This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp

Reviews of Lebala Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

174 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lebala Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lebala Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

14% success

Wild dog

57% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

93% success

Hippo

91% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Roan antelope

38% success

Sable antelope

38% success

Brown Hyena

13% success

Pangolin

8% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 81-90 of 174
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs A
Derbyshire

"Overall a good experience at Lebala"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2013
"Enjoyed our stay at Lebala, a very different area from Kwara, I don,t think that the game was in such high concentration here but we did have an amazing sighting of a lion, battle scarred, from defending his feeding on a female elephant that had probably died of natural causes.

The manager of the camp, I think his name was Duke, was extremely knowledgeable regarding the ecology of the area and we did think it might be interesting to be given a short talk about our surroundings as we found here that our guide was not particularly forthcoming. We still enjoyed our visit, the food was excellent and we enjoyed the local singing and dancing very much.

Our accommodation was lovely although we felt the chalet tents were a little close to our neighbors and didn't afford much privacy as you could hear practically everything from conversation to bathroom ablutions!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr W & Ms W
NL

"Lebala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2013
"We had a good time at Lebala. We had a good guide, but at times felt he could have been a bit more enthusiastic.

In terms of game the area was a bit quiet, but still we saw plenty (wild dogs) due to the active tracking." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 5n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Belgium

"Lebala Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2013
"very skilled driver on excellent game drives
saw and followed wild dog pack - what we came to see" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P
Somerset

"Fascinating Tracking at Lebala"

2 nights Arrived 31 May 2013
"Lebala camp was lovely too - fantastic setting by the river. We liked our tent which was the furthest away from the main camp - it felt like we were really in the bush. The camp was quiet and relaxed, but busy in the evenings at dinner with a lot of guests - but this created a fun atmosphere and we laughed a lot with other guests and also the Kwando guides and staff.

The highlight was the walking safari (beautiful and a totally different 'angle' on experiencing the wildlife) and the two and a half days we spent tracking a pack of wild dogs. This was fascinating and we would have liked more information or involvement on how the trackers and guides were following the dog tracks and what they were thinking." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs CM
Australia

"Great introduction to safaris"

3 nights Arrived 31 May 2013
"The camp manager was exceptional in professionalism and had developed a great team

Felt safe throughout whole time with guides and trackers" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Victoria

"Elephants plus at Lebala Camp"

3 nights Arrived 31 May 2013
"A very comfortable camp with very good game viewing from comfortable vehicles. Plenty of elephants, hippos, zebras, giraffes, warthogs, impala, kudu and other herbivores. Wonderful sightings of a pack of nine wild dogs plus a leopard and lion!

Only criticism is that our "tent' did become quite hot at afternoon siesta time." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 4n in Rwanda; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Victoria

"A visually appealing, comfortable Lebala Camp"

3 nights Arrived 31 May 2013
"We were impressed with the guides overall knowledge and preparedness to track animals that we were keen to view. The interactions between the guides and guest made our visit most enjoyable. We appreciated the style and choices of food at all meals.

We were pleasantly surprised by the staff singing on our last night." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 4n in Rwanda; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Victoria

"Safari in great comfort"

3 nights Arrived 31 May 2013
"This was our first experience of African animals on the savannah and it was fantastic. Once again the staff were extremely helpful and ensured we would have a memorable time." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 4n in Rwanda; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Utah

"Lebala Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 7 May 2013
"Sugar was a great guide. He found us a leopard, the red lechwe, the sable antelope, and many other species.

A great score in just two days." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr B
Zurich

"Lebala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Mar 2013
"Very well managed camp. Charles knows how to lead his guides.

The rooms and the location are phantastic." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 81-90 of 174
95%
174 reviews of Lebala Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
138
31
5
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

Within the vast Kwando Reserve, renowned for its wild dogs, Lagoon Camp offers excellent game viewing that focuses on predators.


94% (229 reviews)
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

In an attractive area that is particularly rich in game between June and November, the luxurious Selinda Camp caters particularly well for photographers.


96% (66 reviews)
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau

DumaTau, in the private Linyanti Reserve, offers game drives, seasonal boat cruises and walks. Wildlife safaris here are quite seasonal, and are at their best during the height of the dry season, between June and October.


95% (47 reviews)
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

An increasingly rare find in Botswana, Linyanti Bush Camp blends relative simplicity with numerous activities and very good guiding.


89% (38 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (26 reviews)
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

The luxurious, traditional tented Selinda Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by really top notch guides in a game-rich area.


96% (17 reviews)
Motswiri Camp

Motswiri Camp

Motswiri is a super little camp with just five tents, each overlooking the Selinda Spillway. Come especially for walking, birdwatching, canoeing and horseriding safaris.


99% (16 reviews)
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

Zarafa is an exclusive camp overlooking the scenic Zibadianja Lagoon within the Selinda Reserve, a particularly game-rich area between June and early November.


100% (13 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


71% (7 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (6 reviews)
Selinda Adventure Trail

Selinda Adventure Trail

The Selinda Adventure Trail offers a novel and tranquil way to travel through part of Botswana's pristine wilderness whilst staying in comfortable fly-camps and led by a knowledgeable guide.


100% (4 reviews)
Little Motswiri

Little Motswiri

A simple and remote satellite camp, Little Motswiri focuses on non-motorised activities, particularly walking and horseriding. It enables guests to explore 120,000 acres of private wilderness around the Selinda Spillway.


100% (1 review)
Footsteps across the Linyanti

Footsteps across Linyanti

Footsteps Across the Linyanti is the only true mobile walking safari we know of in Botswana. Explore a wild and remote wilderness on foot with a knowledgeable guide.


40% (1 review)
Linyanti Expeditions
No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa