This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp
Lebala Camp

Reviews of Lebala Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

174 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lebala Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lebala Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

14% success

Wild dog

57% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

93% success

Hippo

91% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Roan antelope

38% success

Sable antelope

38% success

Brown Hyena

13% success

Pangolin

8% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 174
Duration
Arrival date
Ms M
North London

"Lebala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2015
"Huge, comfortable tents, friendly staff and great game drives.

We were lucky in that there were a maximum of 6 guests while we were there and it had a very relaxed and intimate feel. It might be different when the camp is full. Our guide (Bate) and tracker (OT) were excellent.

We were lucky to be there on Botswana's independence Day and we were treated as part of the family and included in the celebrations." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Oxon

"Brilliant stay at Lebala"

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2015
"Our first experience of such a remote location - exhilarating. Game drives found lion, buffalo and elephant in numbers and one evening followed two lions chasing a large herd of buffalo. Our guide, Bait, was excellent and made the game drives varied and interesting, ably assisted by his tracker, TT.

Jessica, BK, Mox and Peggy and all the staff were marvellous, really made us welcome and comfortable. One night we had elephants sleeping next to our tent, very noisy and somewhat alarming. But exciting!
Jessica presented us with a card and a gift for our 30th wedding anniversary, which wasn't until the day after we were to leave Lebala. a lovely thought, I shall treasure the book with happy memories.
The food at Lebala was top-class, can't say how much we enjoyed it.

One disappointment is that on our first night the generator ran all night, and at night in the African bush a generator makes a mighty noise, blotting out all you might expect to hear from night time noises, and keeping us awake. We were told it was for a guest who needed to run breathing apparatus all night. Jessica was in an unenviable position of facing complaints from some guests or potentially a dead guest in the morning. Fortunately for us this guest left the next day. But I was surprised to find that such an arrangement had been made, which meant everyone in the camp was disturbed all night. It is not what one goes to remote sites for. Kwando Safaris, please note." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
Herts

"Lebala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2015
"The camp was more basic than the other 2 we went to - no wooden walkways - just tracks to the cabins.

The facilities were not as good - no provision of robes or slippers.

We didn't get a safety briefing before our first game drive (perhaps they assumed all safety aspects had been covered at the previous camp - but they should have still gone over safety issues)

The floor in shower was wooden and polished. It was very slippery when wet." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
R & P
Belgium

"Great stay at Lebala!"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2015
"Everyone at Lebala really went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one, and they succeeded! Co-managers Jessica and BK are truly doing a great job at this camp. Top marks for the whole staff for their friendliness and genuine hospitality! The singing and dancing on our last night will remain with us as one of the best memories of our trip!

We loved the camp's setting; very cosy rooms and those nice little touches to make us feel welcome. Lunch and dinner were always delicious, with plenty of choice of fresh vegetables and fruits. Our guide was Jacob and our tracker AT. These guys really worked very hard to give us the best safari experience: wonderful leopard and lion sightings, and to top it of, we saw a caracal ! Jacob is an extremely knowledgable and most entertaining guide. We truly enjoyed his tales buy the campfire!

Some points for improvement:

- early breakfast: not enough porridge for all the guests, and not much else to choose from.

- they might consider
a) moving the power generator out a bit further from the guest tents or
b) getting a more silent model.
We were in room 2, and it sounded like the power generator was standing right next to us, and it produced the sound of 10 heavy trucks. On our last night, the generator had to stay on all night because of one of the other guest's health issues, which is, of course, understandable, but it resulted in us not getting any sleep at all.

Anyway, we would absolutely love to go back to Lebala one day (but in a room further from the power generator...) !" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Two Travellers
UK

"Lebala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2015
"We did not initially feel as welcome at Lebala as we had at Little Kwara, probably not helped by the slightly larger size of the camp and our not receiving a camp-level induction/orientation on arrival. But our doubts were completely dispelled by the next morning, when we got to know our guide Jacko and our tracker Bowman better (with apologies to both for incorrect spelling) and had an admittedly long and bumpy drive to see the wild dogs and their puppies (who had moved closer to Lagoon).

Jacko and Bowman were endlessly knowledgeable and good humoured, and thanks to their dedication we had some marvellous sightings, which included fascinating lion/lion and lion/buffalo interactions. We were also lucky with night driving at Lebala, managing for example to see an aardwolf and its young as well as a charming baby porcupine.

During our stay we felt that a higher management profile would perhaps have helped the atmosphere gel better particularly over dinner but overall we had a fantastic time at this beautiful and unpretentious camp." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Smitz
UK

"Lebala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2015
"Good location and rooms are spacious and comfortable.The laundry service is excellent.

The quality and variety of the food was good,particularly considering the remote location of this (and the other camps). The staff at Lebala are professional, very pleasant and willing to help. The manager at Lebala, Bikay (not sure of the spelling) was the best of the managers at the Kwando camps I visited. He was always visible, welcoming and helpful ......even at 0630 in the morning around the 'breakfast fire'. His enthusiasm, I'm sure, rubbed off on the rest of the staff because Lebala was by far the best run of the camps I visited.

Another 'best' for Lebala was my guide Dux. Dux is very knowledgeable, communicative and experienced. He listens carefully to his guests and tries to make sure everyone's particular wishes are fulfilled. Dux is tenacious and patient when looking for 'requested' animals but isn't reluctant to say that particular animals are not likely to be seen. This means even if someone is disappointed at not seeing their favourite, they don't hold unrealistic hopes. For example he told one guest that there was no hope of seeing cheetahs,he did it in a straightforward fashion but went on to say that the chances of seeing one at their next camp was high and also talked about cheetahs habits and behaviour and the reasons why there were none around Lebala at present.

Our tracker, Bohman (?spelling) was also the best one I encountered. He must have walked a good couple of miles one morning when he and Dux were tracking 3 lionesses for us. And, yes, they did find them and we all learned a lot about paw prints. Wild dog sightings were brilliant. I was fortunate enough to see them hunt and kill. Given comprehensive information about their hierarchical structure and the history of this particular pack and witness their greeting ceremonies.

Lebala was by far the best of the Kwando camps, though I may be a little biased because it was where I first saw wild dogs! Nonetheless, the quality of my guide and tracker and the Manager's professionalism would have made it my favourite even without the dogs." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr K
Essex

"Lebala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2015
"My first experience of a safari and it was very enjoyable.

The transfer from The River Club to Lebala was faultless.
" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr W
London

"Lebala review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2015
"It would be good if the camp offered private meals in the evening.

Sometimes you don't want to sit with everyone else and make forced conversation." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs L & Mr H
USA

"Great camp and excellent staff"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2015
"This was our favorite camp. The staff (Opie, Sunny) were just so friendly and kind and nice. It just felt so warm and welcoming. It was relaxed and comfortable.

Guide and tracker: Bate and Double T were superb. They listened to what we wanted, they were great at communicating back, highly knowledgeable. The best ones on the whole trip, because they didn't make it about them, but about us and they seemed as interested in the wildlife as we were. Can't say enough good things about Bate, who was very professional yet fun and full of knowledge. His efforts in tracking the wild dogs was beyond exceptional.

Best memories at the camp" See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Oklahoma

"Lebala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2015
"We saw so many lion here! Was a bit frustrating not to see the wild dogs in our three days here, but we did see them once in Lagoon. I would say the guides here were not quite as good, in terms of working as a team across all the vehicles. That made it harder to find animals compared to say Chitabe where there were multiple vehicles in constant contact about animal locations. In Lagoon, our driver seemed only to be in contact with one other driver, even though there were usually 4 vehicles out at any time.

Again, one camp manager, OP was terrific and the other, BK ( a different BK than at Lagoon) was not. This camp was also the scariest when it came to my gluten-free diet. For one example at a dinner, the starter was put in front of me and the server told me, "I don't know if you can take this or not". It was just harder to figure things out dietarily here." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 41-50 of 174
95%
174 reviews of Lebala Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
138
31
5
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

Within the vast Kwando Reserve, renowned for its wild dogs, Lagoon Camp offers excellent game viewing that focuses on predators.


94% (229 reviews)
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

In an attractive area that is particularly rich in game between June and November, the luxurious Selinda Camp caters particularly well for photographers.


96% (66 reviews)
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau

DumaTau, in the private Linyanti Reserve, offers game drives, seasonal boat cruises and walks. Wildlife safaris here are quite seasonal, and are at their best during the height of the dry season, between June and October.


95% (47 reviews)
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

An increasingly rare find in Botswana, Linyanti Bush Camp blends relative simplicity with numerous activities and very good guiding.


89% (38 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (26 reviews)
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

The luxurious, traditional tented Selinda Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by really top notch guides in a game-rich area.


96% (17 reviews)
Motswiri Camp

Motswiri Camp

Motswiri is a super little camp with just five tents, each overlooking the Selinda Spillway. Come especially for walking, birdwatching, canoeing and horseriding safaris.


99% (16 reviews)
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

Zarafa is an exclusive camp overlooking the scenic Zibadianja Lagoon within the Selinda Reserve, a particularly game-rich area between June and early November.


100% (13 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


71% (7 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (6 reviews)
Selinda Adventure Trail

Selinda Adventure Trail

The Selinda Adventure Trail offers a novel and tranquil way to travel through part of Botswana's pristine wilderness whilst staying in comfortable fly-camps and led by a knowledgeable guide.


100% (4 reviews)
Little Motswiri

Little Motswiri

A simple and remote satellite camp, Little Motswiri focuses on non-motorised activities, particularly walking and horseriding. It enables guests to explore 120,000 acres of private wilderness around the Selinda Spillway.


100% (1 review)
Footsteps across the Linyanti

Footsteps across Linyanti

Footsteps Across the Linyanti is the only true mobile walking safari we know of in Botswana. Explore a wild and remote wilderness on foot with a knowledgeable guide.


40% (1 review)
Linyanti Expeditions
No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa