these reviews: 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs W
NH USA

"Avani Victoria Falls review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Apr 2019
"We loved our stay at the Avani. We spent our first two days there and as it was our first look at this part of Africa, we were charmed by the game wandering the property.

The room was comfortable and exactly as advertised. Breakfast was superb and the staff very friendly. The location was great and we enjoyed unlimited access to the falls and an easy walk to the Zimbabwe side. Also a good place to do the river cruise (very enjoyable).

We used the proximity to the Royal Livingstone to enjoy high tea (excellent and pricey). We were usually too busy to bother with the restaurant and opted for the pool bar.

As it was busy the service was very slow ( we gave up on awaiting dinner on the second night and just went back to our room)." See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Hippo

8 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms G.
USA

"Civilization with a Touch of the Wild"

3 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2018
"After being in the bush for several days, we found Avani to have more the feel of a resort, but with the zebras, impalas and giraffes wandering the grounds, still enjoyed a bit of the wild.

It was easy to make tour reservations and were able to go to Victoria Falls on the Zimbabwe side for a better view of the falls. Being the dry season, there was very little flow on the Zambia side. A river tour on a speed boat gave us a unique view of the river and wildlife living along the river. We were able to get close to shore to see various wildlife and birds.

The staff of Avani was very helpful and polite and the dining area staff very helpful with special food choices. I did feel their entree menu was a bit limited and would have liked more choices. The buffet at breakfast and dinner was very comprehensive but its usually too much food and a bit pricey for everyday. Nice walking paths throughout the resort to get some exercise and a large pool to relax by in the afternoon were amenities were enjoyed.

There was a gift shop in the back of the resort that we hadn't heard about until coming upon it on a walk. They had unique gifts and crafts to offer that the shop near the lobby didn't have. They need better signage for this area." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mrs K.
Gravesend

"AVANI great location for Victoria falls "

3 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2018
"Really good hotel - excellent location for the falls - staff excellent and professional - nice relaxed atmosphere, mini safari in the grounds re the roaming animals also nice to be able to go to the sister hotel the royal livingstone - the terrace bar in that hotel has excellent location on the river - spectacular sun sets transfers between hotels all free and prompt" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Hippo

2 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

C Plowdog
Sydney

"Avani Victoria Falls review"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2018
"Well located for viewing the falls.

It's a big hotel, the rooms are good and breakfast was excellent.

It is a perfectly acceptable hotel, but coming from the intimacy and wonderful experiences of the safari camps perhaps it couldn't stand out." See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia; 5n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs. KCW
DC

"Short stay at Avani Falls"

1 night Arrived 2 Sep 2018
"The hotel was so convenient to the falls! We loved that since we were only in Livingstone for a very short time. We could just pop in at our leisure! Breakfast buffet was plentiful and delicious! Very friendly staff." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs G
Oxon

"Avani Victoria Falls review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2018
"Had an issue with lunch coming too late but hotel were brilliant and gave us free dinner.

All very friendly, clean and nice buffet. Fantastic breakfast!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 220
85%
220 reviews of Avani Victoria Falls by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
85
111
20
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Livingstone & Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

Conveniently located just a short walk from the Zambia. side of the Victoria Falls, the colonial-style Royal Livingstone has beautiful grounds and small but quite luxurious rooms.


93% (85 reviews)
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

Secluded on the banks of the Zambezi, less than 20km from the Victoria Falls, Tongabezi is one of the most exclusive lodges in Zambia.


93% (61 reviews)
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

In a lovely location on the Zambezi upriver of the Victoria Falls, Islands of Siankaba provides a tranquil setting to relax at the start or end of a safari to Botswana or Zambia.


96% (54 reviews)
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Lodge

Offering great value for money and within easy reach of the Victoria Falls, Waterberry is a small, family-friendly lodge on the banks of the Zambezi River.


98% (42 reviews)
Toka Leya Camp

Toka Leya Camp

The new Toka Leya Camp stands beside the Zambezi inside Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park – so wildlife often passes through. It's a comfortable tented camp which has great service and includes a range of activities.


88% (22 reviews)
Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge has views of Victoria Falls spray from all the rooms, and is a convenient base for exploring the Zambezi River area.


96% (21 reviews)
The River Club

The River Club

The River Club, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, overlooks the Zambezi River.


93% (18 reviews)
Sindabezi

Sindabezi

Sindabezi, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, is an island in the middle of the Zambezi River


98% (16 reviews)
David Livingstone Safari Lodge

David Livingstone Lodge

The four-star David Livingstone Safari Lodge is in a lovely spot on the edge of the Zambezi River in Zambia, close to the Victoria Falls.


86% (7 reviews)
Thorntree River Lodge

Thorntree River Lodge

Rebuilt in 2017, Thorntree River Lodge is one of the best riverside lodges in Livingstone, with a strong sense of the environment and straightforward access to the Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma combines a luxurious, laid-back camp with a good location on the Zambezi River, with quick access to the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet
Tangala House

Tangala House

Tangala House, the family home near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa