This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp

Reviews of Kicheche Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

94 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kicheche Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Feb-2019, 63 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kicheche Bush Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

88% success

Cheetah

87% success

Wild dog

5% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

98% success

Wildebeest

97% success

Hippo

97% success

Eland

84% success

Striped Hyena

10% success

Black Rhino

4% success

Pangolin

2% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 61-70 of 94
Duration
Arrival date
Mr M.
Montreal

"KIcheche Bush Camp"

4 nights Arrived 20 Jan 2020
"My experience at Bush Camp was excellent! This was my second stay at this camp and both times I was very impressed. The facilities are excellent and the variety of the wildlife and scenery is second to none. All of the game drives were very good, including several Leopard sightings.

The roads and paths were muddy in some places due to earlier rains which made driving a bit difficult at times." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sandra
Ottawa

"Kicheche Bush Camp Review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2019
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Lynn H
Edmonton

"Busy Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2019
"We had such a great time at Bush Camp!

The tents are fantastic and we all enjoy the rustic showers!

Our guides were Patrick and James and we had such fun with them both! They are very knowledgeable and personable -- and it was fun to be with James so soon after his return from London where he receive international accolades for his skills as a guide! All of the staff were wonderful!" See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

5 sightings

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Pangolin

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Striped Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms S.
Emeryville

"Wow"

4 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2019
"Amazing wildlife experiences. Fun following the 5 cheetah boys several times throughout a day. Our guide had good knowledge of where the animals would be - enjoyed the little trip off the conservancy to the river - saw hippos and crocs -

Didn't love the trip to the Massai Village - I think learning about historical and present day Massai people is a good thing, but i didn't think this visit was a good way to do it. Maybe a talk by a Massai cultural professor at our camp might have been a way.

Really enjoyed our camp managers." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya; 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
JONI
California

"Perfect location with delightful staff"

4 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2019
"This camp could hardly be any better. It is situated in prime animal viewing area and is very well laid out. The staff provides an amazing amount of comfort, delicious food and fantastic guiding.

This camp exceeded my expectations in every way. The animal viewing was beyond my imagination. Not only were there several early morning sightings of hyena's feeding , but also large lion prides feeding. and crossing the plains on their way back home.

Spent most of one day following the famous 5 cheetah boys. Just amazing! Lots of animals to see and not crowded, at all. Be sure to visit the Maa Trust which supports the local community with various projects including beautiful beadwork by local women." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya; 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

5 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Tony
Bangkok

"Superb camp with uniquely genuine hosts"

2 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2019
"Kicheche Bush has a reputation in the industry for being the camp of choice for photographers and filmmakers, and attracts a large number of repeat visitors, some visiting up to three or four times a year - we can see why, and we are sure we will visit again. Wildlife viewing is superb - that goes without saying in the Olare Motorogi conservancy - and guiding is industry leading (with guides able to provided valuable photography tips to amateurs like ourselves, as well as being expert spotters and possessing encyclopaedic knowledge of the ecosystem) - but it was the hosts, Darren and Emma, that we really felt set this camp apart. Having managed the camp for nine years, they were much more than managers - they felt more like proprietors, uniquely invested in the success of the camp and utterly committed to ensuring each and every guest felt equally welcome, comfortable, and had the best possible experience. We've stayed at a number of top end safari camps over the years, but the hosting here was by far the most warm and genuine of all.

The guests come from a wide range of backgrounds - some seasoned safari goers, others first timers in Africa, some retirees, others honeymooners, some professional photographers, others armed with nothing more than a cellphone - but all are made to feel equally important and at home in camp. It takes real skill to welcome guests day after day with equal enthusiasm, and to facilitate the interaction of such a diverse group of guests so that strangers at camp feel like members of the same family - but Darren and Emma were masters of this art, and it created a wonderful atmosphere in the camp.

Tents were really spacious, comfortable and beautifully appointed, and the shower was, hands down, the best safari shower we've ever experienced. In fact, I would almost go as far as to say it was the best shower we have ever experienced, safari or not! Do not be put off by bucket showers - the only difference between these and normal showers is that you have to order them rather than water always being there, and the water lasts only six minutes at a time. But on the plus side you always have good water pressure and the water is always piping hot. The shower has to be believed to be seen - a sunken panelled wooden affair that feels more like a spa than a safari tent, and is about ten times the size of any of the other safari showers we have experienced.

Food was also exceptional, the highlight being the selection of cheeses, Kenyan made, but rivaling anything we've had from France.

And if in the oasis we ever needed reminding how close we were to the real bush we only needed to look in the tree outside the tent, where the remains of a gazelle's leg was still hanging, having been stashed there by a leopard resident in the area the previous week!

Vehicles are extremely well equipped, open top and sides, but still with some shade from the strong daytime sun, and complete with multiple power outlets and USB sockets - uniquely designed with the needs of the photographer in mind. Guiding was top notch, and management were briefed in advance of our previous safari experiences and interests and so were able to tailor our experience appropriately. We had reserved a private vehicle, but we noted that among those that did not, every effort was made to pair up groups with similar interests and experience levels, so that everyone was able to get the most out of their stay.

The only minor 'downside' was that the camp do not offer night drives, and we were always back in camp shortly after sunset. The reason given was wanting to limit disruption to wildlife and to their nocturnal hunting activities - this is admirable, but we noted that other camps in the conservancy do still offer limited night drives, and so one would question how much impact this restraint really has. We are not talking about full on night drives here, but wonder whether the camp might consider offering slightly extended evening game drives, perhaps staying out for an hour or so after sundown, enjoying a slow return to camp with a red-lamp to spot nocturnal species without disturbing predators. We were, however, able to take a night drive at their sister camp Kicheche Valley in Naboisho conservancy, and so this was no problem for us in the end." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr I.
Strafford

"Excellent friendly staff, great guide."

5 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2019
"Very efficient and sociable camp managers (Emma and Darren). They made us feel very welcome and the camp was very well organised with great attention to detail. We had many excellent group meals. Food was excellent (better than Rekero).

Camp setting was not as dramatic as Rekero but staff were amazingly friendly and helpful throughout.
We had another excellent guide (Nelson) who consistently placed us in perfect positions to view and photograph wildlife. He had an excellent understanding of what was needed to get a good photograph as an amazing ability to find wildlife.

Tent accommodation was excellent" See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

8 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

10 sightings

Lion

8 sightings

Spotted Hyena

9 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr M.
Loughborough

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2019
"The quality of service here was exceptional as was the food and indeed the attention of all of the staff.

Best photographs of the holiday were taken here on both vehicle and foot safaris.

Attention to detail by the staff was fantastic." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

7 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs P
Darlington

"Special experience at Kicheche Bush Camp"

3 nights Arrived 14 Mar 2018
"We found the Kicheche Bush Camp to be a very special place. From the friendly welcome lemonade to our transport back to the airstrip, everyone went out of their way to make our stay a treat. The food and wine were outstanding, with vegetarian options being a highlight of each meal.

Our tent was attractive and comfortable, with plenty of space even though we had a third cot added for our travel companion. The weather was cool during the evenings, so we all loved that hot water bottles were tucked into our beds.

The variety and number of animals that we were able to see at close range was amazing! Our guide, Micah, was very knowledgeable, patient, and good humored. He seemed to find something new and interesting for us to see with each drive." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms S
Ste Marthe

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Mar 2018
"This was my favourite camp -- very beautiful surroundings and the tent was really lovely!

The managers, Derren and Emma were wonderful and went out of their way to be helpful and welcoming. Derren was kind enough to arrange for me to have a morning's horseback ride at a nearby facility and took time to drive me there and drive me back to camp at noon. It was a wonderful morning and brought back memories of my many horseback safaris in Botswana.

Again, the guides were superb and knowledgeable." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 61-70 of 94
100%
94 reviews of Kicheche Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
92
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maasai Mara Conservancies

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara Camp has just eight tents and a rustic and comfortable feel. It is set by a stream in a pretty area of the Mara ecosystem's Mara North Conservancy.


98% (82 reviews)
Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley is a boutique tented camp in a wooded district of the Mara ecosystem's Naboisho Conservancy, with plenty of wildlife in the area.


99% (58 reviews)
Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp is one of the most luxurious of the handful of camps in the Naboisho Conservancy. It offers day and night game drives, game walks and full creature comforts in the bush.


98% (48 reviews)
Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara is a small traditional camp that appeals to safari traditionalists, located in one of the Maasai Mara’s quiet conservancies.


98% (41 reviews)
Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp is a small 10-tent bush camp, put together in the traditional "campaign" style, and including a large honeymoon/family tent.


99% (16 reviews)
Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara is located in the private Naboisho Conservancy – a game-rich area of the Mara ecosystem – and offers a contemporary take on the traditional, low-impact luxury safari camp.


93% (16 reviews)
Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains is one of the very best camps in the Mara ecosystem. Located in the Olare Motorogi Conservancy, just outside the Mara reserve, it has access to three wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (13 reviews)
Serian

Serian

Serian is a luxury tented camp on the east bank of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy. It is the sister camp of Ngare Serian, on the west bank.


98% (13 reviews)
Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View is a community-focused safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy, with a strong emphasis on responsible tourism and a spectacular location.


96% (10 reviews)
Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp is a pioneering, community focused eco-camp, with excellent guides and game viewing, in the predator-rich, Olare Motorogi Conservancy.


83% (8 reviews)
Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp

Ol Kinyei Adventure

Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp is a satelllite of the larger Porini Mara Camp. Both of them are located in the Maasai-owned Ol Kinyei conservancy, the oldest community conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


98% (8 reviews)
Kicheche Walking Wilderness

Kicheche Fly Camp

Kicheche Walking Wilderness Fly Camp is a temporaray dome tent camp set up for participants in Kicheche's two-day walking safari between Kicheche Valley and Kicheche Bush Camp.


95% (8 reviews)
Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild is a rustic and traditional safari camp in the Lemek Conservancy, with just three tents and limited electricity.


97% (7 reviews)
Hemingways Ol Seki Mara

Hemingways Ol Seki

Magnificently located tented lodge on a bluff looking south across the Naboisho Conservancy toward the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


94% (7 reviews)
Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp is a small, pioneering eco-camp in the first private conservancy in the Mara region, with comfortable accommodation and a range of activities.


96% (5 reviews)
Ngare Serian

Ngare Serian

The luxurious Ngare Serian and its sister camp Serian face each other across the Mara River on the western side of the Mara North Conservancy


96% (5 reviews)
Offbeat Ndoto

Offbeat Ndoto

Small and intimate, Offbeat Mara is set in a valley above the (often dry) Olare Orok River within the Mara North Conservancy.


100% (5 reviews)
Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottar's 1920s Camp is a classic, luxury tented camp with a 1920s safari theme, located in its own conservancy on the southeast border of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


92% (5 reviews)
Basecamp Leopard Hill

Basecamp Leopard Hill

With six beautiful tents, Basecamp Leopard Hill is a smart safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


100% (4 reviews)
Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp sits on a meander of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy, just beyond the northern boundary of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


90% (4 reviews)
Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri is a strikingly modern tented camp in the Virgin Limited Edition group, in a remote part of the Mara ecosytem's Olare Motorogi Conservancy. It has lovely views and all the luxuries of a five-star hotel.


100% (2 reviews)
Leleshwa

Leleshwa

Leleshwa was a delightful, boutique safari camp on the picturesque banks of a tributary of the Talek, with an extensive, little visited game area on its doorstep.


90% (2 reviews)
Mara Nyika

Mara Nyika

Mara Nyika is one of the newer additions to the Naboisho Conservancy and offers a luxurious and exclusive safari.


100% (1 review)
Basecamp Wilderness Camp

Basecamp Wilderness

Basecamp Wilderness Camp is a simple, traditional tented camp, set in a remote valley in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Mara ecoystem.


100% (1 review)
Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara is a luxurious permanent lodge, on the remote northern edge of the Mara North Conservancy, with stunning views, good guiding and very private and comfortable rooms.


80% (1 review)
Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops is a luxury safari hotel on a private concession, outside the Maasai Mara National Reserve, with the emphasis on comfort, relaxation and good food and wine.


No reviews yet
Entumoto

Entumoto

Entumoto is a high-end tented camp, with a swimming pool, situated in a very pretty location on the east side of the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


No reviews yet
Cottars Private House

Cottars Private House

Cottar's Private House is one of the few truly luxurious, modern private houses in the Mara ecosystem, spoiling its guests with first-rate staff, a swimming pool and wonderful views.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa