This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls
Avani Victoria Falls

Reviews of Avani Victoria Falls

Wildlife sightings and reviews

219 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Avani Victoria Falls and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 23 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Avani Victoria Falls.
Zebra

87% success

Elephant

45% success

Hippo

43% success

White Rhino

11% success

Showing 21-30 of 219
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs & Mr R
Australia

"Avani Victoria Falls"

3 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2018
"A chilled bottle of sparkling had thoughtfully been placed into our room as a birthday surprise which was a very nice welcome gesture.

There is a VERY big push here to have the buffet rather than the a la carte menu. As none of us (4) wanted a 3 course mean we opted for the a la carte and on two nights were disappointed that our choice was not available and this was not made known at the time of ordering. Ordering off the menu of course takes longer but did we did wonder whether we had been forgotten on one occasion (of 2).

There was an expansive buffet breakfast with wonderful omelettes prepared by a very skilful efficient chef.

Zebras mow the lawns here and monkeys prey on rooms when the doors are left open even when occupied, and yes, we were warned!" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr G
Alstonville

"Good Falls location in Zambia"

3 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2018
"Closest place to stay near Victoria Falls and with it's own wildlife: zebras, baboons, monkeys. Huge swimming pool if you want it. Have a good look at the Zambian side of the Falls from here and then walk over the bridge into Zimbabwe to see from another angle. But you need a visa - preferably get Kaza Univisa when first entering Zambia or Zimbabwe. Also take a short walk up river to David Livingstone Hotel (in the same grounds)." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Hippo

1 sighting

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr M
Jacksonville

"Great location to the falls"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jul 2018
"We stayed here at the beginning of our trip to Zambia.We enjoyed the "welcoming committee" of traditional dancers when we arrived. They were friendly and energetic.

The front desk staff was helpful and accommodating even providing glue for a broken shoe for us.The grounds were nicely landscaped and clean. There were even monkeys, zebra and giraffe everywhere. The security staff was diligent and walked us to the clearing where the zebra and giraffe were.

There was a wide variety of food from a buffet with local things like mopani worms and venison to regular side-down fare. The rooms were clean and the shower was nice and hot. The best part was that you could walk to the falls in five minutes and the entrance fee was already included." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

Ms S
Piedmont

"Perfect for our quick visit to the Falls"

1 night Arrived 25 Jun 2018
"It was a lovely resort and it was perfect that we could walk right to the Falls.

I wish we had more time to enjoy the pool and surroundings.

If we'd had more time we also would have gone to the Zimbabwe side of the Falls, but our itinerary didn't allow us more time. I am so glad we squeezed it in though." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

J+K
Canada

"Avani Victoria Falls review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2018
"Avani was the perfect hub from which to experience Victoria Falls, as from our room to Falls was only a 5 minute walk! Our room was basic but very nice, and the pool and lounge area was excellent. Being inside the national park, Avani has zebra, monkeys, baboons, and giraffe always roaming through the grounds, and it was nice to be able to see these animals up close on foot.

The hotel staff were very accommodating, and it was extremely simple to book activities through the activities counter.

We took a microlight flight over the falls (highly recommend, the best way to see them!), the sunset river cruise, and dinner at the nearby Elephant Cafe (being up close and personal with these amazing animals in an ethically responsible experience was unforgettable)." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Zebra

4 sightings

Dr C & Mr P
BC

"Safe and clean"

1 night Arrived 13 May 2018
"large property located on the falls. Sadly, we arrived after 6pm when the gate to the falls was closed and had to leave at 0700 am the next morning.

The gate to the Falls was supposed to open at 6am but we waited until 630am with no-one in sight to unlock the gate. We had previously been to Victoria Falls in the dry season so we weren't devastated but we were disappointed.

Room was clean but nothing special. We ate at the restaurant where the service was spotty at best." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 8n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Zebra

1 sighting

Wallington
UK

"Prime location"

2 nights Arrived 15 Apr 2018
"I would put average, but you go there for access to the falls, which it delivers. Good pool and grounds.

Food and staff not brilliant except for the concierge. She was very helpful with flight check-ins and boarding pass printing - at no charge.

To be fair, the breakfast was fine. For dinner, very little of the menu was available and the standard was variable." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Ms U
Dungannon

"Avani Victoria Falls review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2017
"excellent location. Fabulous to visit the FALLS as often as we liked .

Rooms good. Service was somewhat slow. Little variety in menus- only one dining facility available and was a bit limited in choice.

Reception staff a little less welcoming than perhaps should have been. Otherwise all staff great . Service a bit slow." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs C
Manchester

"Overnight Stay at Victoria Falls"

1 night Arrived 11 Oct 2017
"Nice hotel to spend a couple of nights at the falls" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Salisbury

"Great location"

1 night Arrived 8 Oct 2017
"This is about as close as you can get to the falls on the Zambian side.

Food and facilities were excellent.

Worth noting that in October the Zambian side of the Falls is pretty unremarkable, although we were using Livingstone more as a stopover than as a destination in its own right." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 219
85%
219 reviews of Avani Victoria Falls by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
85
110
20
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Livingstone & Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

Conveniently located just a short walk from the Zambia. side of the Victoria Falls, the colonial-style Royal Livingstone has beautiful grounds and small but quite luxurious rooms.


93% (85 reviews)
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

Secluded on the banks of the Zambezi, less than 20km from the Victoria Falls, Tongabezi is one of the most exclusive lodges in Zambia.


93% (61 reviews)
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

In a lovely location on the Zambezi upriver of the Victoria Falls, Islands of Siankaba provides a tranquil setting to relax at the start or end of a safari to Botswana or Zambia.


96% (54 reviews)
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Lodge

Offering great value for money and within easy reach of the Victoria Falls, Waterberry is a small, family-friendly lodge on the banks of the Zambezi River.


98% (42 reviews)
Toka Leya Camp

Toka Leya Camp

The new Toka Leya Camp stands beside the Zambezi inside Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park – so wildlife often passes through. It's a comfortable tented camp which has great service and includes a range of activities.


88% (22 reviews)
Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge has views of Victoria Falls spray from all the rooms, and is a convenient base for exploring the Zambezi River area.


96% (21 reviews)
The River Club

The River Club

The River Club, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, overlooks the Zambezi River.


93% (18 reviews)
Sindabezi

Sindabezi

Sindabezi, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, is an island in the middle of the Zambezi River


98% (16 reviews)
David Livingstone Safari Lodge

David Livingstone Lodge

The four-star David Livingstone Safari Lodge is in a lovely spot on the edge of the Zambezi River in Zambia, close to the Victoria Falls.


86% (7 reviews)
Thorntree River Lodge

Thorntree River Lodge

Rebuilt in 2017, Thorntree River Lodge is one of the best riverside lodges in Livingstone, with a strong sense of the environment and straightforward access to the Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Tangala House

Tangala House

Tangala House, the family home near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls


No reviews yet
Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma combines a luxurious, laid-back camp with a good location on the Zambezi River, with quick access to the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa