This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp
Lagoon Camp

Reviews of Lagoon Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

223 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lagoon Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 20 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lagoon Camp.
Lion

95% success

Leopard

45% success

Cheetah

45% success

Wild dog

65% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

95% success

Zebra

95% success

Buffalo

85% success

Spotted Hyena

68% success

Sable antelope

61% success

Roan antelope

53% success

Brown Hyena

24% success

Aardvark

5% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 71-80 of 223
Duration
Arrival date
Miss J
Leicester

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2014
"This was a great introduction to going on safari! Fabulous location on the banks of the river. Could only have been improved by a bit more detail on safety arrangements at the start. Wild animals do come into the camp and a bit more advice and reassurance on what to do to keep oneself safe etc would have been helpful. We soon got the hang of it though! Even if one of our trips back to our lodge at night was interrupted by a baby hippo and mother! Our guide dealt with the situation calmly and skilfully.

Our stay was only marred by us both being ill one night - Jane in particular being sick a number of times - we think as a reaction to the anti malaria tablets. It meant we missed one evening river trip and a morning safari. The guides and trackers were excellent and found us some great animals and scenes to observe. They were very knowledgeable and skilled at their job.

Hospitality and food were excellent and the accommodation was of a very high standard." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Dr & Mrs C
W Sussex

"Lions at Lagoon"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2014
"Great "tent" in lovely surroundings. Very attentive staff and super meals. We would agree that the guides are very keen to show predators to the detriment of many other interesting birds and animals. The vehicles were as comfortable as could be expected on sandy tracks. The guide and tracker did tend to talk amongst themselves rather than to their passengers.

We were lucky to see a pangolin during the daytime and it caused great excitement among all the guides.

Our wedding anniversary coincided with our stay, and the staff made it very memorable." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Surrey

"Pangolin at Lagoon Camp"

3 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2014
"The camp is in a beautiful position on the Kwando River which forms the boundary between Botswana and Namibia.

We stayed in Room 7. An enormous room with a sunny verandah overlooking the lilies on the river. Rooms 7 and 8 are the farthest from the main area of the camp but they have the best position on the river. The luxurious bathroom has a huge roll top bath. A word of warning - plan well ahead for a bath, the water pressure is such that it takes about 3 hours to fill! As at Little Kwara, its sister camp, the food did not live up to expectations. However we did see 2 scops owlets in trees by the dining tent.

Paul was a superb guide. When we arrived he asked us what game we would particularly like to see. We said pangolin and honey badger. Paul pulled a face and said he hadn't seen a pangolin for over 2 years!
On our first drive we found a nomadic lion guarding a buffalo carcass being watched by hundreds of vultures in the trees. We watched as he fended off an increasing number of hyaenas patrolling around. Just after leaving the lion, in the dark, we had a flat tyre and all had to get out of the vehicle. Once back on the road we saw a serval and then a honey badger.

Lions were heard during our second night. The next morning we picked up the tracks of a lioness and her cubs, and found them with a large male kudu kill. Later we found the 2 dominant males of the pride sleeping in the shade. On the same drive we watched a large elephant family walking thru' marshy water. At one point as they got closer to our vehicle they all lifted up their trunks in unison to smell us and then trumpeted.

During the afternoon drive news came thru' that a pangolin had been spotted. We raced over to the other side of the Reserve and found it curled up motionless. It was a long time before it decided to move. We had just poured our sundowners (in the vehicle) when off it went. We stayed with it until it ran off into the bush.

Driving back to camp in the dark we found the 2 dominant males of the pride whom we had seen flaked out earlier. This time they were wide awake marking their territory; and roaring loudly in stereo. On our last game drive Paul found leopard tracks and spotted a female leopard up a tree. We followed her into the long grass. We could hear her calling her cub. Eventually they were reunited and we watched them playing together. It was a fitting ending to our safari trip.
" See all these reviews: 24n in Botswana; 7n in Mozambique; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Arizona

"Beautiful Rooms!"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2014
"On the Kwando River which we very much enjoyed. The rooms were beautiful and if only I had taken advantage of that bathtub! Loved the fact the baboons wandered through the camp.

Again, friendly staff and enjoyed our stay." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Canada

"Kwando Lagoon Camp"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2014
"The Kwando Lagoon Camp was directly on the Kwando River which then feeds into the Chobe River; and the accommodations were quite large and sumptuous. The bath and shower area was large with an outside private shower and a bath tub where you could relax and watch the river and the sun. The manager B.K. was very helpful and the chef Kim and her staff served delicious meals in a large open area.

The bed was huge and the front of the room had chairs to rest in after a busy day, and there was a balcony in the front where we would sometimes surprise a critter who then slid into the river.

This camp had wonderful food and lots of it. After our late afternoon drive, there was a fire pit where the guests would take their refreshments and talk about their day. This camp was not restricted to a National Park so when out on a game drive the guides would suddenly veer off through the bush if they spotted something we would like to see. The vehicles were large and held up to six people. We went on a river cruise where we saw elephants and hippos and other animals drinking at the river's edge. Lots of elephants! We enjoyed this camp very much." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
U family
Saltash

"Lovely layout at lush Lagoon"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2014
"I know you come to see the flora and fauna, but the layout and design of this camp can't go without mention. Lagoon lies by the side of the Kwando river with views towards Namibia. There are a couple of shaded, decked areas with seating to look out over the river. The lodges, restaurant and bar area are all reed thatched buildings and have real character. As this was our 4th camp, we thought it would be a challenge for our guides to find something new. But we weren't to be disappointed.

First sighting of a Martial eagle, then introduced to a grey lori (also called the go-away bird) after its cry and apparent ability to warn animals of approaching humans. Our guides Carlos and Ishmael said in the past that hunters would shoot the bird then the game!! Another first, a gorgeous solitary Steenbok. Yellow-billed hornbills (knickname the flying banana) as well as the more usual red-billed variety provided our escort. Best group of giraffes so far, an imposing pair of tawny eagles and a lion with two cubs, these just 4 months old. So over 4 camps we have seen cubs at 3 different stages of development. At this camp in June, we did a lot of driving/tracking on the morning drive, with a more leisurely drive in the evening.

At breakfast, on a chilly morning, an elephant was wading half deep in the river by the camp. An experienced traveller (pilot and tour guide from Namibia said the elephant was crazy!!) Again, the changing light and various shades of grasses provided an artistic backdrop for a shot of a reedbuck. Also a beautiful small group of young, female waterbuck. Taken to the site of an elephants grave with numerous bones and a complete skull. Saw ostriches for the first time, then a great coffee break watching a group of some 20 elephants having a drinks break too. This group included a very cute baby, so young it could not yet use its trunk.

Woodpecker and black collared barbet on view in tree overlooking river in our camp, in early afternoon. Then later were pointed out an eagle owl, which to my mind was well covered by leaves/ branches. Again, our ever willing guides, positioned us so that we were able to get very clear shots for photos. Enormous monitor lizard lounging on a log, then giant and also pied kingfisher. As our final evening drew to a close, word came over the radio that a leopard was on the edge of our camp. Some exhilarating driving brought us back, then a quick glimpse of a leopard moving through the bushes near the camp entrance. We took up position, and using the headlights in the failing light, saw it emerge into full view.

It calmly strolled away from us and disappeared into the night. As we set out on our last morning, a couple of teenage elephants trumpeting at us as we passed between them. Our bags were brought straight to the airstrip with a packed lunch for a return flight to Maun, so that we made the best use of time. The final bit of excitement was driving fast alongside the runway to chase off a trio of wildebeest so that the plane could land safely." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs A
Edinburgh

"wild dogs at Lagoon Camp"

3 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2014
"After the drama of Duba Plains Camp, Lagoon Camp was a little less exciting although there were a few experiences which made the stay far from pedestrian.
The highlight for us was the discovery of a wild dog den after bumping many miles over terrible roads. We arrived early and witnessed the dogs waking up and welcoming each other in anticipation of a hunt which sadly did not materialise on this occasion. However, it was great to be there watching them interact.

Another highlight was the arrival of three male cheetah into the area after a six month's absence. Again, it was great to follow these beautiful animals through an entire day as they relaxed and attempted to find prey, which, unfortunately, they failed to do. It was much more unfortunate, of course, from their perspective than from ours.

Sadly, we missed a highly dramatic encounter between hyenas and a male lion as the latter failed to protect its kill from the huge pack of scavengers.Those fortunate enough to witness it returned with tales of awe inspiring savagery. A case of being at the wrong place at the wrong time, but that is the nature of the safari experience, I suppose.

We saw many other species, including a huge variety of bird life which never disappoints. On our final day, not long before our onward flight, we rushed to see the only leopard of our entire trip. I got one outstanding photo of the predator staring at us through the thick grass.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Lagoon Camp although the standards of catering, while adequate, were not in the same league as Duba Plains Camp." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
PG Wales
UK

"Lagoon camp"

3 nights Arrived 24 May 2014
"Superb location on river wonderful views and hippos at night.

Game not as plentiful so longer drives but still saw everything including wild dogs after a kill and cats. Good river trip with elephants at water and many hippos.

We also enjoyed the evening dancing and singing of the camp staff." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs m
Glasgow

"Lion cubs at lagoon"

3 nights Arrived 23 May 2014
"The highlight was watching four month old cubs with their mother and big sister. the cubs playing with one another, climbing trees,or trying to, and all totally oblivious to our presence. It was truly magical!

The one downside was our guide Paul. Although he was very nice we found it quite distracting and sometimes annoying that he took as many, if not more photographs than the guests; to the extent that he sometimes blocked our view. Our tracker ( we think P.D.) was great.

We found Lagoon quite busy but the staff were all very friendly and helpful and overall we had a good time." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Z
USA

"Lagoon Camp"

2 nights Arrived 20 May 2014
"The "tents" at Lagoon overlook an arm of a river - a most beautiful view! That afternoon we boarded a two story pontoon boat and meandered down the arm looking at hippos galore - it was just magical seeing the beautiful sundown sipping a favorite beverage while surrounded by hippos snorting away in the water. The view from the top deck was spectacular and allowed us to see a lot of wildlife.

Next morning Paul rounded us up and off we went - the chatter on the radio was that the dog pack that was a Lebala had traveled overnight to the grounds around Lagoon! So we observed the pack on a hunt for about 30 minutes as the dogs jogged looking for prey. We then left the pack and joined another jeep that had spotted lion tracks. Oti jumped out of the jeep and joined the other tracker with lots of discussion on the direction and the types of lions. Paul looked around and decided to loop around and behold we found two lioness, two cubs and a large male lion - a most remarkable sight! We proceeded back to camp and had our brunch and what had become the norm for our afternoon - siesta/reading.

The PM drive started with looking at a herd of wildebeests. We then went over to a double lagoon/watering hole and encountered a large group of marabou storks all gathered in a shrinking pool. We heard some noises and looked over to see five hippos lumbering between the two large lagoons & they went into the water and kept going until submerged. Oti then spotted fresh lion tracks and shortly we came across Blondie, a beautiful young male lion whose fur was significantly lighter in color than the other we saw earlier. We observed Blondie for some time and proceeded to go to our last sundowner with Paul and Oti. On the night drive Oti spotted a porcupine crossing the trail and we stopped to watch it. Oti also spotted several owls on our night drives. The next morning we had a short game drive and went directly to the airport for our flight to the next camp: Kwetsani.

We bid fond farewell to Paul and Oti who had treated us so well during our stay at Lebala and Lagoon." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 71-80 of 223
95%
223 reviews of Lagoon Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
179
32
8
3
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

With enthusiastic guides and trackers, Lebala – in a vast private reserve – is a particularly good camp for seeking wild dogs..


95% (174 reviews)
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

In an attractive area that is particularly rich in game between June and November, the luxurious Selinda Camp caters particularly well for photographers.


96% (66 reviews)
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau

DumaTau, in the private Linyanti Reserve, offers game drives, seasonal boat cruises and walks. Wildlife safaris here are quite seasonal, and are at their best during the height of the dry season, between June and October.


95% (47 reviews)
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

An increasingly rare find in Botswana, Linyanti Bush Camp blends relative simplicity with numerous activities and very good guiding.


89% (38 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (26 reviews)
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

The luxurious, traditional tented Selinda Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by really top notch guides in a game-rich area.


96% (17 reviews)
Motswiri Camp

Motswiri Camp

Motswiri is a super little camp with just five tents, each overlooking the Selinda Spillway. Come especially for walking, birdwatching, canoeing and horseriding safaris.


99% (16 reviews)
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

Zarafa is an exclusive camp overlooking the scenic Zibadianja Lagoon within the Selinda Reserve, a particularly game-rich area between June and early November.


100% (13 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


71% (7 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (6 reviews)
Selinda Adventure Trail

Selinda Adventure Trail

The Selinda Adventure Trail offers a novel and tranquil way to travel through part of Botswana's pristine wilderness whilst staying in comfortable fly-camps and led by a knowledgeable guide.


100% (4 reviews)
Little Motswiri

Little Motswiri

A simple and remote satellite camp, Little Motswiri focuses on non-motorised activities, particularly walking and horseriding. It enables guests to explore 120,000 acres of private wilderness around the Selinda Spillway.


100% (1 review)
Footsteps across the Linyanti

Footsteps across Linyanti

Footsteps Across the Linyanti is the only true mobile walking safari we know of in Botswana. Explore a wild and remote wilderness on foot with a knowledgeable guide.


40% (1 review)
Linyanti Expeditions
No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa