This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp

Reviews of Lebala Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

174 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lebala Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lebala Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

14% success

Wild dog

57% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

93% success

Hippo

91% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Roan antelope

38% success

Sable antelope

38% success

Brown Hyena

13% success

Pangolin

8% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 91-100 of 174
Duration
Arrival date
Mr S
Surrey

"Lebala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Dec 2012
"Ok this was my third camp and I had been spoilt by the two in the Delta. I was transferred from the airstrip to a game drive already in progress. I feel for the guests that had to wait around for me instead of going in search of wildlife and would have been more than happy to go direct to the camp. Once I arrived I was made very welcome but seem to have got one of the less desirable rooms which I guess somebody has to have but its views were not great (room 7). The accommodation itself is great and well laid out, love going for a pee looking out over trees with birds singing in them.

Now my main aim was to see the wild dogs and this is why I perhaps would not rate so highly as the other camps. Because I was traveling on my own I was in the vehicle with a great German family but it seems I was stuck doing what they wanted or rather had to do. On the second day they were transferring to Lagoon in the morning so wanted to do a walking safari on their way up. Now I really didn't want to do the walking safari but also because they were transferring there was no chance of seeing the wild dogs which were in the other location. Ideally these transfers should be done out of game drive times so people like me don't waste a morning doing things they don't want to do. I did think that as I would be the only person in the vehicle in the afternoon that we could go looking for the dogs. Sadly I was moved to another vehicle as going out with just one guest isn't done (unlike Little Kawara who were more than happy with this). Thankfully the group I joined wanted to see the wild dogs and a concerted campaign persuaded our new guide to go looking for the wild dogs. To be fair he was great and we saw a lot and were very very lucky and ran into, quite literally, the dogs on our way back. On another afternoon drive we came across a dead impala stashed for later consumption but to my surprise we neither staked it out or even bothered to return later to check out the kill and see what had done for the poor little impala.

Overall the staff were great and food was fantastic but I sometimes felt what I wanted wasn't always what was scheduled and despite asking to see the dogs at every chance I got we only once got to actually look for them. I am not keen on the transfer process where guests have to go to the halfway point on a glorified taxi run when they have paid to be on game drives." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Queensland

"Lebala camp review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Nov 2012
"We were the only guests for the first 2 nights, so could arrange the timetable to suit ourselves in consultation with a/manager Mapilo. Had some amazing sightings. including four female lions , after unsuccessfully hunting warthog, ambushing and starting to suffocate a baby hippo, but thwarted by the arrival of 2 adult hippos who chased off the lions and nudged the very sick baby into the lagoon.

We also tracked a large male leopard to where he was resting with a freshly killed warthog and saw the amazing strength of him in carrying his kill up a tree. We returned the next day to find six lions on the scent of the kill, but it was well out of reach.

Our good game viewing was almost entirely due to the excellent tracking skills of Moeti (Mr Mo) who was truly outstanding" See all these reviews: 16n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr C & Ms B
Honolulu

"Great dog sighting at Lebala Camp"

2 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2012
"Excellent customer service. Shoes (tracker) and Tabo (guide) and Charles always made it a point to say our names when talking to us. Felt more personal.

Great dog sighting. Were able follow them hunt for a little while." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
Sussex

"Lebala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2012
"Good size rooms, very comfortable and smart decor. Very friendly staff and good food, the only camp that served hot porridge for breakfast!

The drives here were longer, compared to the Wilderness camps, which we found a bit tiring. We had General as our guide for the first day and when he had to fly back to Maun Charles stepped in and was an amusing and knowledgable guide. We were treated to seeing wild dogs most days and otherwise saw a good range of game and birds. The open topped vehicles did mean we were open to the sun and in the firing line of branches, but also gave great visibility for birds and for stars.

The older vehicles also meant that the drivers were able to really drive off road without problems. The only camp to have a tracker as well as the guide in the vehicle.

Our walking safari got exciting when we suddenly spotted a leopard, but Charles was very calm about it and quickly radioed for the vehicle so that we could try to get closer." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs N
Much Hadham

"Lebala"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2012
"We loved this camp - we had a wonderful welcome - the staff were so friendly. the rooms were good and the whole place was fantastic." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
York

"Lebala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2012
"A wonderful introduction to Africa. The Guide - Thabo- and Tracker -Shoes - were tremendous and full of wit and repartee. Nothing was too much trouble and the atmoshere was tremendous. Food great and the game viewing incredible. Again everything we needed was provided including mosquito repellent. Another time we could really reduce our packing.

Perhaps the most memorable experience was the journey from Livingstone. Private Taxi to ZAmbezi River then chaotic customs at riverbank, then private speedboat across river to Safari jeep to KAsane Airport again via chaotic customs post and then flight in 6 seater plane to Leballa all in 2 1/2 hours !! Our drivers were all very helpful in guiding us through the visa/customs post, we would never have managed without them!!" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Newton Abb

"Lebala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2012
"24hr power and hot water available. We had a driver and a tracker - both excellent." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms C
Canada

"Great experience at Lebala."

3 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2012
"I had a wonderful stay at Lebala.

The staff was great and very welcoming. I was very impressed by the efforts of the guides and trackers to find very good game. The whole camp was very comfortable. The game viewing was also quite good. I loved being able to see the wild dogs and their puppies at Lagoon Camp (sister camp). I also loved seeing quite a few sable antelopes. I had a really nice stay at Lebala and was very pleased with Kwando Safaris as an organization." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Co. Durham

"Leopards at Lebala Camp"

3 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2012
"We were greeted at the airstrip by our guide 'K' and tracker, 'Shoes' - sorry we don't know the correct spelling - but the names were easy to remember! They were great guys and we had a lot of fun in their company for 3 days.
At the lodge we were met Olga who supplied us with refreshing towels after our journey and the manager Charles, who gave us a welcome talk about the camp facilities and activities. We found Charles to be a great host and nothing was too much trouble.

The camp is on an island surrounded by a deep channel and we soon noticed the grunting noises of the Hippos which live all around and wander through the camp day and night. The elephants too are constant visitors and we saw many of these during our stay at Lebala. We saw lots of other game too - buffalo,wildebeest,giraffe,impala,spotted hyena,warthog to name a few - but our overriding memory is a special encounter with two leopards very close up after they had killed an impala. The male leopard kept the kill all to himself, only leaving the scraps for the female. We watched them one night until the sun went down and returned the next morning for more - K and Shoes did everything they could to get us very close to these beautiful creatures by driving through the bushes backwards and forwards for the best views. We were only a few feet away - amazing! We got some great photos and video.

The camp staff and cooks were fantastic, the food was gorgeous and lots of variety to choose from. 'G' was great at mealtimes and kept us entertained - he had a constant battle with the cheeky birds who would try to steal anything without a cover ( even these were pecked off sometimes)! The guides joined us for meals and this was great for us to get to know a bit about themselves and their families as well as discussing the days events etc.

There are 8 tents and the camp was full with lots of different nationalities which was interesting, we got to know each other around the campfire and at mealtimes and were able to swap stories! The tents were large and well equipped (even had an electric socket) the bed was comfy and we were pleased to have 3 blankets as the nights were very cold, especially the last one when the wind blew through the thin walls! Thanks to the staff who supplied 'bush babies' (hot water bottles) at night and also for the early morning drives - these were very much appreciated as were the blankets on the game drive vehicles!!

We had a lovely time at Lebala, thanks to Charles and his staff for a memorable stay.

" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M
Norfolk

"Excellent birding!"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2012
"Our second camp in Botswana - situated in a fantastic setting with views across an area of wetland with small fresh water channels running through. This gave good sightings of many rare wetland birds and also the opportunity of great photos of elephants which would cross the wetland daily, often stopping to drink directly in front of our room.

We saw 8 species of antelope and a night view of African wild cat, along with the usual sightings of elephants, giraffe, zebra and lion (which included a warthog kill.) By the time we left we were up to 120 different bird species including Secretary bird and Wattled Crane. Thank you to Play and Shoes our guide and tracker for focusing on these. They were always very keen to try and search for the more elusive sightings.

Very good food - Thanks to 'G' Great vegetarian choices. Charles the manager of the camp was an excellent host and always around to talk." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 91-100 of 174
95%
174 reviews of Lebala Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
138
31
5
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

Within the vast Kwando Reserve, renowned for its wild dogs, Lagoon Camp offers excellent game viewing that focuses on predators.


94% (229 reviews)
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

In an attractive area that is particularly rich in game between June and November, the luxurious Selinda Camp caters particularly well for photographers.


96% (66 reviews)
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau

DumaTau, in the private Linyanti Reserve, offers game drives, seasonal boat cruises and walks. Wildlife safaris here are quite seasonal, and are at their best during the height of the dry season, between June and October.


95% (47 reviews)
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

An increasingly rare find in Botswana, Linyanti Bush Camp blends relative simplicity with numerous activities and very good guiding.


89% (38 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (26 reviews)
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

The luxurious, traditional tented Selinda Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by really top notch guides in a game-rich area.


96% (17 reviews)
Motswiri Camp

Motswiri Camp

Motswiri is a super little camp with just five tents, each overlooking the Selinda Spillway. Come especially for walking, birdwatching, canoeing and horseriding safaris.


99% (16 reviews)
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

Zarafa is an exclusive camp overlooking the scenic Zibadianja Lagoon within the Selinda Reserve, a particularly game-rich area between June and early November.


100% (13 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


71% (7 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (6 reviews)
Selinda Adventure Trail

Selinda Adventure Trail

The Selinda Adventure Trail offers a novel and tranquil way to travel through part of Botswana's pristine wilderness whilst staying in comfortable fly-camps and led by a knowledgeable guide.


100% (4 reviews)
Little Motswiri

Little Motswiri

A simple and remote satellite camp, Little Motswiri focuses on non-motorised activities, particularly walking and horseriding. It enables guests to explore 120,000 acres of private wilderness around the Selinda Spillway.


100% (1 review)
Footsteps across the Linyanti

Footsteps across Linyanti

Footsteps Across the Linyanti is the only true mobile walking safari we know of in Botswana. Explore a wild and remote wilderness on foot with a knowledgeable guide.


40% (1 review)
Linyanti Expeditions
No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa