This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Old Mondoro Bushcamp
Old Mondoro Bushcamp
Old Mondoro Bushcamp
Old Mondoro Bushcamp
Old Mondoro Bushcamp
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Reviews of Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

102 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Old Mondoro Bushcamp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 18 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Old Mondoro Bushcamp.
Lion

89% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

7% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

76% success

Aardvark

40% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 102
Duration
Arrival date
Mr M & Ms O
UK

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2014
"As before because we stayed at this camp twice" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms O
UK

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2014
"Top notch bush camp everything you could possibly want is available. Your wish is their command. Possibly one of the finest bush camps in Zambia.

Also the best place to see leopard (realise wildlife sigthings can be unpredictable) but we saw them on virtually every game drive.

Just for good measure we saw an Aardvark others saw 4 in one night!

Pangolins are around but you would have to be very lucky we were not!!" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Billericay

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2014
"This was our last camp and possibly our favourite as it is very small and rustic and the animals were always around the camp.

Opening our door to confront an elephant who then walked around the back of our tent and investigated out outdoor bath is a brilliant experience.

" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Oxon

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2014
"A more authentic bushcamp than Chiawa but excellent in its own way. Personally would have liked to stay here first before Chiawa but this was not possible for us. We even saw an Aardvark and honey badgers! yipee!!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 7n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr J & Mr B
London

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

4 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2014
"After seven delightful days in South Luangwa, Old Mondoro promised the added attraction of game viewing by boat. Sunsetsand sundowners on the Zambezi were magical.

It has an authentic,remote bushcamp feel coupled with comfortable, well appointed reed/canvas walled riverside chalets. Food was excellent and varied and the service was outstanding. Staffing levels were generous, enabling it to offer a flexible agenda of activities tailored to the interests of clients. Our guides were very knowledgeable and responsive to our interest in birds and flora as well as game.

We successfully added to our already lengthy list of recent sightings of lion, leopard buffalo elephant, antelope and birds. Addtional treats included three fish eagles picking out catfish from a drying waterhole, followed later by a leopard on a similar but unsuccessful quest and night drive sightings of honey badgers,porcupines,striped jackals, civets and wonder of wonders, even a pangolin.

Old Mondoro certainly lived up to its reputation
" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Northumber

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2014
"Beautiful quiet secluded authentic bush camp. Agreed with Grant Cummins that it is good for the soul!

All staff friendly, welcoming, helpful and always prepared to put themselves out for you. Excellent food." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Harpenden

"Old Mondoro Review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2014
"We were hugely impressed with Old Mondoro and really enjoyed our stay here. There is a great range of activiities on both land and the river with excellent guiding to get the best from them.

Ryan was a great host – both professional and friendly- nothing was ever too much trouble for him. We were pleasantly surprised by the sheer density of the game – no driving around trying to search for things here. Had some good leopard and lion sitings here in addition to great birding, particularly on the river.

The canoeing down the Zambezi was also very exciting and a highlight of our time here. Being able to see elephants and buffalo drinking in the lagoon from the deck of our room meant that there was no such thing as a siesta." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms G
Zurich

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2014
"Very nice location. The bath tub facing the pond is excellent.

Ryan was very attentive and informed Anita (Chiawa) that I don't like broccoli though I didn't mention it on the form since there is always plenty to eat.
Canoeing and fishing was excellent. Very good and patient guides." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs VV-G
Belgium

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2014
"We wished that we could have stayed longer. But by the time we booked ( February ) there was no more availability, what didn't proof to be the case when we were overthere. A regrettable result of block booking and afterwards cancelling by some travel agents ?
Walks, game drives, canoeing , perfect.

Camp management ( Pam, Ryan) , staff & guides ( Wallace, Sebastian and all others ) contributed to the superb reputation of
Old Mondoro." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Sudbury

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2014
"This camp felt more "posh" than Tafika but there was something missing here ...maybe it was the experience of the staff or the genuine at home feeling.

We loved the location and the adventure. Rooms were great." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 41-50 of 102
99%
102 reviews of Old Mondoro Bushcamp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
98
3
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lower Zambezi National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

A blend of the stylish and traditional in a most picturesque site in the Zambezi Valley, Chongwe River Camp offers an excellent safari experience and real value for money.


96% (116 reviews)
Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

One of Zambia's top safari camps, Chiawa is family owned and run, offering superb service and a flexible approach from a location well inside the Lower Zambezi National Park.


98% (73 reviews)
Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree is a high-quality safari camp of unique design offering excellent personal service deep inside Zambia's Lower Zambezi National Park.


97% (33 reviews)
Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush is located right in the heart of the Lower Zambezi National Park, with privately guided activities taking you on game drives, walks, boat trips and canoeing.


98% (11 reviews)
Amanzi

Amanzi

Opened in 2015, Amanzi is an intimate and rustic yet luxury camp in a very quiet area of the Lower Zambezi, with plenty of wildlife and good birding.


96% (10 reviews)
Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House is a stylish four-bedroom house designed for the exclusive use of families and small groups, affording the ultimate in flexibility on safari.


100% (8 reviews)
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp

Anabezi Luxury Camp

Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp offers a high degree of understated luxury in a very lovely, quiet part of the Lower Zambezi with outstanding wildlife.


100% (8 reviews)
Tsika Island Camp

Tsika Island Camp

Tsika Island Camp is a remote bushcamp in the middle of the Zambezi, with links to the local village of Mgugrumenu.


97% (7 reviews)
Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge is a relatively simple, family-friendly camp. It's outside the Lower Zambezi National Park and, with a recent change of ownership for the better, it offers a great-value safari destination.


93% (6 reviews)
Kutali Camp

Kutali Camp

Kutali Fly-Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located on Kulefu Island.


100% (3 reviews)
Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located in a natal mahogany grove on a small island on the Zambezi River.


No reviews yet
Tafara Springs Bushcamp

Tafara Springs

Tarafa Springs offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of the Lower Zambezi National Park, in this rustic bushcamp located next to the main Zambezi escarpment.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa